Kubota welder machine - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2016, 12:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default Kubota welder machine

Anyone familiar with Kubota welder machine?







The problem is, no matter how i tried, the voltage stays at 102Volt on RN/SN/TN, 175Volt RS/RT/ST

I tried to adjust voltage at the AVR, but soon these things started to smoke



The engine is 3TNE68 UDW1


Thank you
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2016, 12:39 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 29,645
Rewards Points: 21,669
Default

The rust on the frame looks pretty bad. You really need a new machine.
__________________
I stand with Tucker Carlson
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 02:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,317
Rewards Points: 26,880
Default

It looks wet.

You should take it to a motor rewind shop. Perhaps they'll have the diagnostic tools to figure this puppy out.

BTW, what was the voltage delivered to the arc ?
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2016, 07:43 PM   #4
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,523
Rewards Points: 4,663
Default

So... does it work?
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
The rust on the frame looks pretty bad. You really need a new machine.
I know, if it cant be fixed, that ll be the only way out.
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 01:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
It looks wet.

You should take it to a motor rewind shop. Perhaps they'll have the diagnostic tools to figure this puppy out.

BTW, what was the voltage delivered to the arc ?
I havent measure the arc, but i dont really know how welding machine work, i know a bit of genset. It has voltage on the output terminal RSTN, but it supposed to be 220v right?
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 09:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,317
Rewards Points: 26,880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBoen View Post
I havent measure the arc, but i dont really know how welding machine work, i know a bit of genset. It has voltage on the output terminal RSTN, but it supposed to be 220v right?
The speed of the motor has an impact on the Hertz and the Volts.

You sound like you're lost.

Bring in talent or take this puppy to an electric motor shop.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 09:54 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
The speed of the motor has an impact on the Hertz and the Volts.

You sound like you're lost.

Bring in talent or take this puppy to an electric motor shop.
Thats why i discuss it in here, i just want to know if anyone familiar with this welding machine. Someone who can share some info.
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 10:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Cl906um's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,206
Default

I had something similar with an old Koehler gen. Put out 150 to grounded. It was a matter of adjusting one screw for the governor. I called L&S. They were a huge help at telling me info on this . They rewind motors and are a pretty big outfit. The original company is Z&R. Location, iron mountain, mi. Try giving them a call. Do it quick. A lot of the older guys that were good mechanics as well as electricians are retiring. We are becoming a throw away nation. Everything is at our disposal.
Cl906um is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 10:39 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Cl906um's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Rewards Points: 1,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBoen View Post
I havent measure the arc, but i dont really know how welding machine work, i know a bit of genset. It has voltage on the output terminal RSTN, but it supposed to be 220v right?
Run it for some time with a light load may help some of the moisture issues.
Cl906um is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 08:42 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

I live in small city of Indonesia, it will be hard to find someone who can really fix this and of course they will over charge sometimes.


JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 08:43 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Do you mean running light load will help this generator to stabilize the output voltage?
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 11:11 PM   #13
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,523
Rewards Points: 4,663
Default

Does it weld?

Don't screw with the governor. That is a sure way to mess it up in a hurry.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.

Last edited by Jhellwig; 12-18-2016 at 11:15 PM.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:00 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

It did weld, and the weird thing is drilling machine was working as well. I measured the output voltage, it was 110V, and drilling machine specs stated that it is 220v.

Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:02 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

What do those WC-10C and WC-10E do actually? Are those for welding?

Sent from my MI 5 using Tapatalk
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:03 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cl906um View Post
Run it for some time with a light load may help some of the moisture issues.
It was the solenoid, i think its like jammed or old, i had to move it with my hand, the voltage goes higher.
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 01:08 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

This AVR is working when i adjust, it responds.





But these two, it didnt respond, nothing changed at all.
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 02:08 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,961
Rewards Points: 1,558
Default

Have you done an online search for a service manual or circuit diagram ?
Would help a lot !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 02:14 AM   #19
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,693
Rewards Points: 21,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
Does it weld?

Don't screw with the governor. That is a sure way to mess it up in a hurry.
That useally true in majorty of diesel generators.,,


to OP .,,

did you verify the engine speed by the X of RPM ? if you are in 50 Hz Area the generator should be in 1500 or 3000 rpm depending on the poles on the generators 1500 should be correct for 4 pole verison while 2 pole you should be spinning at 3000 rpm.

But if you are on 60 HZ you should be at 1800 or 3600 RPM.

you should get the frequecy meter to read the numbers of HZ to get the correct speed then adjust the voltage to correct number.
telsa likes this.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2016, 06:48 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Jambi, Indonesia
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Have you done an online search for a service manual or circuit diagram ?
Would help a lot !
Yea i have tried, but couldn't find any.
JBoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coffee bike. Electric / Gas Espresso Machine. Kasperbb68 General Electrical Discussion 2 09-17-2016 10:12 AM
Machine shop question. TRurak General Electrical Discussion 19 07-15-2016 01:15 PM
Welder that says max 30 amps Arcflasher Residential Electrical Forum 4 06-15-2016 08:19 PM
CNC machine power wiring. High leg delta system - HELP PLEASE! Polynomial General Electrical Discussion 5 05-15-2016 12:46 AM
Sizing Conductors for machine feeder. nables30 NEC Code Forum 11 03-28-2016 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com