Installing 4" octagons in brick - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2013, 07:12 PM   #1
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default Installing 4" octagons in brick

I used 1 4" carbide holesaw and could'nt believe it drilled 2 out of 3 perfect holes in soft brick for octagon boxes, the last one was hard brick so it ended up getting pilot drilled and chipped. What are other methods used to recess a octy box in existing brick.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2013, 07:18 PM   #2
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

dynamite
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wildleg For This Useful Post:
Celtic (09-19-2013), daveEM (09-20-2013)
Old 09-19-2013, 07:18 PM   #3
Rest In Peace
 
aftershockews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 6,298
Rewards Points: 7,003
Default

I will use a 1/4" bit to outline the hole and then use the chisel bit to break out the hole.
hammer and hand chisel to finish up.
__________________
Official troll magnet.
aftershockews is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2013, 07:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Hey how much that 4" carbide bit cost you?
TQuade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 07:25 PM   #5
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

bout $40 , it's still good for plaster .
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 07:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
denny3992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 3,277
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Why not use masonary box or a 3 1/4 octogon?
denny3992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:09 PM   #7
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denny3992 View Post
Why not use masonary box or a 3 1/4 octogon?
cause when I show up at the job, that's whats on the truck, it's compliant and cheap .
Guys out here cut the nail ears off a 2x4 nail on and let the masons embed it in new brick. The old school did Gem boxes.
I always prefer a 4" fixture box for light fixtures.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: BC
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

If it's new construction and it's just brick siding. I drill a hole at the exact centre of where I want the box. Then stub a wire outside 6 inches, flex it into an octagon box, then explain to the brickies exactly where the light is supposed to go. They brick it in the exact spot.
HadItUpToHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:53 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Texas
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I use a dry core bit on an 1 1/2 rotary hammer and seal around the box with mortar mix.
Linhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Linhawk For This Useful Post:
sbrn33 (09-20-2013)
Old 09-19-2013, 09:27 PM   #10
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,633
Rewards Points: 5,022
Default

I never drill in block. I outline the box with a pencil and use a ball pean hammer to make an almost perfect hole.
It really is easy if you are not afraid to really nail it until you get a small hole broke through. And you must be in the web.
Then I chip away until the box fits in nice and neat.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 09:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc
cause when I show up at the job, that's whats on the truck, it's compliant and cheap .
Guys out here cut the nail ears off a 2x4 nail on and let the masons embed it in new brick. The old school did Gem boxes.
I always prefer a 4" fixture box for light fixtures.
Is it compliant to mount a fixture with 6-32 screws?
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 10:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy
Is it compliant to mount a fixture with 6-32 screws?
If light fixture is less than 6 lbs
Nebelectrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 11:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Maple_Syrup25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 778
Default

i had to do that on a renovation for coach lights and used a 4" sds bit perfect fit. Drilled 1/4" holes into side of brick and used rawl plugs to fasten.
Maple_Syrup25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:22 AM   #14
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy View Post
Is it compliant to mount a fixture with 6-32 screws?
I'm not one of those guys, I'm the guy who ends up performing surgery on the old gem boxes embedded in brick to remove the rusted 6/32 screws.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:57 AM   #15
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,216
Rewards Points: 1,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy View Post
Is it compliant to mount a fixture with 6-32 screws?
Here is the other issue about that. If you have new construction how many masons will be happy to install a 4" octagon masonry box in the brick. It would not be easy to install and make it look good.
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 10:30 AM   #16
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Valdes View Post
I never drill in block. I outline the box with a pencil and use a ball pean hammer to make an almost perfect hole.
It really is easy if you are not afraid to really nail it until you get a small hole broke through. And you must be in the web.
Then I chip away until the box fits in nice and neat.
He said brick not block.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 01:14 PM   #17
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,633
Rewards Points: 5,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
He said brick not block.
Thanks Bob. I was going to correct my mistake, but you beat me to it.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 03:36 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DE/PA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 49
Default

whats a gem box?
electricdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:24 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
I used 1 4" carbide holesaw and could'nt believe it drilled 2 out of 3 perfect holes in soft brick for octagon boxes, the last one was hard brick so it ended up getting pilot drilled and chipped. What are other methods used to recess a octy box in existing brick.
I would use an octagon bit.
Nom Deplume is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
license & exams: "residential/single-phase" v "journeyman" mikewillnot General Electrical Discussion 8 01-21-2015 08:43 PM
"electricians" advertising "recession pricing" "super low prices to fit your budget" lovethetrade General Electrical Discussion 17 12-01-2011 12:44 AM
SEC through brick wall alann53 Services and Service Equipment 24 12-10-2010 07:22 PM
Installing 6" RMC romexican General Electrical Discussion 38 08-12-2010 08:48 AM
Installing a security light to brick chestman General Electrical Discussion 8 12-05-2009 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com