Paddle fan wall switching - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2016, 08:30 PM   #1
neutral member
 
readydave8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Clarkesville, Georgia
Posts: 1,690
Rewards Points: 314
Default Paddle fan wall switching

Sometimes we put 2/gang and switch motor and light separate.

Some times we have hot for motor and switched hot for light, wall switch only works light and fan works whether light is on or off.

This was very difficult to explain to a builder today, she asked me to change it so that the wall switch controls the entire unit. (Which I don't like because if someone is running fan only and shuts it off with wall switch, I go into a dark room, turn on switch, and fan starts turning but light does not come on).

Well of course I made the change, but is my switching method really that bizarre?
__________________
Dave Ruth
readydave8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2016, 08:35 PM   #2
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 60,843
Rewards Points: 24,110
Default

Always use a switch for fan control and separate switch for light. Seems one switch for both is less than par.
lighterup likes this.
__________________
Warning:

I've been known to make snowflakes whine!
Posts may contain sarcasm and guttural humor!
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MechanicalDVR For This Useful Post:
John Valdes (06-08-2016), readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-07-2016, 08:39 PM   #3
Gouging Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,754
Rewards Points: 791
Default

This is a very odd thing because it depends on the user. You can use the pull chain for the fan, no need to go over to the switch. Also, if the fan has a remote, then having two switches won't work.

I generally have a switch for the light and run constant hot for the fan, this allows them to use the pull chain for the fan or the remote if it came with one.
readydave8 likes this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2016, 08:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
drewsserviceco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Philly suburbs
Posts: 957
Rewards Points: 2
Default

My personal preference is two switches. Not that I can always get the customer to agree to that, I still pull a 3wire. Also, with the remotes becoming more commonplace, they kind of render the two switches useless. If I had roughed in for two switches and the fan ends up having a remote I just use the switch closest to the door and cap everything else off.
drewsserviceco is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to drewsserviceco For This Useful Post:
HackWork (06-07-2016), John Valdes (06-08-2016), readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 07:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,151
Rewards Points: 1,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
This is a very odd thing because it depends on the user. You can use the pull chain for the fan, no need to go over to the switch. Also, if the fan has a remote, then having two switches won't work.

I generally have a switch for the light and run constant hot for the fan, this allows them to use the pull chain for the fan or the remote if it came with one.
Thats how we normally do it. 3 wire to the box, hit the switched to the light and feed the fan hot all the time.
readydave8 likes this.
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Going_Commando For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 08:18 AM   #6
Gouging Profiteer
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 38,754
Rewards Points: 791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Going_Commando View Post
Thats how we normally do it. 3 wire to the box, hit the switched to the light and feed the fan hot all the time.
Even that isn't the right solution because when they have a remote the light buttons on the remove won't work.

That's why I say fan wiring is odd and depends on the situation.
Switched, Flyingsod and Majewski like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 08:24 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,606
Rewards Points: 3,614
Default

I do the hot for fan switched for light all the time. Then if they don't like it I sell them a dual control.
I like the first method mainly because 9 out of 10 people leave the fan on medium all the time. The other reason is then you don't have to worry about fan hum.
Most of the time I talk them into can lights and a fan only. I have yet to see a decent looking fan/light.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sbrn33 For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 08:35 AM   #8
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,438
Rewards Points: 10,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Always use a switch for fan control and separate switch for light. Seems one switch for both is less than par.
I would tell builder that NFPA 70 requires habitable rooms to have a wall switched light and that her request is a violation.

As a side bar note , I advise you to not allow a resi builder dictate your
installation techniques.

Down the road , the scenario you articulated about not being able to
control the light in the dark is a trivial law suit waiting to happen..
well the electrician ..blah blah blah and then because I couldn't see , I
fell and injured myself..blah blah ..

