Mr. Tightwire romex rough - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 05:01 PM   #41
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Wait, what?

He is actually avoiding using the recep as part of the circuit (which is the normal method).


At what point do you strip the insulation from the wire and what method/tools do you employ? Seems like you would have to fight it if the wires were already bent in the box.
I guesstimate the amount I need from the basement or lower level, fold over and push up to device box, I'll do six or seven of these before a switchbox break. Then I go box by box, measure wire four fingers thumb out. Slice jackets even with utility knife, run knife to fold, remove jacket, slice ends of conductors with knife and then push into box. There is very little waste in material.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2011, 05:04 PM   #42
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
You are reading my mind. I was only staying out of this because I like shockdoc, but that method is quacky, and surely a waste of time. During a romex rough in, there are two stages, roughing in, and cutting in. The only other person I know crazy enough to do that was doubleoh7
I treat it like assembly line work, pull all wires at onetime, then cut in . I guess i have a system to it that works for me, I'll mount everything first hi hats, ex fans, boxes, etc. Drill. Pull wires. Enter or cut in as many call it.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:08 PM   #43
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Your name came to mind because I have no doubt you're an authority on this, and there is no way that method saves time. Not a slight chance.
And how can you prove that ? By the time you strip your cables , twist and install crimp or greeny it takes me the same amount of time. Now during my final all my wires are ready for devicing, three screws per device to tighten via impact gun.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2011, 05:08 PM   #44
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

We're allowd X amount of distance securing a conductor to box, depending on weather it incorporates some sort of grip style entry or not, right?

The chief b*tch we have with older installs is lack of slack , right?

ch*t changes during the course of construction, requiring us to rewire right?

do the math folks

and Doc, we wire very similar, sans stackers, which i use more of than staples....

speed, malability

they sell real well......

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:12 PM   #45
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,095
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
And how can you prove that ? By the time you strip your cables , twist and install crimp or greeny it takes me the same amount of time. Now during my final all my wires are ready for devicing, three screws per device to tighten via impact gun.
Because you're wasting time on the front end measuring your cable making sure it's the right length to go into the box, and dealing with pulling a continuous run of cable in and out of holes. Besides, any decent resi guy can make up an outlet box in a matter of seconds.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:16 PM   #46
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
Because you're wasting time on the front end measuring your cable making sure it's the right length to go into the box, and dealing with pulling a continuous run of cable in and out of holes. Besides, any decent resi guy can make up an outlet box in a matter of seconds.
How am I wasting time ? I do one long pull from end to end and pull slack at each outlet location. Most of the time I'll run the sill plate below and pop up to my locations for 1st floors, no drilling except for plates or angles below if I'm feeling cheap.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #47
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
We're allowd X amount of distance securing a conductor to box, depending on weather it incorporates some sort of grip style entry or not, right?

The chief b*tch we have with older installs is lack of slack , right?

ch*t changes during the course of construction, requiring us to rewire right?

do the math folks

and Doc, we wire very similar, sans stackers, which i use more of than staples....

speed, malability

they sell real well......

~CS~
I was never sold on the stackers, I'll triple stack under a staple side by side center of stud. I'm cheap when it comes to buying stuff.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:28 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,789
Rewards Points: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
there is no way that method saves time. Not a slight chance.

My money would be on the traditional method of cutting the wire but I wouldn't say absolutely no way until I at least explored it.

The more I think about it, the more I'm thinking that the effort in getting the proper amount of slack required to do several receps would eat up some time and offset anything on the trim out. Originally, I was just thinking of one recep.

In the olden days, we (two man crew) would rope two 1500' tract houses a day, including the service/panel. There were no recessed cans, smokies but still, the methods were dialed in. Mark it, drill it, run cable, stuff and staple, make up and move on.

We used crimps on the grounds. (faster/cheaper/smaller than nuts) and backstabbed everything except AL systems.


Quote:
I was never sold on the stackers
Talk about a waste of resourses. There is romex sheath laying all over the jobsite. I'm not going to buy something other than staples to secure cable.

Last edited by 220/221; 11-23-2011 at 05:30 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:29 PM   #49
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
I was never sold on the stackers, I'll triple stack under a staple side by side center of stud. I'm cheap when it comes to buying stuff.
admittedly they're not for everyone Doc

i used to triple stack under #100's as well (so much for listings, eh?)

speed is key with romex jockey's

1)plan

2)box out

3) drill out

4) stack as much as possible

5) pull in /mark it out

6) loop into boxes (and this initself could be a thread for the truly OC)

7)pigtail

8)install spent sheathing over all switchlegs and mark

9) paintmark every outlet on floor below for those evil rockers

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:29 PM   #50
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,095
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
The more I think about it, the more I'm thinking that the effort in getting the proper amount of slack required to do several receps would eat up some time and offset anything on the trim out.
That's exactly why I think it doesn't save anything, or simply washes out in the end.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:30 PM   #51
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

almost forgot.....

