for pad mounted transformer secondary side, pulling wire no ground wire required? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By Switched
  • 4 Post By Cow
  • 1 Post By Big John
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2017, 09:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 540
Default for pad mounted transformer secondary side, pulling wire no ground wire required?

anybody has this kind of experience about the pad mounted transformer:

here is the situation, this pad mounted transformer is in the street, its primary side is from the hydro, around 25,000V, and secondary side is going to a building's main switch gear,

the question is when we pull the wire for the switch gear, do we need to pull the ground wire for that?
or just three phase plus neutral? I mean no ground wire required, the neutral is the ground wire as well in this situation?
Attached Thumbnails
for pad mounted transformer secondary side, pulling wire no ground wire required?-4624935949_5d81aacfbe_b.jpg   for pad mounted transformer secondary side, pulling wire no ground wire required?-maxresdefault.jpg  
mike883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2017, 09:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,770
Rewards Points: 10,268
Default

You guys pull your own wiring from the utility owned transformer?

I can't say as to Canada, but we would not pull a ground from a utility transformer to the gear, just the hots & neutral. Your grounding begins at the gear and downstream of it.
lighterup and telsa like this.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 11:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
triden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 382
Default

Why are you pulling it? Typically it's the contractors responsibility to install the conduit from the transformer to the gear where Hydro will then pull the conductors. No ground typically needed as grounding is established at your service entrance.

If this were a customer owned service with a unit sub, that would be different.
triden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2017, 11:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dash Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 707
Rewards Points: 318
Default

No ground


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dash Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 12:04 AM   #5
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,131
Rewards Points: 5,098
Default

We work with a few different power companies. One of them has us pull to the padmounts.

And no, you do not need a ground wire. There are no ground wires until your main disconnect. Down here in the US, everything is bonded with the "grounded" conductor up to the service disconnect. After that you have an equipment grounding conductor.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 02:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,175
Rewards Points: 9,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike883 View Post
anybody has this kind of experience about the pad mounted transformer:

here is the situation, this pad mounted transformer is in the street, its primary side is from the hydro, around 25,000V, and secondary side is going to a building's main switch gear,

the question is when we pull the wire for the switch gear, do we need to pull the ground wire for that?
or just three phase plus neutral? I mean no ground wire required, the neutral is the ground wire as well in this situation?
I asked that question and the cable splicer told me that I could install a ground wire if I was required to but, they have no place to connect it.
Southeast Power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:15 AM   #7
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 60,728
Rewards Points: 23,880
Default

Ground your own equipment not the utilities.
__________________
Warning:

I've been known to make snowflakes whine!
Posts may contain sarcasm and guttural humor!
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:36 AM   #8
Donuts > Fried Eggs
 
Big John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 17,054
Rewards Points: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suncoast Power View Post
I asked that question and the cable splicer told me that I could install a ground wire if I was required to but, they have no place to connect it.
Yep, there's a big padeye on XO and a bonding strap to a single frame ground bolt.

You can run an EGC all you want, but at the end of the day when they bond it at the transformer and then you rebond it at the service all you've done is create a poorer parallel neutral path.
Southeast Power likes this.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Always wear your gloves.
Big John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 09:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triden View Post
Why are you pulling it? Typically it's the contractors responsibility to install the conduit from the transformer to the gear where Hydro will then pull the conductors. No ground typically needed as grounding is established at your service entrance.

If this were a customer owned service with a unit sub, that would be different.
Hydro pulls the secondary conductors? Not on any that I've done..

Any padmount transformers I can remember prepping for, we installed the ground grid, rods around it, tails into the transformer, 4" PVC with long radius 90's to the location determined by the utility and all the secondary conductors. When it came to terminating, we did all the secondary terminations and since the last 20ish years have been industrial, it has all been teck, and the cable grounds have been terminated. If I remember the specs right from my time on the engineering side, there was always a ground conductor called for in the underground PVC.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 01:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
triden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
Hydro pulls the secondary conductors? Not on any that I've done..

Any padmount transformers I can remember prepping for, we installed the ground grid, rods around it, tails into the transformer, 4" PVC with long radius 90's to the location determined by the utility and all the secondary conductors. When it came to terminating, we did all the secondary terminations and since the last 20ish years have been industrial, it has all been teck, and the cable grounds have been terminated. If I remember the specs right from my time on the engineering side, there was always a ground conductor called for in the underground PVC.
Hydro here pulls them all the time. That's why their service entrance spacing requirements are crazy - 20" of width in a switchgear/mcc section to pull and terminate the secondaries. Guess every province is different...good to know. Hydro here also installs and supplies the triplex/quad for overhead services. Does Transalta do the same?
triden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transformer neutral bond sizing (paralleled secondary) haltonelectrician Canadian Electrical Forum 27 06-19-2016 06:21 PM
overcurrent protection on secondary side of transformer Steve W General Electrical Discussion 3 01-06-2016 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com