Mr. Tightwire romex rough - Page 7 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2011, 10:40 AM   #121
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leland View Post
Islands etc: I leave the loop below,drill and install after the piece is placed.


This part scares me!

"those Airtight IC hihats were made for 8" joist, I got them to fit into 6" framing by slicing 2" off the top of the box. The UL police are going to kick my door in.)


Yeah, that's hack. Halo makes a can that is 5.75"
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2011, 11:24 AM   #122
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGH

I like pull chains in an unfinished basement. 1: it gives you options if/when ho finishes basement. 2: they are easy to convert to jbox to alter lighting reqirement in finish project. 3: you don't waste time and $ running sw legs you really don't need or know where they may be wanted in the future layout if it gets finished. I run a 3way top/bot of stairs, then 4/5 pull chain. Easy neat and save 100' wire plus trim outs.
So you do pullchains on a switch? If thats what you're saying, I can understand that and have done the same on occasion. I hate just pullchains with no switch though... might as well not have a light at all.
Arc'n'Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:45 AM   #123
RGH
Senior Member
 
RGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 3,342
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

No lol 3 way light at bottom of stairs only light on 3 way...rest are p/chained
__________________
I rather be fishing......
RGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2011, 02:25 PM   #124
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,823
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arc'n'Spark View Post
So you do pullchains on a switch? If thats what you're saying, I can understand that and have done the same on occasion. I hate just pullchains with no switch though... might as well not have a light at all.

What do you mean by pullchain with no switch?

What does the chain do?

Do you mean keyless lampholder?
__________________
OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Steven Wright
oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:41 PM   #125
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Yeah, that's hack. Halo makes a can that is 5.75"
But these were CXL and Topaz IC brand , purchased real cheap for $33.00 including trim and bulb. It's just a tin box that got cut down, the inner can remained as is , 5 1/2". I made sure the box top went back on, leaving it off would have been hack.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:48 PM   #126
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 16,340
Rewards Points: 18
Default

I gotta say I like the loop method used by shockdoc. Not so long ago I had to trim out several 12/2 boxes for recepts. By the time I finished, my hands were hurting. It seems the looping method would really save on the hands and make trimming out much easier.
I like the idea and thanks for showing it.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:05 PM   #127
Les Voltage
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
crimping and pigtailing.

Whats to crimp
Voltech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:11 PM   #128
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

My loops look something like this, usually they are a but bigger.
Attached Thumbnails
Mr.  Tightwire romex rough-image-2045862199.jpg  
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:16 PM   #129
RIP 1959-2015
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,624
Rewards Points: 1,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltech View Post
Whats to crimp
.........http://compare.ebay.com/like/300614874984


__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HARRY304E For This Useful Post:
Shockdoc (11-28-2011)
Old 11-27-2011, 04:08 PM   #130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer

What do you mean by pullchain with no switch?

What does the chain do?

Do you mean keyless lampholder?
No, I meant pullchain lampholder with no toggle switch wired in series ahead of it. I have done the setup I mentioned (pullchain also controlled by switch) for customers with large unfinished basements before so that lights in frequently used storage areas may be left on at the light and controlled by the switch, leaving the rest off at the light to be turned on with pullchain if/when needed. I said simply having pullchain lampholders is like having no light at all, because til you stumble through the dark to find the first light, do what you need, turn the light off, and stumble back through the dark, you might as well have not had a light at all. RGH apparently remedies this with a switched lighting outlet at the stairs, which he clarified after my previous post.
Arc'n'Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:14 PM   #131
Electric Al
 
oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,823
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Thanks for the clarification!

I was not sure what you meant.

I have done P.C. lights that way too!
__________________
OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Steven Wright
oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 04:29 PM   #132
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 430
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldtimer
Thanks for the clarification!

I was not sure what you meant.

I have done P.C. lights that way too!
Sorry for the confusion. Glad to hear Im not the only one
Arc'n'Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:16 PM   #133
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arc'n'Spark View Post
No, I meant pullchain lampholder with no toggle switch wired in series ahead of it. I have done the setup I mentioned (pullchain also controlled by switch) for customers with large unfinished basements before so that lights in frequently used storage areas may be left on at the light and controlled by the switch, leaving the rest off at the light to be turned on with pullchain if/when needed. I said simply having pullchain lampholders is like having no light at all, because til you stumble through the dark to find the first light, do what you need, turn the light off, and stumble back through the dark, you might as well have not had a light at all. RGH apparently remedies this with a switched lighting outlet at the stairs, which he clarified after my previous post.
I do the same on almost all minimum code houses. 3 way at stairs covers one light top of stairs and one aside landing, the remaining basement lights are PCs wired to the local 1st fl. ckt. , I 'll even use the PC sometimes as the feed point as well as branching out.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 02:19 PM   #134
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 504
Rewards Points: 825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user4818 View Post
It would be much faster to use Wagos
What's a wago?

added: nevermind. all over youtube. Seems to be two types though, one with levers, and one like what comes in recessed can j-boxes, where the conductors just push in. the latter seems just as shaky as backstabbing, to me, and I"d like to know the difference. Also, like to know if the lever thing holds up as well. Probably another thread.

Last edited by mikewillnot; 01-31-2015 at 03:03 PM. Reason: did my homework
mikewillnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring the rough Wired4Life10 Off Topic (Non Trade) 20 11-08-2011 06:03 AM
Rough Monday Powerfull General Electrical Discussion 24 08-08-2011 05:42 PM
1yr from Rough to Trim Cletis General Electrical Discussion 14 04-17-2011 02:19 PM
New home Rough-in dmoyer1 Residential Electrical Forum 3 03-05-2011 10:32 PM
New House rough-in. Hillbilly General Electrical Discussion 41 03-25-2007 09:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com