The builder is not going to open her mouth..she'll be referring the
lawyers to address how you wired it.
MechanicalDVR and Majewski like this.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lighterup For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 10:02 AM   #9
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewsserviceco View Post
My personal preference is two switches. Not that I can always get the customer to agree to that, I still pull a 3wire. Also, with the remotes becoming more commonplace, they kind of render the two switches useless. If I had roughed in for two switches and the fan ends up having a remote I just use the switch closest to the door and cap everything else off.
Ditto. Every time you bank on a no remote, it has a remote. Funny how that goes.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:06 AM   #10
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,438
Rewards Points: 10,200
Default

With regard to motors shring the light on the same switch , I cannot
tell you how many times I have seen the motor burn out cause
happy homeowner went to home depot , bought a light dimmer and
installed it on that shared switch , thus eventually burned out the
motor with an incandescent light dimmer.
Majewski likes this.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lighterup For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 10:21 AM   #11
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
With regard to motors shring the light on the same switch , I cannot
tell you how many times I have seen the motor burn out cause
happy homeowner went to home depot , bought a light dimmer and
installed it on that shared switch , thus eventually burned out the
motor with an incandescent light dimmer.
Service call! lol
lighterup likes this.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 11:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

They make a switch with a dinner and 3 position slide for a fan on one yoke
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TRurak For This Useful Post:
macmikeman (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 11:26 AM   #13
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRurak View Post
They make a switch with a dinner and 3 position slide for a fan on one yoke
If I had a dinner switch I would never stop flipping it!
Flyingsod likes this.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 11:43 AM   #14
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 16,166
Rewards Points: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Always use a switch for fan control and separate switch for light. Seems one switch for both is less than par.
That's how I do it in my house and would pull a three conductor cable on a job regardless of how they want it to operate.
I like the ability to remove the pull chain if they want to.
2 switches. One for lights and one for fan.
readydave8 and Bird dog like this.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to John Valdes For This Useful Post:
readydave8 (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 11:45 AM   #15
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 29,577
Rewards Points: 21,531
Default

Lutron or Hampton bay dual slide control wall switch. IF somebody insists on thee way light control , AND they live thru my speech about using your God given legs to walk across a room and not be a lazy asshole, then I will use a two gang box and separately three way or three way dim the light, and put in a fan only wall control in the space next to it.
readydave8 and Majewski like this.
__________________
I stand with Tucker Carlson
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 354
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Put receiver in canopy, and give them all the remotes the want.
FF301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:01 PM   #17
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 16,166
Rewards Points: 1,028
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FF301 View Post
Put receiver in canopy, and give them all the remotes the want.
I hate trying to fit the damn receiver module into the canopy and sometimes its almost impossible.
Unless they are designing much smaller receivers, I don't every see myself using one again.
Sparkchaser1 likes this.
John Valdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 12:09 PM   #18
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 29,577
Rewards Points: 21,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Valdes View Post
I hate trying to fit the damn receiver module into the canopy and sometimes its almost impossible.
Unless they are designing much smaller receivers, I don't every see myself using one again.
I'm guessing you haven't done one in a while huh? They have grown a bit smaller and easier. And.... some fans are now shipping with a bigger cradle also.

A lot of fans lately I hang have remotes but up at the fan the receiver is built in. I like to hang those, but I don't recommend them because once you loose the remote you are up the creek and no paddle.

Does all this make me a fantrician?
John Valdes and Majewski like this.
__________________
I stand with Tucker Carlson
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 02:01 PM   #19
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Mike you're like a super duper fantrician now.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 05:56 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 795
Rewards Points: 386
Default

I like the separate wiring so that you can put a fan control and light control on the wall, i'm forever losing the remote. One of our suppliers should pick up on this issue and come up with a remote that accepts both hots independently somehow, It'd be a money maker at supply houses, though not really at box stores
Majewski likes this.
Anathera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install a new outlets on prexisting wall VanillaSnake21 General Electrical Discussion 2 04-24-2016 07:24 AM
Hanging heavy lights on a furred wall. Year_Zero General Electrical Discussion 16 02-25-2016 06:38 PM
Wall anchor Mptoth380 General Electrical Discussion 16 02-25-2016 02:29 PM
Boxes part way in block wall psd7.3 Commercial Electrical Forum 28 02-06-2016 11:54 PM
locating conduit or LV cable behind wall or missing conduit end? lortech Structured Wiring 3 01-18-2016 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com