Pool Pump GFCI Protection - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2015, 03:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 193
Question Pool Pump GFCI Protection

I attempted to install GFCI protection on a Hayward pool pump the other day using a Cutler Hammer BR GFCI breaker. The pump is computer controlled and would go through the pre-startup sequence with no problem. However, as soon as the pump itself tried to start, the GFCI breaker would trip with a ground fault. After consulting with Hayward, I discovered that they require that a Siemens GFCI breaker be used to provide ground fault protection, but they could not or would not say why. The pump works fine with a Siemens QF220 GFCI breaker.

Can anyone shed some light on why a Siemens breaker works and a Cutler Hammer breaker does not when both at ID'd to trip with a 5 ma fault?
czars is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 04:01 PM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,409
Rewards Points: 1,762
Default

I cannot think of a reason why one would work and not the other. What would you do if you had installed a sq.d panel or a ch cutler hammer panel?
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 07:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 193
Wink

One would likely have to do what I did - install a small Siemens sub panel with a Siemens GFCI breaker.
czars is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 07:12 PM   #4
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

I'm at a loss Czar, can't imagine one manufacturer insisting on some other manufacturer's exclusive OCPD here......~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 354
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Use a circuit breaker disconnect with a GFCI breaker it's a lot cheaper then an entire panel change / add
FF301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 193
Default

Looks to me like there is some difference in the operation of the different GFCI breakers such as a delay in the starting of the GFCI operation or something else that the manufacturers of the breakers and Hayward pumps won't admit to.
czars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 193
Default

FF301 - Good idea. Can you ID one compatible with Siemens breakers?
czars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 05:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 354
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Siemens W0408L125SPA60
125 amp rated. 4 spaces, includes 60 amp 2 pole gfi brkr
just install the size brkr you need. (return 60/2 brkr to HD for a credit)

it's advertised as a spa disconnect but you can use it for whatever.
FF301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:55 AM   #9
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 27,910
Rewards Points: 18,183
Default

I have had a spa manufacture attempt this with me before. After much resistive hoopla, and they insisted a Siemens gfi breaker had to be installed, I had an alternate idea, which was to suggest to them that the customer and myself would be bringing out the chief inspector for the jurisdiction to make an inspection call. They re-sent the mechanic immediately who this time changed out the crappy faulting heating element and no further problems, using the square-d breaker originally installed. All fine afterwards, and their spa equipment is still allowed to be sold in these here parts. win, win.
__________________
JOBS GROWTH SOARS
RECORD WORKING
UNEMPLOYMENT 50-YEAR LOW
Drudge Report
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool pump GFCI cord. 6 shooter General Electrical Discussion 17 06-04-2014 11:30 PM
Pool Pump Short or GFCI trip? Cletis General Electrical Discussion 40 08-09-2011 01:24 PM
No GFCI protection, non-dwelling sump pump? Chris Kennedy NEC Code Forum 5 07-08-2011 07:51 PM
pool; filter pump not working gfci breaker will not reset Pro Home Improvement Residential Electrical Forum 7 03-17-2011 11:27 PM
gfci protecting pool pump motor rebel34 NEC Code Forum 7 03-28-2008 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com