Metering with one CT - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2015, 03:52 PM   #1
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default Metering with one CT

How do you meter 120/240 with on CT? My understanding is that one of the hot conductors are flipped through the CT so net current adds rather than cancels?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2015, 08:28 PM   #2
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Yep. One goes in one side and one goes in the other.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 09:35 PM   #3
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
Yep. One goes in one side and one goes in the other.
And no special CT?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2015, 09:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bad Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: I Moved, VA
Posts: 4,154
Rewards Points: 4,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
And no special CT?
You have an amp clamp try it.
Bad Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 09:45 PM   #5
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Electrician View Post
You have an amp clamp try it.
Ok, you have a point then
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 11:22 PM   #6
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,760
Rewards Points: 3,128
Default

Provided it's true single phase (180 phase angle), the currents will add exactly.

If it's 2 legs of a Y (120 phase angle), it'll read close but not exact.

If needed, someone else will have to explain further; I'll be out of town for a few weeks.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
meadow (02-10-2015)
Old 02-10-2015, 11:47 AM   #7
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
And no special CT?
Nope. It works just like looping the wire in an amp clamp to get a better reading.

Ct's and amp clamps are fun to play with. I found a miswired cord cap with nothing more than an amp clamp at the panel.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bad Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: I Moved, VA
Posts: 4,154
Rewards Points: 4,969
Default

I'll use an amp clamp occasionally for trouble shooting





Just a small percentage go the CT's I utilize.
Bad Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Metering Cujo General Electrical Discussion 9 04-14-2014 07:57 PM
sub metering?? 24 big guy General Electrical Discussion 4 04-17-2013 09:03 PM
Sub Metering dronai Commercial Electrical Forum 15 10-09-2012 07:53 AM
Sub Metering for RV al_smelter General Electrical Discussion 25 03-01-2012 08:32 AM
sub metering french connection!! General Electrical Discussion 9 02-04-2012 01:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com