Lighting ballast - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: US
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 85
Default Lighting ballast

I'm trying to figure out a lighting load for this shop I'm wiring. I'm using t5 high bays just wondering the current labeling on the ballast includes the lamps also? Thanks
MEISENBURG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2013, 12:54 PM   #2
fertilizer distrubuter
 
Ultrafault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,250
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Yes.
Ultrafault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:55 PM   #3
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEISENBURG View Post
I'm trying to figure out a lighting load for this shop I'm wiring. I'm using t5 high bays just wondering the current labeling on the ballast includes the lamps also? Thanks
Yes, it should list different currents for each lamp type that can be used with it.

Keep in mind continuous loads have to be figured at 125%.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2013, 12:56 PM   #4
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultrafault View Post
Yes.
I disagree.

















BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 12:57 PM   #5
fertilizer distrubuter
 
Ultrafault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,250
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post

I disagree.

Lol wrong thread.
Ultrafault is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ultrafault For This Useful Post:
BBQ (12-16-2013)
Old 12-16-2013, 01:06 PM   #6
fertilizer distrubuter
 
Ultrafault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,250
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post

Yes, it should list different currents for each lamp type that can be used with it.

Keep in mind continuous loads have to be figured at 125%.
Don't forget he must use the highest rated bulb for that fixture in his calcs. I seem to recall someone somewhere saying that. Maybe it was jebus.
Ultrafault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:13 PM   #7
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultrafault View Post
Don't forget he must use the highest rated bulb for that fixture in his calcs.
Yes, but not all fixtures will take the ballasts max lamp. Think CFLs.


Quote:
I seem to recall someone somewhere saying that.
I am sure it was some arrogant blow hard.

Quote:
Maybe it was jebus.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: US
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Thanks guys
MEISENBURG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ballast Lighting: Could phase sequence matter? theForce Commercial Electrical Forum 34 03-26-2013 03:12 AM
Chinese Ballast / Mexican Ballast Lone Crapshooter General Electrical Discussion 1 02-23-2013 03:31 PM
Lighting Ballast Theft Outdoorguy General Electrical Discussion 18 12-21-2012 07:16 PM
troubleshooting flourescent lighting problems w/ em ballast joe electrician Commercial Electrical Forum 5 10-09-2009 12:20 AM
Replacing 8, 2 lamp magnetic ballast lighting with electronic ballast and t8 lamps phish1985 General Electrical Discussion 4 03-02-2009 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com