How to wire a timeclock and relay? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By telsa
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2016, 07:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default How to wire a timeclock and relay?

How would I wire a timeclock and relay under these circumstances?



So on the time clock diagram, 1 is the 120volts and 2 is the neutral? 4 on the timeclock would be hooked up to either 2 or 7 on the relay? and 3 and 6 on the relay would be the 240 volt load going out to the lights? Am I right on all this?

The answer would be 1 and 2? I'm really bad at this stuff, I really want to understand it though. Thanks for your help!

------------------------

Edit: Okay, **** it one more example. Just so I can better understand. I'm not looking for answers, I truly just want to understand. Encase anyone thinks I'm doing this JUST for my homework. I want to be a good electrician!



Answer is 4 only right? I could explain why I came up with that but I don't want to turn this into an essay! Just want to make sure I understand it! thanks for your help

Last edited by JasonCo; 10-17-2016 at 08:09 PM.
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2016, 07:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

If I understand it correctly ..... Its been a long day...... It would be #4 only
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

On the first one I think L1 would connect to 1 and 4 and L2 would connect to 2.

Don't ever feel bad or ashamed to ask questions even if you think they are simple. Everyone on the this forum started out at some point with no experience. We've all asked questions. I think it's refreshing to see someone like yourself that really wants to understand the why and how of everything we do in this trade.

Last edited by TRurak; 10-17-2016 at 08:02 PM.
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TRurak For This Useful Post:
JasonCo (10-17-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2016, 08:02 PM   #4
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,161
Rewards Points: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRurak View Post
On the first one I think L1 would connect to 1 and 4 and L2 would connect to 2
Either that or L1 to 1 and 3 and L2 to 2. Both would work.
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRurak View Post
On the first one I think L1 would connect to 1 and 4 and L2 would connect to 2.

Don't ever feel bad or ashamed to ask questions even if you think they are simple. Everyone on the this forum started out at some point with no experience. We've all asked questions. I think it's refreshing to see someone like yourself that really wants to understand the why and how of everything we do in this trade.
Appreciate it man, I look up to the people on here who spend their time helping others on pretty much a daily basis. Not only does it help people like me, but it keeps yourself super sharp. The best way to stay sharp is to teach. My goal is to really understand the theory behind everything, so it'll make answering questions and troubleshooting much easier. By the way, I'm going to update the first image with the answer choices. There is no 1,2 and 4. I haven't given myself enough time to analyze your answer, I just want to update it real fast so you know!

Edit: updated
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

I'm assuming the control circuit is the same circuit as the power for the clock
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
Either that or L1 to 1 and 3 and L2 to 2. Both would work.
So L1 to 1 and 3. Meaning L1 would go to 1 on the timeclock and 3 would go to 3 on the relay? and L2 is 2 on the timeclock?

Also, how would it work on the other way... If he puts the load on the normally closed (4) on the relay, then the lights would have constant power when the timeclock is off. Am I wrong or just misunderstanding his answer?

Last edited by JasonCo; 10-17-2016 at 08:33 PM.
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:32 PM   #8
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,161
Rewards Points: 466
Default

No, I mean L1 (hot) would go to both 1 and 3 on the time clock. L2 (neutral) would go to 2 on the time clock, and also to either 2 or 7 on the relay coil. Then you would connect from terminal 4 on the time clock to either 7 or 2 on the relay (whichever you didn't connect to neutral). Then the 240 power goes on 1 and 8 of the relay, and the 240 load goes on 3 and 6.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to B-Nabs For This Useful Post:
JasonCo (10-17-2016)
Old 10-17-2016, 08:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
No, I mean L1 (hot) would go to both 1 and 3 on the time clock. L2 (neutral) would go to 2 on the time clock, and also to either 2 or 7 on the relay coil. Then you would connect from terminal 4 on the time clock to either 7 or 2 on the relay (whichever you didn't connect to neutral). Then the 240 power goes on 1 and 8 of the relay, and the 240 load goes on 3 and 6.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
Okay awesome, I understand now what you are saying and how it all fits together to make it work. Only problem is, there is no answer choice for that..

Answer choices are:
a. 3 & 4
b. 1 & 3
c. 1 & 4
d. 2 & 3
e. 1 & 2
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:37 PM   #10
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,161
Rewards Points: 466
Default

Yes, I noticed that.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:39 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
Yes, I noticed that.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 1,181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonCo View Post
How would I wire a timeclock and relay under these circumstances?
Yea, nice try Al Qaeda
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Just kidding
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 08:50 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Alright i understand now, the answer is 1 and 2. Just used simple process of elimination, none of the other answer choices make sense. Thanks for all the help! Fully understand how to wire relays and time-clocks now. Thanks a bunch guys
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:00 PM   #14
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,732
Rewards Points: 842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonCo View Post
How would I wire a timeclock and relay under these circumstances?



So on the time clock diagram, 1 is the 120volts and 2 is the neutral? 4 on the timeclock would be hooked up to either 2 or 7 on the relay? and 3 and 6 on the relay would be the 240 volt load going out to the lights? Am I right on all this?

The answer would be 1 and 2? I'm really bad at this stuff, I really want to understand it though. Thanks for your help!

------------------------

Edit: Okay, **** it one more example. Just so I can better understand. I'm not looking for answers, I truly just want to understand. Encase anyone thinks I'm doing this JUST for my homework. I want to be a good electrician!



Answer is 4 only right? I could explain why I came up with that but I don't want to turn this into an essay! Just want to make sure I understand it! thanks for your help
1 and 2 on the first one, 4 only on the second
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emtnut For This Useful Post:
JasonCo (10-17-2016)
Old 10-17-2016, 09:09 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 536
Rewards Points: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
1 and 2 on the first one, 4 only on the second
Thanks, yep I turned it in just a bit ago and both were correct. Appreciate the help!
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:16 PM   #16
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,732
Rewards Points: 842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
No, I mean L1 (hot) would go to both 1 and 3 on the time clock. L2 (neutral) would go to 2 on the time clock, and also to either 2 or 7 on the relay coil. Then you would connect from terminal 4 on the time clock to either 7 or 2 on the relay (whichever you didn't connect to neutral). Then the 240 power goes on 1 and 8 of the relay, and the 240 load goes on 3 and 6.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
You're answering the question, and designing the rest of the circuit
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:29 PM   #17
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,161
Rewards Points: 466
Default

Yeah, I got carried away.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:30 PM   #18
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,161
Rewards Points: 466
Default

He said he wanted to understand... 🤗

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 09:40 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,812
Rewards Points: 25,870
Default

I hate homework.

Especially someone else's.
John Valdes likes this.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com