Need a new MultiMeter. What one? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2015, 03:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default Need a new MultiMeter. What one?

Been rocking a Fluke 177 for probably 6 years now. And it's been great. But it did not survive a 35m fall onto a steel I-beam.

I do mostly commissioning and startup of industrial, primarily oil and gas plants. I haven't needed a process meter, but I don't know if it's something I would use either as I don't really know what they do.

I was looking at the Fluke 87V and the Fluke 789 if a process meter is something that would actually be useful.

But then I saw the Agilent U1253B with the OLED screen. And I have to say it was a really nice meter, super easy to read the display. But that was the first time I have seen an Agilent (Keysight?) meter.


I'm not really sure what is the right direction, and this is the first time I have thought outside Fluke as well.
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2015, 03:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,192
Rewards Points: 4,074
Default

I don't like the agilent OLED displays, the demo models I saw were kinda hard to see outdoors in sunlight.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 03:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlarson View Post
I don't like the agilent OLED displays, the demo models I saw were kinda hard to see outdoors in sunlight.
Hmm, wouldn't have thought that with how nice it looked. But didn't take it outside either, didn't actually think to. But not being easy to see outside is no good though, seems I always have glare making it hard enough to read.
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jeff000 For This Useful Post:
LiteUmUp (02-14-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2015, 07:08 PM   #4
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,432
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Really liking my 28 for outside use and in the rain. My 189 doesn't do well in the rain and snow.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 08:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 159
Default

87V accept nothing less
sparkywannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparkywannabee For This Useful Post:
glen1971 (02-15-2015)
Old 02-14-2015, 01:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkywannabee View Post
87V accept nothing less
It is definitely very popular in my field.
What makes it a better meter than my 117 was though? Besides the temp probe ability.

Can I use one of those clamp ammeter attachments with it?
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 06:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff000 View Post
It is definitely very popular in my field.
What makes it a better meter than my 117 was though? Besides the temp probe ability.

Can I use one of those clamp ammeter attachments with it?
It works really well for VFD chopped up outputs, easy to check caps as well. I always preferred using an actual clampmeter for clamp readings.
sparkywannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 06:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 419
Default

I have two meters that I carry with me.

One is an Extech EX600 for line voltage stuff and amp readings. The only real complaint I have is that it doesn't do milliamps. It does microamps, but not mA. The AC/DC amp clamp comes in very handy at times. The backlight only stays on for 30 seconds (which is a PITA at times), but I just deal with that.

The other is a Fluke 787 Processmeter. Since I deal with quite a few 4-20mA analog devices, it's a necessity for me.
mikey383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 12:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkywannabee View Post
It works really well for VFD chopped up outputs, easy to check caps as well. I always preferred using an actual clampmeter for clamp readings.
Getting a real reading from a chopped up VFD is great. Sounds like that's enough to win me there, lol.

I have a fluke clamp meter, can't remember the model number now, it's rated for 1000 amps, but the jaw on it can only fit over a 900 mcm wire. And anything running close to 1000a is more like a 1750 or 2000 mcm if it's not bus bar. And mind you I see that a lot less now as pretty much every motor drawing more than 500 amps is 5 kv or 9 kv. But it's still a pain when the damn jaws won't close.



Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey383 View Post
I have two meters that I carry with me.

One is an Extech EX600 for line voltage stuff and amp readings. The only real complaint I have is that it doesn't do milliamps. It does microamps, but not mA. The AC/DC amp clamp comes in very handy at times. The backlight only stays on for 30 seconds (which is a PITA at times), but I just deal with that.

The other is a Fluke 787 Processmeter. Since I deal with quite a few 4-20mA analog devices, it's a necessity for me.
I deal with a LOT of 4-20 (almost always rosemount transmitters), but at the same time have a Hart 475 so not sure if the process meter would do me any good.
Having a small meter that could do changes like changing units and range would be awesome if they are out there.
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 02:31 PM   #10
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff000 View Post

I deal with a LOT of 4-20 (almost always rosemount transmitters), but at the same time have a Hart 475 so not sure if the process meter would do me any good.
Having a small meter that could do changes like changing units and range would be awesome if they are out there.
A process meter like a 789 is a must if you are working with instruments. Plus it work well as a multimeter. I have troubleshot a lot of instrument wiring with one. The 475 isn't any good for doing anything other than talking to the transmitter.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
mikey383 (02-16-2015)
Old 02-15-2015, 03:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
A process meter like a 789 is a must if you are working with instruments. Plus it work well as a multimeter. I have troubleshot a lot of instrument wiring with one. The 475 isn't any good for doing anything other than talking to the transmitter.
I'll be honest. I generally only deal with new transmitters, and the only troubleshooting I do is wrong tagging. It's probably only 1 in 100 that won't turn on, and I haven't ran into one that needs calibration yet, I almost think they are more accurate than my cal kit.

I really only use the 475 to change units and keep it on the one screen instead of bouncing between the different screens. And I will use it to send specific values for scada check.

What kind of troubleshooting can it do?
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 07:31 PM   #12
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff000 View Post
I'll be honest. I generally only deal with new transmitters, and the only troubleshooting I do is wrong tagging. It's probably only 1 in 100 that won't turn on, and I haven't ran into one that needs calibration yet, I almost think they are more accurate than my cal kit.

I really only use the 475 to change units and keep it on the one screen instead of bouncing between the different screens. And I will use it to send specific values for scada check.

What kind of troubleshooting can it do?
It can provide loop power for transmitters, source milliamps for valves and read milliamps. It can automatically step up and down the milliamp output to check the stroke of a valve. Plus it works as a multimeter. It is quick to use the loop power to find wiring problems when the return wire get shorted out or to the shield.

If you are doing new instalations it can be nice to set up transmitters and valves when the I/o isn't terminated yet. Fisher valves with a dvc won't let you do precision tunning unless it is getting 8 milliamps
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
mikey383 (02-16-2015)
Old 02-15-2015, 07:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 747
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
It can provide loop power for transmitters, source milliamps for valves and read milliamps. It can automatically step up and down the milliamp output to check the stroke of a valve. Plus it works as a multimeter. It is quick to use the loop power to find wiring problems when the return wire get shorted out or to the shield.

If you are doing new instalations it can be nice to set up transmitters and valves when the I/o isn't terminated yet. Fisher valves with a dvc won't let you do precision tunning unless it is getting 8 milliamps
It would be nice to power the heads for testing and set up. I imagine I could have the hart hooked up while the meter is powering the head right?

It seems it can do everything a 87V can do and then more. You might have to try and get a commision from fluke here, lol
Jeff000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 02:45 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,192
Rewards Points: 4,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff000 View Post
Hmm, wouldn't have thought that with how nice it looked. But didn't take it outside either, didn't actually think to. But not being easy to see outside is no good though, seems I always have glare making it hard enough to read.
The OLED's are hard on batteries too.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multimeter Joemac8694 Tools, Equipment and New Products 15 01-21-2015 04:12 PM
Multimeter help. gguadagno1 Tools, Equipment and New Products 13 06-17-2014 11:20 PM
Multimeter. chewy Tools, Equipment and New Products 4 05-20-2013 01:03 AM
Multimeter Cjs Tools, Equipment and New Products 2 01-11-2013 03:11 AM
multimeter drspec Tools, Equipment and New Products 4 10-07-2012 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com