need some motor wiring help - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2015, 07:07 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,665
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
3 phase shredder and only single phase power available.
Ok, misunderstood. Thought you were maybe taking this motor home for your customer's shop. Sorry.

Borgi
51360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 07:23 PM   #22
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

It is as easy as this: buy a proper sized single phase input inverter for the motor you have, remove the starter from the control cabinet, put the inverter in its place, put the wire that went to the forward coil on the forward input on the inverter, put the wire that went to the reverse coil to the reverse input of the inverter, program inverter.

If it is a small enough inverter you might even be able to power it with 120 volt.

What is the horsepower, amps and rpm of the motor?
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (02-17-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 07:42 PM   #23
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

[QUOTE=J

What is the horsepower, amps and rpm of the motor?[/QUOTE]

I find out in the AM.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 10:24 PM   #24
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
I find out in the AM.


Can we help you estamate the job too?
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:27 AM   #25
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
It is as easy as this: buy a proper sized single phase input inverter for the motor you have, remove the starter from the control cabinet, put the inverter in its place, put the wire that went to the forward coil on the forward input on the inverter, put the wire that went to the reverse coil to the reverse input of the inverter, program inverter.
What about the OL's ?

Buzzkill, Is there schematic you can post ?
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 12:28 PM   #26
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,444
Rewards Points: 1,830
Default

I had to do this in a wood shop and I just used a phase converter
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
51360 (02-18-2015), pete87 (02-21-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 01:29 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,483
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
What about the OL's ?

Buzzkill, Is there schematic you can post ?
don't need OL with vfd
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oliquir For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-20-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 02:02 PM   #28
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,754
Rewards Points: 244
Default

http://www.kbelectronics.com/Variabl...s_Chassis.html

The small chassis mount might just fit in place of the contactor. If its an IEC contactor it most likely will not fit and you will need to make some room or buy the enclosure model and mount it to the outside of the existing enclosure.

Note: The VFD can only operate the motor. You will need to control the VFD. So get the schematic from the web site and make your drawing to work from.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 02:18 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 134
Default

Try www.northamericaphaseconverters.com

They probably have something that will do the trick. Might not be cheap but it's an alternative.
Sparky48 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sparky48 For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (02-18-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 04:11 PM   #30
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
What about the OL's ?

Buzzkill, Is there schematic you can post ?
No schematic.
Motor is 208v, 3 phase, 11.6 amps and 3 HP.

Found this site, too:

https://www.phoenixphaseconverters.c...ase-converters
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BuzzKill For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-20-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 04:22 PM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 1,702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
No schematic.
Motor is 208v, 3 phase, 11.6 amps and 3 HP.

Found this site, too:

https://www.phoenixphaseconverters.c...ase-converters


The 5HP converters , just chump change over the 3HP



Pete
pete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 05:13 PM   #32
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Thanks for the help fellow sparks!
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 10:01 AM   #33
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
Thanks for the help fellow sparks!
Any the decision yet ?

My only concern with using a VFD would be that dreaded phone call down the road that it failed ! I don't know the reliability for the application vs using a phase convertor .

3 HP convertor for $345.00
3 HP Single phase input drive $368.

Last edited by dronai; 02-20-2015 at 10:06 AM.
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:17 PM   #34
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
Any the decision yet ?

My only concern with using a VFD would be that dreaded phone call down the road that it failed ! I don't know the reliability for the application vs using a phase convertor .

3 HP convertor for $345.00
3 HP Single phase input drive $368.
Sorry I missed this Dronai.
I'm getting a phase inverter; $345 for a 3HP model and $95 shipping. Mount it and the motor by the panel and run some conduit 30 feet to the showroom so he can show off his new shredder to customers. I haven't done the estimate yet, doing that over the week end. Prob a $1650ish job.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.

Last edited by BuzzKill; 02-20-2015 at 08:20 PM.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BuzzKill For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-20-2015)
Old 02-21-2015, 01:36 PM   #35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Idaho
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Use a phase converter use them all the time east to hook up and cheep and reliable
South Hills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 03:00 PM   #36
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1,486
Rewards Points: 1,702
Default

I have used the Rotary Converter , I too wonder which is more reliable in this
application ?




Pete
pete87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 08:51 PM   #37
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Also if he disconnects the forward and reverse starters to use for his VFD, there may be aux contacts that close when the starters close, that need to work. Some controls are also wired into the control circuit for safety devices like the access doors. That's why I said to look at the schematic first.
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:19 PM   #38
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,452
Rewards Points: 552
Default

I tell customers, don't buy equipment off of ebay or wherever without talking to me first.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:16 PM   #39
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,456
Rewards Points: 4,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
No schematic.
Motor is 208v, 3 phase, 11.6 amps and 3 HP.

Found this site, too:

https://www.phoenixphaseconverters.c...ase-converters
You could buy a single phase motor since that is all the bigger it is but even decent inverter is cheaper.

A phase converter would seam silly for just one 3 phase motor load.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
pete87 (02-22-2015)
Old 02-22-2015, 01:39 AM   #40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 6
Default

If you use a static phase converter the motor gets de rated by 1/3. So basically a 3hp motor becomes a 2hp motor. This may be a problem if the machine sees a heavy load. Vfd's are pretty cheap now days and most of the ones I've used, you can input single phase or three phase. Overloads are built into the vfd. Just program and go. I've done this on several occasions. Works very well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
7635tools is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 7635tools For This Useful Post:
pete87 (02-22-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor wiring diagram MEISENBURG General Electrical Discussion 14 07-12-2014 01:25 PM
VFD Motor Wiring Dare General Electrical Discussion 7 10-17-2013 04:03 PM
Help With Motor Wiring A Little Short PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 7 05-02-2013 11:21 PM
dayton motor wiring RM Sparks General Electrical Discussion 6 08-07-2009 03:39 PM
help wiring a motor javier6866 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 2 01-21-2009 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com