installing Generac 7000 Watt Gen - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2015, 09:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default installing Generac 7000 Watt Gen

Question I have is can you recomend a exterior cut off switch I want to install a external cut off switch so the generator can be cut off before transfer panel our area requires access to cut off in case of service it is a 50 amp Generac 7000 Watt Thank you
dmarr35 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2015, 09:05 AM   #2
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

The breaker on the generator?
mcclary's electrical is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
Bad Electrician (01-27-2015), Mountain Electrician (01-27-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 09:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

no were I am going though wall supply from gen on wall they require a cut off assesable
dmarr35 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2015, 09:15 AM   #4
Conduit Extraordinare
 
mdfriday's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbia
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,510
Default

Call a licensed electrician. They will know what you need.
mdfriday is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 09:19 AM   #5
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

We're not answering your question for you.
mcclary's electrical is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 09:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 207
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Talk to the knowledgeable people at lowes or Home Depot.They would be more than happy to offer their help.
Even better,why don't you hire one of the knowledgeable staff in the electrical dept. to do it for you.
Let us know how it turns out😉
Canadian sparky is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 09:42 AM   #7
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East and Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 5,460
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Diy

ibtl
flyboy is online now  
Old 01-27-2015, 09:49 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Thank you I was just wanting to purchase what is needed It will be installed by a licensed electrician in the spring
dmarr35 is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 09:58 AM   #9
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Your 7kW gen. has a 14-50R?
3xdad is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 3xdad For This Useful Post:
Maximumbob (01-27-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 10:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

So what ever happened to the platypus with the rocks?

My hand is also feeling much better.
The_kid is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to The_kid For This Useful Post:
mcclary's electrical (01-27-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 10:31 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Bad Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: I Moved, VA
Posts: 4,154
Rewards Points: 4,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmarr35 View Post
no were I am going though wall supply from gen on wall they require a cut off assesable
Not sure what you are saying here, but I believe the generator has a shut off CB on the unit
Bad Electrician is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 11:25 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 448
Rewards Points: 584
Post

Reliance PR30 or PR50


http://www.alt-electric.com/PR50_p_253.htm
Maximumbob is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 12:11 PM   #13
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,729
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________
“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” – Will Rogers
Speedy Petey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generac 8kw standby gen. w/ pre wired transfer switch Newbee01 Canadian Electrical Forum 11 10-22-2014 12:08 AM
Has anyone installed a Gen-ready Generac Panel yet? robnj772 General Electrical Discussion 12 03-20-2014 08:05 PM
7000/7001 Whatever it takes k_buz Off Topic (Non Trade) 2 11-21-2012 07:48 AM
Generac 20kw gen aarons600rr General Electrical Discussion 29 12-31-2010 07:35 AM
7000 mdc calimurray General Electrical Discussion 2 11-11-2008 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com