need some motor wiring help - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2015, 01:47 PM   #1
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default need some motor wiring help

Motor is wired for 3phase 250volt. Customer would like it to work on single phase.




The motor label configuration looks like what I got looking at the motor wiring, so this leads me to believe I could change something in that terminal block instead? I dunno, I'm at a loss here.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 01:56 PM   #2
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

he's going to have to buy a single phase motor can't interchange three and single phase motors.
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Lep For This Useful Post:
CADPoint (02-17-2015), dronai (02-17-2015), John Valdes (02-18-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 01:57 PM   #3
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Yep. ..
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 01:59 PM   #4
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

whaat? dammit
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 01:59 PM   #5
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Sell him a 3 phase service.

Maybe some kind of single phase to three phase converter but I don't know how those work or if they are any good.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
MadDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 375
Default

Could use a 1Ph to 3Ph VFD if it's not too large.
MadDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:02 PM   #7
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

so the wiring config is for 3 phase 240v and 3phase 480...sh*t.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:05 PM   #8
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Yeah, plus it looks like it is only one component of a system? - Your 3rd. pic.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:10 PM   #9
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

The terminal block sends all those wires to a contactor and on/off, forward/reverse switches...it's an industrial paper shredder.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:12 PM   #10
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

You can't enter change 3 phase and single phase.But that three phase motor(in the picture) is dual voltage you'll have to look at the motor specs to see if motor voltages falls into the voltages you have in your building electrical system .you speak german? Lol

Perhaps a buck boost transformer if you have the correct system will give you the correct voltage for the motor.
Some of the other guys know more about this stuff than I do ,I used to rewind motors but I've forgotten a lot.
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan

Last edited by Lep; 02-17-2015 at 02:15 PM.
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:16 PM   #11
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Sell him a phase converter. Install a single phase fed inverter on the 3 phase loads or replace the motors with single phase ones. Those are your only options.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (02-17-2015), Dennis Alwon (02-18-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 02:21 PM   #12
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

jeebus, after a quick search I found static, cnc phase, rotary...sheesh.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:27 PM   #13
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

If it is just one small motor an inverter might be the best option.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,665
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

BuzzKill

Are you saying one leg of single phase, or two legs?

Maybe I am missing something. Plus, why would the customer want to?

Just curious?

Borgi
51360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:23 PM   #15
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
If it is just one small motor an inverter might be the best option.
I agree, but I think shredders require some horsepower
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:27 PM   #16
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
The terminal block sends all those wires to a contactor and on/off, forward/reverse switches...it's an industrial paper shredder.
I worked on a single phase motor for a shredder, and the forwards and reverse controls for 3 phase are already in place with interlocks. You have to know what you are doing to replace with a single phase that has the same controls.

And with a Vfd, you would have to control this to the Vfd and not the motor (I think)
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:54 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
MadDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
I agree, but I think shredders require some horsepower
Usually they drive a high ratio gear reducer to use a small HP motor to get high torque at low speed. Most paper shredders are low RPM, high TORQUE
MadDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MadDawg For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-17-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 06:49 PM   #18
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
I worked on a single phase motor for a shredder, and the forwards and reverse controls for 3 phase are already in place with interlocks. You have to know what you are doing to replace with a single phase that has the same controls.
oh damn it that would have to get rewired as well?
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 06:51 PM   #19
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borgi View Post
Are you saying one leg of single phase, or two legs?
Maybe I am missing something. Plus, why would the customer want to?
3 phase shredder and only single phase power available.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BuzzKill For This Useful Post:
51360 (02-17-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 06:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
MadDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 375
Default

VFD drives have FWD and REV inputs built in
MadDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MadDawg For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (02-17-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor wiring diagram MEISENBURG General Electrical Discussion 14 07-12-2014 01:25 PM
VFD Motor Wiring Dare General Electrical Discussion 7 10-17-2013 04:03 PM
Help With Motor Wiring A Little Short PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 7 05-02-2013 11:21 PM
dayton motor wiring RM Sparks General Electrical Discussion 6 08-07-2009 03:39 PM
help wiring a motor javier6866 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 2 01-21-2009 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com