Missing Ground Wire - Large Commercial Lighting Project - Exterior / Industrial - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 04:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default Missing Ground Wire - Large Commercial Lighting Project - Exterior / Industrial

Hi Everyone, we are working on a very large exterior lighting conversation at an industrial site. Replacing 400W + 1000W HID fixtures w/ new LEDs. The problem is, the existing 40FT+ poles don't have an existing ground wire. To add a ground to these poles would require a $1M+ infrastructure upgrade and would not be approved.

Question: Is this a circumstance where the functioning/existing electrical infrastructure that does not have a ground wire can be 'grandfathered' in with the new LED lights or does it require a complete upgrade to the lighting system?

Any specific NEC code you could point us to?

Thanks!!
electroman1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2019, 04:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,512
Rewards Points: 211
Default

Are you a licensed contractor?

Where did you get the $1,000,000 quote for adding an EGC?
MikeFL likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:00 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

This is a massive yards - 500+ poles. 2000+ HID flood fixtures.
electroman1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2019, 05:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,512
Rewards Points: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electroman1985 View Post
This is a massive yards - 500+ poles. 2000+ HID flood fixtures.
Are you a licensed contractor?

Where did you get the $1,000,000 quote for adding an EGC?
MikeFL likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:03 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Yes, we are a licensed electrical contractor but primarily only focus on lighting and very basic electrical.
electroman1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,512
Rewards Points: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electroman1985 View Post
Yes, we are a licensed electrical contractor but primarily only focus on lighting and very basic electrical.
Ok, that is one question down. For the third time, Where did you get the $1,000,000 quote for adding an EGC?
MikeFL likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:08 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

From a 3rd party electrical engineer hired by our customer. That portion is out of our scope and we are not involved in the details of that. Our separate lighting project is just dependent on if that other electrical infrastructure is required or not.
electroman1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:13 PM   #8
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,360
Rewards Points: 1,666
Default

In most cases the inspector will allow a replacement without the equipment grounding conductor however it is really their call so I would check with the head inspector on that one
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:25 PM   #9
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 9,132
Rewards Points: 908
Default

Are the poles fed with conduit?
__________________
I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,842
Rewards Points: 3,976
Default

There was a time when a ground wasn't required for lights out of reach. I don't remember all the specifics, but i would find what age the building is, then find the NEC version that it was built under, and find out if an EGC was required by code. Then argue that these new lights are even more plastic than the old HIDs, why do they even need a ground? Etc.
John Valdes likes this.
__________________
Elizabeth Warren 2020. Strong Woman, Strong Future, Strong America.
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:11 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
Are the poles fed with conduit?
No, overhead wire strung from pole to pole (wood pole).
electroman1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California all of it
Posts: 820
Rewards Points: 1,611
Default

Hmmmmm
I wonder how that wire stays in the air .

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
John Valdes, pudge565, tjb and 3 others like this.
catsparky1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: maine
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catsparky1 View Post
Hmmmmm
I wonder how that wire stays in the air .

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
Exactly my thought when he finally told us all of the story. Can you spell messenger ? Damn I hate when you have to pull teeth to get all the info required to give an answer. Wait for it.
J F Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:52 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,512
Rewards Points: 211
Default

It's gonna cost billions to fix this
pudge565 and J F Go like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: California all of it
Posts: 820
Rewards Points: 1,611
Default

I fix it for 900,000 grand !!
splatz and MikeFL like this.
catsparky1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 06:54 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: maine
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
It's gonna cost billions to fix this
Hey Hack,I'm not that busy so I'll help ya. LOL
J F Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 07:42 PM   #17
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 9,132
Rewards Points: 908
Default

$1M for 500 aerial EGC

That comes to $2000 per pole

I'll do it for $1.3M

I am going to sub it to @catsparky1 but I gotta eat too
__________________
I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:25 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: maine
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
$1M for 500 aerial EGC

That comes to $2000 per pole

I'll do it for $1.3M

I am going to sub it to @catsparky1 but I gotta eat too

No your NOT. @HackWork and I are splittin it and the check is already in the mail, so step off, LOL
splatz likes this.
J F Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:34 PM   #19
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,601
Rewards Points: 13,571
Default

I would do it but I’m already committed to running power to a garden shed.
tjb and splatz like this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:35 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 30,067
Rewards Points: 1,906
Default

1. What is the voltage at each pole?
2. is there a messenger wire carrying the conductors?
3. How to heck does an engineer know diddly about what something cost?
pudge565 and telsa like this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, ground, nec

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com