How to get 309A if I already have 442A - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By The_Modifier
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By eddy current
  • 1 Post By eddy current
  • 1 Post By The_Modifier
  • 1 Post By John Valdes
  • 1 Post By MDShunk
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2018, 01:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Default How to get 309A if I already have 442A

I curently hold 442A for 2 years, is it possible to get somehow 309A just by passing exam? Whats the procedure?
Thank you.
Fleks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2018, 01:44 PM   #2
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleks View Post
I curently hold 442A for 2 years, is it possible to get somehow 309A just by passing exam? Whats the procedure?
Thank you.
Fill out you profile and someone in your area of Canada may be able to help.
brian john likes this.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 01:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,719
Rewards Points: 1,226
Default

So, you're a Canuck, eh? Tell us where you are province & city. Run much loomex?
The_Modifier likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2018, 02:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleks View Post
I curently hold 442A for 2 years, is it possible to get somehow 309A just by passing exam? Whats the procedure?
Thank you.
Every province is different. Fill out your profile so we know where you are. You will get more Canadians reading your post if you post in the Canadian section
The_Modifier likes this.

Last edited by eddy current; 07-14-2018 at 02:54 PM.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 02:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
So, you're a Canuck, eh? Tell us where you are province & city. Run much loomex?
Itís called romex up here eh!
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,719
Rewards Points: 1,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Itís called romex up here eh!
IIRC @99cents calls it Loomex.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 7,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
IIRC @99cents calls it Loomex.
Thatís just him speaking Mercian
Bird dog likes this.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 09:54 PM   #8
Electron Pathway Engineer
 
The_Modifier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: On cloud 9 in Ontario
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Thatís just him translating to Mercian
FIFY.
eddy current likes this.
__________________
Opportunities multiply as they are seized.
The_Modifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 11:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 769
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
Thatís just him speaking Mercian

Americans don't use Canukistani nomenclature like Loomex, Marrete, Pot light.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 04:50 PM   #10
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,469
Rewards Points: 2,570
Default

Welcome to Electrician Talk.
Please take a few minutes and fill out your profile.
The_Modifier likes this.
John Valdes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 06:39 PM   #11
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleks View Post
How to get 309A if I already have 442A
Subtract 133A
eddy current likes this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and youíve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
greenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada / Ontario/ Bruce County
Posts: 714
Rewards Points: 698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleks View Post
I curently hold 442A for 2 years, is it possible to get somehow 309A just by passing exam? Whats the procedure?
Thank you.
Its not that easy to do, need to prove time doing work as 309 a..
and if your in Ontario the college of trades is the one you will half to go throw. good luck
__________________
ďWe the willing, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, with so little, for so long, we are now qualified to do anything, with nothing.ĒTHE NUCLEAR ELECTRICIAN
greenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
309a exam results Shawnyy Canadian Electrical Forum 3 03-25-2018 10:03 AM
309a journeymen with industrial experience, Toronto Ontario Breakfasteatre Looking To Hire 1 01-08-2018 01:16 PM
Future Apprentice (309a) Phamtastic New Member Introductions 4 12-03-2017 05:18 PM
Where to look to become a 309A? (Ontario; ICI; Construction & Maintenance) Syntax Electrician Apprentice Forum 4 10-04-2016 06:40 AM
309a waghari New Member Introductions 7 05-27-2016 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com