Just bought a used contractors portable AND..... - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By dmxtothemax
Closed Thread

Old 10-29-2018, 11:41 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
Default Just bought a used contractors portable AND.....

Hello I'm brand new to register, however I've been a creeper for quite awhile.

Anyway I need some advice. I've done basic hookups before but nothing like this. I bought a big portable from a contractor that was finishing up a new subdivision and didn't want to bother with the move so he said 500 bucks and i pay for the move. It has a 200amp panel and I seen everything works .

It's actually pretty nice and will be a sweet screw around shed to have. I think it's 15x40 . Anyways I have a service panel about 450 feet away. I have done the math and seen that i could get 45 amps with 5% loss with a #2 aluminum wire and I feel that will be enough for lights and small things.

My service panel is 200 amp and the panel in the portable is 200amp. Can I hook up the 200amp panel in the portable to a 50amp circuit breaker on the main and call it a day? Or must I get a smaller panel for the portable like a 50 amp panel and rework the lights and base board heaters. I only want to know because this already all works and id love To just plug and play.

If I cannot do this can someone throw me a bone and tell me what I would need to safely bring 45 amps into my new shed ? It seems like it would be just like hooking up an RV to a power supply.
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!