No power needed?? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 1 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 1 Post By samgregger
  • 4 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 1 Post By micromind
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2018, 12:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 16
Default No power needed??

So Iíve not run across this yet. Friend says these lamps have a soft glow when (standard toggle) switch is turned off...can only see at night. Original 1970ís wiring. Any thoughts?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jerjwillelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2018, 12:17 PM   #2
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

There are some previous threads about this here on ET
with regard to LED's doing this. I have not seen this
yet on any of my jobs or personal use of LED's.

I believe the consensus is lack of quality in a
particular brand allowing some stray voltage
passing thru the neutral may be the culprit
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 12:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,533
Rewards Points: 7,005
Default

Check for leakage current through the switch. Cheap switches, and heavy loads can cause contact vaporization inside the switch, which can cause leakage.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2018, 01:17 PM   #4
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,624
Rewards Points: 11,613
Default

I had this happen. Problem went away. No explanation.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 01:31 PM   #5
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,261
Rewards Points: 938
Default

I agree with Joe, install a better switch.

Could also be a pilot light on a device in that circuit.
active1 likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop

Last edited by MechanicalDVR; 02-18-2018 at 01:37 PM.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 02:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 1,181
Default

Current leakage through switch or enough power inducted from a parallel wire on another circuit
MechanicalDVR likes this.
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 02:16 PM   #7
electrorick
 
RICK BOYD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: st. Joe, Missouri
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 221
Default

if the neutral is sw then you get capacitive inductance
some times led blinks with sw off
__________________
I know you understand
what you thought I said
but what you heard
is not what I meant
RICK BOYD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 04:55 PM   #8
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,515
Rewards Points: 2,640
Default

One of my friends had LEDs that would glow dimly with the switch off. After extensive testing, all circuits were ok so I suspected capacitive coupling.

It was a single pole switch and passed a 1000 VDC merger test, as did the switched leg up to the lights.

My solution was to install a 3 way switch. I connected the hot to one of the travelers, grounded the other and connected the light to the common.

It worked. No glow at all with the switch off.

Yes it seems wrong to ground a switch terminal but there's no possible way the 2 travelers can be connected to each other.

Wonder if this would be a code violation.......
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 06:00 PM   #9
Modťrateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
One of my friends had LEDs that would glow dimly with the switch off. After extensive testing, all circuits were ok so I suspected capacitive coupling.

It was a single pole switch and passed a 1000 VDC merger test, as did the switched leg up to the lights.

My solution was to install a 3 way switch. I connected the hot to one of the travelers, grounded the other and connected the light to the common.

It worked. No glow at all with the switch off.

Yes it seems wrong to ground a switch terminal but there's no possible way the 2 travelers can be connected to each other.

Wonder if this would be a code violation.......

That is one good way to slove the induction voltage on dammed leds .,

However if someone try to replace the three way switch and not pay attetion to the connection can really ruin the day.

but it possible a code violation but the set up you did I dont think it a issue until some baka handyperson see it and they will get brain freeze on that.
micromind likes this.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 07:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
DashDingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Happens at my own house. I have LED disk lights in the hallway, when the switch is off for the hallway lights and the bedroom lights get turned on the LED disks in the hallway will burn a little dim.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DashDingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 09:24 PM   #11
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,515
Rewards Points: 2,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DashDingo View Post
Happens at my own house. I have LED disk lights in the hallway, when the switch is off for the hallway lights and the bedroom lights get turned on the LED disks in the hallway will burn a little dim.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Capacitive coupling with nearby hots. The more current, the more capacitance.
active1 likes this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:38 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Maybe the nuetral is being switched instead of the hot.
numbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:50 AM   #13
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,261
Rewards Points: 938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by numbers View Post
Maybe the nuetral is being switched instead of the hot.
Doubt that would make a dim glow.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Power Company Lythropus Services and Service Equipment 6 08-26-2017 03:36 AM
Clean / Dirty Power with Furnace byezb General Electrical Discussion 38 03-26-2017 09:24 PM
Power Surge on One Leg with high amp appliances crum2243 General Electrical Discussion 1 09-20-2016 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com