no conduit or j-box - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 1 Post By wildleg
  • 1 Post By Navyguy
  • 2 Post By splatz
  • 1 Post By tmessner
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2018, 11:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default no conduit or j-box

How do you run conduit and wire to a device that has 3 wires hanging out of a small hole with no provision for adding a box or conduit? This is a bin level switch mounted on the side of a grain bin. It has a micro switch buried in with 3 wires hanging out in the air,
Here is link to what we found today on a bin.
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-29-2018, 11:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,184
Rewards Points: 134
Default

Contact the company. Looks like there was no consultation with an electrical engineer.
http://levalert.com/



You might put heat shrink tube on the wires & run it into the bottom of a box.
splatz likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu

Last edited by Bird dog; 10-30-2018 at 12:06 AM.
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 12:02 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,652
Rewards Points: 7,243
Default

If all else fails, read the instructions.
wildleg likes this.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2018, 01:02 AM   #4
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

what are you hooking it up to ? class 2 or contacts from a power limited system and you are good to go with pretty much anything I would think. I like the mechanical indicator. wonder how long this crap lasts before it is useless junk.
splatz likes this.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 07:55 AM   #5
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,673
Rewards Points: 4,744
Default

I agree, no engineer involved in the design of this product. They say their switch is UL listed but I am sure it's just UL listed as an OEM part, I doubt the Levalert is listed.

The switch doesn't look like it's outdoor rated, I'd apply some silicone and hope for the best.

So like @wildleg says, even though the switch component might be rated for 120V, I wouldn't go there, I'd get a Class 2 power supply and a relay suitable for whatever you want to switch. The Class 2 rules are fast and loose but you'll still want it to work...

I'd use a piece of the marine heat shrink around the wires, mount a box next to the device, arrange the wire in a drip loop, and come into the bottom of the box with a cord grip.

It's just one step past homemade but a lot of these things are surprisingly trouble free.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler

Last edited by splatz; 10-30-2018 at 08:06 AM.
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 08:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joebanana View Post
If all else fails, read the instructions.
What instructions?
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 08:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg View Post
what are you hooking it up to ? class 2 or contacts from a power limited system and you are good to go with pretty much anything I would think. I like the mechanical indicator. wonder how long this crap lasts before it is useless junk.
the farmers like the mechanical part. They seem to last many years. The electrical part is just a standard micro switch. As long as it is used in its rating it will last forever.
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 08:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg View Post
what are you hooking it up to ? class 2 or contacts from a power limited system and you are good to go with pretty much anything I would think. I like the mechanical indicator. wonder how long this crap lasts before it is useless junk.
We tie into a 120 volt control circuit , usually with a 5 amp control circuit breaker.
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 08:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,652
Rewards Points: 7,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmessner View Post
What instructions?
Their promo vid. mentioned their web site for more videos on installation procedures. Or you could write them.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 09:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Welland, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 4,712
Default

I think I would be using 12 or 24 volts, not 120 volts. If you wanted to enclose the entire thing in a window box or something, then I might consider 120 volts.

https://hoffman.nvent.com/en/hoffman/CHJ1412HWPL2LG

Cheers
John
splatz likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Navyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 10:04 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default

Thanks for the ideas. This is a small example of what we run into in rural areas. Somebody has a great idea. and farmers love it and nobody checks with the guy that gets to hook it up. Just for giggles, we found out it was installed about 6" to low in the bin also.
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 10:11 AM   #12
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,936
Rewards Points: 4,708
Default

I'm glad I haven't seen one of those yet.

We're getting ready to do a new corn dryer facility with several bins. I hope they're providing regular bindicators for bin level and not these turds.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 01:20 PM   #13
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,673
Rewards Points: 4,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navyguy View Post
I think I would be using 12 or 24 volts, not 120 volts. If you wanted to enclose the entire thing in a window box or something, then I might consider 120 volts.

https://hoffman.nvent.com/en/hoffman/CHJ1412HWPL2LG

Cheers
John
Putting the whole thing in an enclosure with a clear cover would make a nice install but I think that might make it hard to read from the ground.
Navyguy and tmessner like this.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 04:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rural mn
Posts: 387
Rewards Points: 782
Default

These things might 50' or from the ground so an enclosure will render them unable to be seen from ground level, especially as dirt and dust builds up on the window.
splatz likes this.
tmessner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 04:37 PM   #15
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 27,268
Rewards Points: 16,895
Default

When I get a couple of wires poked out thru a bushed hole in something (usually an ac compressor of some sort or a VAV box, I knock out the center ko in a 4 square box and mount that directly over the wiring poking out without bothering to add any further bushing or box connectors or the like. By the time the inspector shows up the blank cover is on the box anyway.
__________________
Just days before China unveiled a nuclear weapon that can "strike the US within 30 minutes with ten warheads" as part of a giant military parade, US Major General Lori Reynolds announced she's declaring "diversity" is a "warfighting necessity" which will help America defeat the more homogeneous nations of China and Russia.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspending security camera from conduit ElectMe NEC Code Forum 8 02-19-2017 05:20 PM
PV conduit inside exterior wall permitted? katwalatapan Alternative Energy Forum 11 12-05-2016 01:09 PM
Conduit fill for water feature fountain Sprink General Electrical Discussion 3 04-27-2016 08:03 PM
Getting the most from an existing U/G conduit Gaussios Residential Electrical Forum 16 04-25-2016 11:11 PM
locating conduit or LV cable behind wall or missing conduit end? lortech Structured Wiring 3 01-18-2016 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com