Load calculation sub panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2019, 01:59 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 248
Default Load calculation sub panel

This is a sub panel fed from a 200 main. I want to add a 48 amp hot tub to it What would the load calculation be for this sub panel more or less?
All of the top row double pole are in floor heating aside from the last one which is the AC.
Attached Thumbnails
Load calculation sub panel-20191122_151425.jpg  
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2019, 02:14 AM   #2
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,837
Rewards Points: 14,047
Default

No way of knowing based on breakers alone.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 06:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 5,848
Rewards Points: 588
Default

You need to do a load calc for the entire service, and then for the panels.
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2019, 10:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
No way of knowing based on breakers alone.

I know what you mean but I think it's safe to say the 2pole 15 for infloor heating would be maximum 1200W if they were installed correctly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFL View Post
You need to do a load calc for the entire service, and then for the panels.
I've already done the load calc for the main service and it's quite low given they have mainly gas appliances.

I'm just unsure if I have to take the 15 amp circuits at full load because this is a sub panel. I think its safe to say 1200w for each 2 pole heater.
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 10:04 AM   #5
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,837
Rewards Points: 14,047
Default

I would probably look at that panel with heating and AC loads and say no way. Feed it from the main even if it means running PVC around the exterior of the building. People spend thousands on a tub and then want to cheap out on the electrician. That’s not how I roll.

The inspector will hug you if you feed it from the main.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 10:06 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I would probably look at that panel with heating and AC loads and say no way. Feed it from the main even if it means running PVC around the exterior of the building. People spend thousands on a tub and then want to cheap out on the electrician. That’s not how I roll.
Its a lot more work to run it from the main ie: finished space around main panel. Your point is well taken though so thank you.
newbie44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 11:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 542
Default

How many people know why you are allowed to install a panel sideways in Canada but not in the USA? I always wondered on many HGTV home shows they show the panel sideways but then I read an article as to why or how.
kb1jb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 12:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb1jb1 View Post
How many people know why you are allowed to install a panel sideways in Canada but not in the USA? I always wondered on many HGTV home shows they show the panel sideways but then I read an article as to why or how.
It is because we're farther from the equator. The centrifugal forces due to the spin of the earth are less, which means electrons can travel sideways more easily. Science.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Mobius87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 12:32 PM   #9
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,375
Rewards Points: 7,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbie44 View Post


I know what you mean but I think it's safe to say the 2pole 15 for infloor heating would be maximum 1200W if they were installed correctly.
Where do you get 1200w from?

Could there not be 2800w on a 15 amp 240v circuit?
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 12:41 PM   #10
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,375
Rewards Points: 7,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobius87 View Post
It is because we're farther from the equator. The centrifugal forces due to the spin of the earth are less, which means electrons can travel sideways more easily. Science.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
The flat earth doesn’t spin !!!

Lol
HackWork, Navyguy and MikeFL like this.
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:17 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobius87 View Post
It is because we're farther from the equator. The centrifugal forces due to the spin of the earth are less, which means electrons can travel sideways more easily. Science.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
I thought it was the centripetal force.
MikeFL likes this.
kb1jb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb1jb1 View Post
I thought it was the centripetal force.
Could be. I'm a sparky, not omnipotent.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Mobius87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
The flat earth doesn’t spin !!!

Lol
Try telling that to the electrons.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Mobius87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 05:17 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 542
Default

I believe the Canadian code requires the line side feeders to be separate from the other conductors. There is a barrier between the entrance conductors and the rest of the panel.

Here in the US you can have fused and un-fused conductors only in the service panel.
At least that is what I read. Is that true????
kb1jb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 05:46 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb1jb1 View Post
I believe the Canadian code requires the line side feeders to be separate from the other conductors. There is a barrier between the entrance conductors and the rest of the panel.

Here in the US you can have fused and un-fused conductors only in the service panel.
At least that is what I read. Is that true????
Yes, here the service conductors have to be behind a barrier, and you aren't allowed to run branch circuits through that compartment.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk
Mobius87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 07:17 PM   #16
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,375
Rewards Points: 7,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb1jb1 View Post
I believe the Canadian code requires the line side feeders to be separate from the other conductors. There is a barrier between the entrance conductors and the rest of the panel.

Here in the US you can have fused and un-fused conductors only in the service panel.
At least that is what I read. Is that true????
In the US you can not mount a panel sideways because all breakers must be up for “on” right? Left or right is ok as well, just not down.
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 07:21 PM   #17
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,227
Rewards Points: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddy current View Post
In the US you can not mount a panel sideways because all breakers must be up for “on” right? Left or right is ok as well, just not down.
We tried installing them sideways here, but the hertz leaked out because of that equator thing
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 07:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: KS
Posts: 497
Rewards Points: 938
Default

Man, don't over complicate this. You said you did a load calc on the house, and it is fine. If your service is well within the limits to run the hot tub, just add the breaker in whatever panel is convenient. Looks like you have a 200A main breaker from some feed-through lugs there. Can't see it, but I'm willing to guess it is. If it is the closest one, add your hot tub there. Your only concern is that your main breaker will trip, but if the panel load isn't really that great, then you don't have any worries.
sparkiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 04:16 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
FaultCurrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 496
Rewards Points: 931
Default

This helps explain how electricians operate in Canada. Especially near where it all started, Teck Township, Ontario.

__________________
At it since 1971 and still going....kind of.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Grandpa was old, and he was slow. But he got there.
FaultCurrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 08:11 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colleyville, Tx
Posts: 759
Rewards Points: 948
Default

So what is the proper way to mount a panel/panel cover sideways?
Do you mount it so the cover has to be propped up by a stick or so the cover falls open?
MikeFL likes this.
cdslotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com