Need a vendor - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2019, 04:58 PM   #21
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,362
Rewards Points: 3,905
Default

You guys are missing what I need.

I need t a new back box. The top of this one is swiss cheesed with existing pipes.

Has nothing to do with the cover, the cover I have is a surface mount, They built a wall around the panel. I figured I could get a new box, use existing guts breakers and cover. The new pipe runs I ran, I could land in the new boxes KO's. I have done this in the past with BL panel boxes, so I figured I could do the same with the QO.



The load center didn't appear to be that old.

I'll put in a BL panel I have. Might work out better as the BL's are solid top and it's easier to land pipes.
99cents likes this.
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Helmut For This Useful Post:
HackWork (05-16-2019)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-16-2019, 05:28 PM   #22
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,026
Rewards Points: 10,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Don't you just love when you get an email that says:

Panel box discontinued, no suitable substitute available



Thanks SQD.
Absolutely love it. Now you tell the customer you need to replace it, no choice.

For the record, Siemens makes 3 phase panels that take both bolt-on and push-in breakers (at least up here in the frozen north).
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 05:39 PM   #23
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,362
Rewards Points: 3,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Absolutely love it. Now you tell the customer you need to replace it, no choice.
I wish, this is on me. I gave them a price to do the fit-out. Figured I could make a bunch more by re-using the load center. This time it bit me. I have 2 complete BL's full of breakers, with new boxes and covers in the shop. It didn't bite me too hard, in fact, this mistake made floor space.



Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
For the record, Siemens makes 3 phase panels that take both bolt-on and push-in breakers (at least up here in the frozen north).
See above.
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-16-2019, 05:53 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 569
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Can you get a metal shop to make you a new top you can rivit in place?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:07 PM   #25
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,362
Rewards Points: 3,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
Can you get a metal shop to make you a new top you can rivit in place?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Doubt that pass inspection.

Tons of options I suppose. I could mount a gutter over the panel using existing pipe layout in the QO panel, and land the new pipe runs in the gutter.
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.

Last edited by Helmut; 05-16-2019 at 06:12 PM.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:10 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 569
Rewards Points: 40
Default

I've done it on a panel board can. I could see doing it on loadcenter getting raised eyebrows.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:17 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,661
Rewards Points: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Doubt that pass inspection.

Tons of options I suppose. I could mount a gutter over the panel using existing pipe layout in the QO panel, and land the new pipe runs in the gutter.
Forge Boy’s idea is great. It is code compliant as long as you use a piece of steel the same thickness or thicker than the existing panel.

Just cut a flat piece of steel to go over the entire top, then drill your KOs in it.

It’s no different than when I use a 1900 blank cover plate to close a KO or as a reducing washer.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:34 PM   #28
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,362
Rewards Points: 3,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Forge Boy’s idea is great. It is code compliant as long as you use a piece of steel the same thickness or thicker than the existing panel.

Just cut a flat piece of steel to go over the entire top, then drill your KOs in it.

It’s no different than when I use a 1900 blank cover plate to close a KO or as a reducing washer.

2 things come to mind, 1 is it looks like hell, and 2, how to you insure it' properly bonded? With pop rivets? I am sure you'd had to put grounding bushings on every pipe entering that new top.

Then, can someone make you this is a couple days?
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 07:03 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,661
Rewards Points: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
2 things come to mind, 1 is it looks like hell, and 2, how to you insure it' properly bonded? With pop rivets? I am sure you'd had to put grounding bushings on every pipe entering that new top.

Then, can someone make you this is a couple days?
You don’t need it made special. All you need is a flat piece of steel, 4”x14.5” Or whatever the dimension of the top of the panel is. Cut it out of an old trough or the back of a panel.

As for looks, it would sit flat on the top of the panel, no one would be able to see it or know that it wasn’t part of the panel.

Use a 1/4-20 bolt in each corner and you’re done, no issues with bonding.

I have ran conduit into 1900 blank plates that were held on with 2 8-32 screws and nuts. Perfectly code compliant and passed inspection.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 08:46 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 569
Rewards Points: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post



Then, can someone make you this is a couple days?
I guess I'm spoiled. We have a fabrication shop for a customer and i can call in and have metal cut/bent for the next morning if I need it. It helps that I have saved their butts more than once and got their machines up and running so they could keep rolling.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 08:50 PM   #31
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,782
Rewards Points: 4,404
Default

Put me in the camp with everyone else. I'd install a sheetmetal plate on the top of the panel and use machine screws or similar to hold it down. Done.

Changing a panel because the top is swiss cheesed sounds extreme to me.

We also have a steel shop down the road that will shear or thread or do whatever we need.

This would take a 5 minute phone call and stopping by to pick up the plate, it couldn't be simpler. I bet it'd be well under 20 bucks.

Last edited by Cow; 05-16-2019 at 08:53 PM.
Cow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 08:58 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,091
Rewards Points: 3,878
Default

If I really had a burning desire to reuse a little loadcenter like that I'd grab a scrap of plate and slap it onto it in a heat beat.
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:05 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,661
Rewards Points: 407
Default

I wish I had a metal shop for things like this. I could find one, but it would probably be a place that only liked large orders and charged me an arm and a leg to do it.

For me, I'd stop at the supply house, get a 4" x 16" trough cover, cut it with a sawzall at the truck, and put it on. It will even be painted gray.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 09:28 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,050
Rewards Points: 4,034
Default

The backbox is completely symmetrical. Remove everything. Flip backbox upside down. Reinstall everything. KO seal all the bottom KOs and the new top is virgin.
splatz likes this.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 06:38 AM   #35
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,830
Rewards Points: 3,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
2 things come to mind, 1 is it looks like hell, and 2, how to you insure it' properly bonded? With pop rivets? I am sure you'd had to put grounding bushings on every pipe entering that new top.

Then, can someone make you this is a couple days?
I don't think bonding would be difficult, and I do have tin bangers I can bribe for this kind of thing, but I still would worry about an inspector balking about the repair.

I never did it, but if you are surface mounting it, I wonder if it would work out if you just attached a trough on top with a few large chase nipples.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Vendor needing an answers to basic electrical fittings questions AntDWood New Member Introductions 4 01-25-2019 11:49 AM
National Vendor Service Providers KL-Networks Structured Wiring 21 12-14-2018 03:24 PM
Div 26 Specs - Commercial Jobs FootballFan General Electrical Discussion 5 03-23-2018 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com