Making it illegal to sell electrical equipment? - Page 4 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2015, 02:27 PM   #61
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
They don't charge for those services, it's all built into the cost of rates. There's no installation charge for residential new service.
Its way different here. You pay for new service, you pay for service disconnect, you pay for service reconnect. To say that you save them millions by performing this task for them is ludicrous.
mcclary's electrical is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2015, 02:30 PM   #62
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 36,220
Rewards Points: 1,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Just shut the **** up if you're gonna spew nonsense. If they charge the customer for a disconnect and reconnect, how would that lose them money? That like saying it would save you money to let other people do half your renovation work. It's total bull****. They do it because they lack manpower, not because it would lose them money.
Power companies can't charge for these things here.
HackWork is online now  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:32 PM   #63
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 36,220
Rewards Points: 1,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Its way different here. You pay for new service, you pay for service disconnect, you pay for service reconnect. To say that you save them millions by performing this task for them is ludicrous.
No, ludicrous is what you said the other day about not being able to use a screw to ground a box. You ranted, raved, cursed, and insulted members much like in this thread. Yet when it was explained how you were wrong, you never even showed your face in the thread again.

Let's use this thread as a turning point for you to stop making that same mistake over and over.
HackWork is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2015, 02:39 PM   #64
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
No, ludicrous is what you said the other day about not being able to use a screw to ground a box. You ranted, raved, cursed, and insulted members much like in this thread. Yet when it was explained how you were wrong, you never even showed your face in the thread again.

Let's use this thread as a turning point for you to stop making that same mistake over and over.
You're the dumbass that took the thread off course. My point was you can't use a single screw, and only a screw to ground a 1000 mcm conductor. That was my point. It can't be done. Then here comes your dumbass comment about wrapping a wire around the screw, as if we're talking about romex and 4" sqs. Couldn't you read the op? I'm still correct on that thread.
mcclary's electrical is offline  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:42 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 36,220
Rewards Points: 1,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
You're the dumbass that took the thread off course. My point was you can't use a single screw, and only a screw to ground a 1000 mcm conductor. That was my point. It can't be don't. Then here comes your dumbass comment about wrapping a wire around the screw, as if we're talking about romex and 4" sqs. Couldn't you read the op?
No, I did not take that thread off course. You did when you attacked another member when that member was actually correct and your own quoted code proved your side wrong.

I think you need a break, it's clear that you're at your melting point. Maybe you should take your tricycle out for a ride? The one with the fake animal nuts hanging from the back.
HackWork is online now  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:43 PM   #66
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Its way different here. You pay for new service, you pay for service disconnect, you pay for service reconnect. To say that you save them millions by performing this task for them is ludicrous.
I already explained how it saves them millions. They can pay a lineman with all his benefits $100 or more an hour plus the cost of owning, maintaining, and stocking bucket trucks ($$$$$$$$.) Or they can have EC's do it for $0 an hour.

Are you really having that much trouble understanding this?
MTW is offline  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:46 PM   #67
Rest In Peace
 
aftershockews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 6,298
Rewards Points: 7,003
Default

__________________
Official troll magnet.
aftershockews is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aftershockews For This Useful Post:
mdnitedrftr (02-28-2015), shocksystems (02-28-2015)
Old 02-28-2015, 02:49 PM   #68
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Yup, same here.


Here is how I defeat the really old style meter lock, a PSE&G wiring inspector stopped by that day and saw the meter cover and was impressed. He said he was going to tell other EC's to do that because most of them call him to come unlock this style because they can't get it off themselves.

I once watched a National Grid guy try to unlock a commercial meter (different barrel lock than resi.) He didn't have the right key so he just broke out the dremel.
MTW is offline  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:50 PM   #69
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 36,220
Rewards Points: 1,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
I once watched a National Grid guy try to unlock a commercial meter (different barrel lock than resi.) He didn't have the right key so he just broke out the dremel.
Those old meter pans are pretty thick and take a long time to cut even with an angle grinder. I couldn't imagine trying to use a Dremel.
HackWork is online now  
Old 02-28-2015, 02:57 PM   #70
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Those old meter pans are pretty thick and take a long time to cut even with an angle grinder. I couldn't imagine trying to use a Dremel.
I guess I wasn't clear. It was a ringed meter socket and he used the dremel to cut the ring or the lock (I can't remember which.)
MTW is offline  
Old 02-28-2015, 03:06 PM   #71
Light Emitting Decoration
 
Electric_Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western US
Posts: 1,323
Rewards Points: 1,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnitedrftr View Post
This stems from the DIY panel thread...

Do you ever think that we will see a time where government steps in and makes it illegal to purchase or sell electrical parts/equipment without proving you're a licensed electrician?
__________________
=[ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ ֺֺֺֺֺ]=
Electric_Light is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical equipment sparky=t General Electrical Discussion 13 10-31-2013 12:56 AM
Who to sell used surplus equipment to?? mcgyver01 Electrician Swap 15 09-22-2011 09:58 AM
Is working seven days a week For the same electrical company illegal? Xjourneybenderx General Electrical Discussion 43 06-12-2011 09:18 PM
Illegal Electrical Work/ Underground Economy brother General Electrical Discussion 20 03-17-2010 11:00 PM
Electrical Upgrades that help sell homes? shocked_sparky Business, Marketing, and Sales 48 08-19-2009 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com