Neglect - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 11:01 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,512
Rewards Points: 3,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theriot View Post
I know I'm ashamed of my own shed panel. That's one of those ill fix it later things eight years ago.
What do you mean? Peter d would think that was a perfect install.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2012, 05:20 AM   #22
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celtic View Post
my entire service is an abomination


Same here.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:23 AM   #23
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Here's one you won't find any too often in a house;

The service is 120/208 3 4 wire wye. There is a 3 panel in the garage, and adjacent to it is a 12X12X4 N1 screw cover can recessed in the wall. In this can there are three 10 amp relay bases, each with a 3 pole 10 amp HP rated relay. All 3 bases are fed with a 3 pole 10 amp breaker, and #14 THHN; daisy chained together.

The load side of each relay base feeds a 3 pole fuseblock. Each fuseblock feeds a 3 motor, one for the swamp cooler in the garage (1/2HP), one for the exhaust fan in the garage (1/2HP), one for the attic fan in the house (1/4HP).

The fuses are time-delay and sized to protect the motors from overload, single-phasing, etc.

Sort of a poor mans MCC.

Only one problem; no individual disconnecting means for each motor controller.

Other than that, it's very likely compliant.


I have about $600 worth of controls running a $35 attic exhaust fan.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BBQ For This Useful Post:
Hamer (07-09-2012), micromind (07-09-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2012, 01:55 PM   #24
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,640
Rewards Points: 5,032
Default

I have two bedrooms left with 3 wire receptacles and two wire NM.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 02:04 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Hamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern WV
Posts: 103
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
I have about $600 worth of controls running a $35 attic exhaust fan.

Sounds like a "micrologix1200 for the Christmas lights" kind of story. Nah, I never overengineered anything at my house.
__________________
Coffee
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 11:33 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 13,020
Rewards Points: 642
Default

My meter base isn't physically attached to the side of the house.



Plus it's an old piece of crap.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:03 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Vintage Sounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,259
Rewards Points: 4,004
Default

I buried some NMWU in my yard, to feed a pond pump receptacle and future landscape lighting. Code says it should be 24" underground. I said F that, and went with 6-8". Whatever. It's on a GFCI breaker and sleeved in PVC where it comes out of the ground.
Vintage Sounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:49 AM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.E.
Posts: 16,095
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vintage Sounds View Post
I buried some NMWU in my yard, to feed a pond pump receptacle and future landscape lighting. Code says it should be 24" underground. I said F that, and went with 6-8". Whatever. It's on a GFCI breaker and sleeved in PVC where it comes out of the ground.
I've done that a few times, but without the GFCI breaker.
user4818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:40 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
carryyourbooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATY, TX
Posts: 1,627
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default

i just recently replaced a sd that hadn't worked since i bought the house (10 yrs.). i stll need to put gfci's in the kitchen. oh yeah, my disposal switch is upside down.

i think i'll leave it like it is though......it will keep the home inspectors feeling good about himself when i get ready to sell.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
carryyourbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:24 AM   #30
Sideways Sparky
 
farlsincharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SK Canada
Posts: 1,511
Rewards Points: 1,168
Default

no gfi's outside, no tr, no afci.
15 amp rec's on 20 amp feed in garage, it is #12 though.

Man, I feel a little like the teachers pet. Maybe I'll go down and pull the covers off a couple jb's.
farlsincharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 03:51 AM   #31
Master Of Disaster
 
socalelect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,776
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

The hub on my well service panel has been broke for a couple years. I keep saying ill fix it. I did squirt some squeeze cheese in it does that count?
socalelect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 01:08 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,144
Rewards Points: 2,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theriot
What's the biggest code vialation in or around your house?
This cover hasn't been put on in nine years
Garage door openers aren't GFI
Don't even know where my cover is for my shed panel.
That could be my house!

I had to run some new conductors into the ceiling from my load center, but since it's in the garage, the Sheetrock is 5/8" and nobody has short pieces of 5/8 hanging around but I don't want to buy a whole sheet and toss most of it. So I'm waiting fir one of my neighbors to do a garage project so I can steal a chunk of Sheetrock from them and I have yet to put the cover back on. It's been probably about 5 years now...

Also no GFI on the garage door opener, also have an unfinished outlet box hanging out of the wall by the romex.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:59 PM   #33
WWMDSD
 
Oakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 30
Default

THHN hanging out of the LB in the garage spliced on the fly to a POS sub panel with no cover. My old time 100 amp main service has bare conductors on the drop and the panel cover I cant fit on anymore.
Oakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:27 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOYB
Posts: 4,665
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Valdes View Post
I have two bedrooms left with 3 wire receptacles and two wire NM.
Oh yeah, add that to my list too. But it's most of my apt.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com