10) tell them all it's live....

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 05:37 PM   #52
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
My money would be on the traditional method of cutting the wire but I wouldn't say absolutely no way until I at least explored it.

The more I think about it, the more I'm thinking that the effort in getting the proper amount of slack required to do several receps would eat up some time and offset anything on the trim out. Originally, I was just thinking of one recep.

In the olden days, we (two man crew) would rope two 1500' tract houses a day, including the service/panel. There were no recessed cans, smokies but still, the methods were dialed in. Mark it, drill it, run cable, stuff and staple, make up and move on.

We used crimps on the grounds. (faster/cheaper/smaller than nuts) and backstabbed everything except AL systems.
First time i did this it took me a long time. I was motivated because I was in a small village out of the way with their own E I and forgot to restock the wirenut/crimp bin. I had to remain compliant with a very limited amount of connectors. for a onetime rough/final job. It grew creative. I remember the tract house days before multiple smokes, bath circuits. It was the same for us out here on those happy minimum code houses. 1 day, one long day if electric appliances. Everything now I find is custom , although i try to administer minimum code to it.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 06:55 PM   #53
Florida resident
 
ampman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida , if your not here you're somewhere else
Posts: 3,898
Rewards Points: 1,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
1/2 switched receptacles made fast......
good looking work but is that uf i see, not that it matters
__________________
for lunch I had three cans of alphabet soup then afterwards I had a huge vowel movement
ampman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:03 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D View Post
If that were the case, then your method would be widespread. But it's not because it's ridiculous and a waste of time.
It's not a waste of time, I do it too. My work is crisp, clean and fast. I've wired hundreds of houses and I've seen and tried all different ways. Shocdoc's way is the fastest and easiest way for me.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bkessler For This Useful Post:
220/221 (11-24-2011), Shockdoc (11-23-2011)
Old 11-23-2011, 07:08 PM   #55
NJ-IEC
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,387
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
I recently visited a flip home a home improvement contractor did himself, the kitchen had those blue boxes, not the crank out ones I use on hi end jobs but the 18 cu nail ons. They had #14 wire in them for the counter outlets.
that #12 stuff is way more expensive and he was able to get the client a "better deal."
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:39 PM   #56
NJ-IEC
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,387
Rewards Points: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
I was never sold on the stackers, I'll triple stack under a staple side by side center of stud. I'm cheap when it comes to buying stuff.
Or the Colorado Jim's work well.
__________________
Replies based on NEC 2014
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:47 PM   #57
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampman View Post
good looking work but is that uf i see, not that it matters
No UF, hardly ever buy that stuff, my UG work is almost always in PVC.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:06 PM   #58
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Work looks fine to me, although I have never looped my wire like that for devices. I know it is an old timer thing. Can't comment on speed benefits cause I don't rope as a rule, only on rare occasions and biz is slow. Service for me, man! That seems to produce higher margins.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:10 PM   #59
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,095
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkessler View Post
It's not a waste of time, I do it too. My work is crisp, clean and fast. I've wired hundreds of houses and I've seen and tried all different ways. Shocdoc's way is the fastest and easiest way for me.
I consider myself a residential expert and can wire a house blindfolded but I just can't see how this method saves any time. I am confident I can work just as fast using Wagos on the make up, than stripping wires mid section. But to each their own.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:48 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter D

I consider myself a residential expert and can wire a house blindfolded but I just can't see how this method saves any time. I am confident I can work just as fast using Wagos on the make up, than stripping wires mid section. But to each their own.
It might not be faster but it's definitely not a hindrance. And it also has thrown a few inspectors for a loop.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bkessler For This Useful Post:
John Valdes (11-27-2011)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring the rough Wired4Life10 Off Topic (Non Trade) 20 11-08-2011 06:03 AM
Rough Monday Powerfull General Electrical Discussion 24 08-08-2011 05:42 PM
1yr from Rough to Trim Cletis General Electrical Discussion 14 04-17-2011 02:19 PM
New home Rough-in dmoyer1 Residential Electrical Forum 3 03-05-2011 10:32 PM
New House rough-in. Hillbilly General Electrical Discussion 41 03-25-2007 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com