Pool power - 110 or 220? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2015, 09:53 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: New Hope, PA
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Pool power - 110 or 220?

Hello all,

I'm seeking an answer to an electrical question and trying to determine if I indeed need an electrician for the job? I'm in the New Hope, PA area.

My pool filter timer died and I can't figure out if the timer is 110 or 220. The filter says 110 to 230 and there are two brakers dedicated to the pool within the breaker box. They are connected with one switch that has the number 20 on it. Anyone know if this is 110 or 220?

Any New Hope , PA electricians out there?
the breaker looks like this with a 20 on the switch.
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pro...b1880e_400.jpg


Thanks!
badspell68 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2015, 09:57 AM   #2
Conduit Extraordinare
 
mdfriday's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago Suburbia
Posts: 2,360
Rewards Points: 1,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badspell68 View Post
Hello all,

I'm seeking an answer to an electrical question and trying to determine if I indeed need an electrician for the job? I'm in the New Hope, PA area.

My pool filter timer died and I can't figure out if the timer is 110 or 220. The filter says 110 to 230 and there are two brakers dedicated to the pool within the breaker box. They are connected with one switch that has the number 20 on it. Anyone know if this is 110 or 220?

Any New Hope , PA electricians out there?
the breaker looks like this with a 20 on the switch.
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pro...b1880e_400.jpg


Thanks!
Does anyone other than you swim in the pool, if so, call an electrical contractor.
mdfriday is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 09:58 AM   #3
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Neither, 110 and 220 volts hasn't been used in the US for over 70 years.
meadow is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
MXer774 (06-25-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2015, 10:01 AM   #4
Electrical Simpleton
 
Pete m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,350
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Please do contact an electrical contractor in your area for your safety and those that would use the pool.

Pete



Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________
"The difference between a conviction and a prejudice is that you can explain a conviction without getting angry."
Pete m. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 pole 220 to 1 pole 110 jongray General Electrical Discussion 3 06-25-2013 01:24 PM
Converter 220 to 110 V, 1260 watts inilanda General Electrical Discussion 1 02-18-2012 08:45 PM
Oven 220/110 question/comment xXxRuinationxXx General Electrical Discussion 25 05-26-2011 06:54 AM
220 volt pool motors w/o GFI protection Shockdoc Residential Electrical Forum 15 09-14-2010 11:35 PM
overvoltage 220 down 110 line Zooferman Residential Electrical Forum 5 02-25-2010 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com