New Simplisafe Camera / Doorbell won't work. - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By 3DDesign
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2018, 11:19 AM   #1
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default New Simplisafe Camera / Doorbell won't work.

I have been to the Simplisafe forum which is of no use. I have talked to Simplisafe tech support which was the most ridiculous conversation ever.

I'm trying to wrap my head around what is wrong.

I of course have measured 27 VAC at button from my bell transformer that goes into the mechanical Westminster chimes, NOT DIGITAL. (tech support kept telling me I had digital chimes.)

I remove my old doorbell button without LED, and wired the new camera button. As soon as I slip it on the wired base it starts ringing the bell constantly.


I read about other peoples' "fixes" using 10 Ohm resistors, Diodes, etc. I tried some of these in desperation and nothing works.

So I'm thinking to myself, Self, why not a relay? Only one major issue, I can't run a separate power. It has to be a single AC power source. Rectified to run the coil then AC power across N/O and COM.


Trying to find a bridge rectifier and relay in my scrap pile now. Maybe?
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2018, 12:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
360max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 11,434
Rewards Points: 1,234
Default

Where did you put the resistor or diode, I read on a forum to put 10 ohm resister AT the chime location and it stopped the guys constant ringing.
360max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 12:41 PM   #3
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,801
Rewards Points: 8,758
Default

SimpliSafe = consumer grade junk. Thankfully ADI carries all major security brands now at wholesale prices, so no need to buy that trash.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2018, 01:03 PM   #4
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 360max View Post
Where did you put the resistor or diode, I read on a forum to put 10 ohm resister AT the chime location and it stopped the guys constant ringing.
I tried a 10, 100 and 1K . The 10 and 100 acted like a direct short.
the 1K didn't short it and it didn't fix the issue. I read the same forum. He said he put the resistor across the terminals in parallel with the button wires coming in. It tried them at the button too. I tried a diode the same.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 01:05 PM   #5
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 27,148
Rewards Points: 16,655
Default

Try a 16 volt transformer in place of the 24. You are maybe overdriving the circuit board
sbrn33 likes this.
__________________
Just days before China unveiled a nuclear weapon that can "strike the US within 30 minutes with ten warheads" as part of a giant military parade, US Major General Lori Reynolds announced she's declaring "diversity" is a "warfighting necessity" which will help America defeat the more homogeneous nations of China and Russia.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 01:09 PM   #6
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
SimpliSafe = consumer grade junk. Thankfully ADI carries all major security brands now at wholesale prices, so no need to buy that trash.
Wife ain't happy ain't nobody happy. That was the main reasoning behind the purchase of the system. I already had a Vista 50 with wireless transmitters installed. No... she wants a video doorbell with the system not as a separate item.

Don't judge me
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 01:27 PM   #7
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Try a 16 volt transformer in place of the 24. You are maybe overdriving the circuit board
I had the original 16 VAC replaced with a 24VAC because I was told there wasn't enough power (voltage according to tech support) for the video, PIR, the chimes and the LED. It measured 19 VAC at the button and chimes.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,

Last edited by LARMGUY; 12-30-2018 at 04:24 PM.
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 02:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LARMGUY View Post
I had the original 16 VAC replaced with a 24VAC because I was told there wasn't enough power for the video, PIR, the chimes and the LED. It measured 19 VAC at the button and chimes.
Having enough power doesn't mean increasing the voltage, it means increasing the VA of the transformer.
Purchase a 16V, 30 VA transformer.
If this is an old school, Nutone Westminster Chime, It had a diode installed.
The instructions showed it installed across the button. I never did that, I found it easier to install the diode at the chime.
brian john likes this.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 04:16 PM   #9
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Poor choice of words. Tech support said 24 volts.

They also talked about a "chime connector" in the forums but this is where it gets confusing. The forums say it's for vintage solenoid types. Tech support said for digital.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,

Last edited by LARMGUY; 12-30-2018 at 04:49 PM.
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 04:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

24 Volts, what is the VA
A normal doorbell transformer is 16V, 10 VA.
Replacing it with a 16V, 30 VA is usually required to run the chime and camera.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 3DDesign For This Useful Post:
Bird dog (12-30-2018)
Old 12-30-2018, 05:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Without the Diode, a Westminster Chime would play one or two notes, not five or seven. A missing Diode would not cause it to play constantly. That is, of course, in the original setup.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 05:16 PM   #12
Conservitum Americum
 
LARMGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 8,093
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
24 Volts, what is the VA
A normal doorbell transformer is 16V, 10 VA.
Replacing it with a 16V, 30 VA is usually required to run the chime and camera.
It's a 20 VA. I'll get a 30 tomorrow.
__________________
Cowboy words of wisdom.
There are three types of men, those that learn by readin, those that learn by watchin, and those that have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.

,

Last edited by LARMGUY; 12-30-2018 at 06:22 PM.
LARMGUY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 12:05 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 619
Rewards Points: 1,203
Default

Make a small diode rectifier to drive the coil if you want to do the relay
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 02:06 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,975
Rewards Points: 26,196
Default

This is not a DIY site.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical work at Tesla facility WPNortheast General Electrical Discussion 43 10-20-2018 01:11 PM
Research [email protected] General Electrical Discussion 126 09-30-2018 03:48 PM
I need a scope with a smaller camera head NDC Tools, Equipment and New Products 18 10-11-2016 11:05 PM
Getting my first car, advice to keep it clean when used for work commute ? David C Tools, Equipment and New Products 27 01-24-2016 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com