Portable generator hookup to panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree12Likes
  • 2 Post By HackWork
  • 2 Post By 460 Delta
  • 2 Post By Nutmegger777
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 1 Post By Max C.
  • 4 Post By frenchelectrican
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2018, 06:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Portable generator hookup to panel

I installed an interlock switch on my panel for my generator and when I went to try turning on some breakers using only generator power, only a couple breakers worked.

The generator is 7200 running watts and I was only turning on one breaker at a time to test each one.

I have a 10/3 240v extension cord running from generator to house inlet (L1430) and 10/4 from inlet to 40a breaker in panel.

Any help as to why I'm getting no power to some breakers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jmh1111 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2018, 06:27 PM   #2
tjb
Cool Kid
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 618
Rewards Points: 363
Default

Have and electrician put his meter across both poles of the breaker, and go from there.
tjb is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 06:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 35,321
Rewards Points: 1,829
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmh1111 View Post
I installed an interlock switch on my panel for my generator and when I went to try turning on some breakers using only generator power, only a couple breakers worked.

The generator is 7200 running watts and I was only turning on one breaker at a time to test each one.

I have a 10/3 240v extension cord running from generator to house inlet (L1430) and 10/4 from inlet to 40a breaker in panel.

Any help as to why I'm getting no power to some breakers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
You did it wrong. And since A) you did it wrong and B) you don't know what you did wrong, you proved that you should not have done it in the first place.

Call an electrician, this is NOT a DIY thing. Electrical installations are not trial and error. You are risking other people's lives.
tmessner and Max C. like this.
HackWork is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Max C. (10-27-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2018, 06:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 937
Rewards Points: 1,222
Default

You likely are only heating up one half of the panel, every other one. Please call a pro in before you or your family or a lineman get hurt.
tmessner and Max C. like this.
__________________
Perfection is the enemy of good enough
460 Delta is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 07:42 PM   #5
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,437
Rewards Points: 10,198
Default

I just had a call yesterday.

HO asked if I could give free estimate to install "Transfer Switch"..
not generator...he wanted to do that himself....

Once I heard that , I knew i was not gonna get up off my chair , but
I humored the call.

He went about he just bought the house , wants TS (and "remote outlet")
installed...he would go to store for a generator...

Said he wanted his geo thermal heating , heat pump , electric Hot water
tanks etc....to be ready for winter back up power

Yeah conversation went no place in a hurry either. He did not want to
hear it.

I wonder?

Last edited by lighterup; 10-27-2018 at 07:47 PM.
lighterup is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 07:54 PM   #6
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,334
Rewards Points: 372
Default

Sure...
nrp3 is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Nutmegger777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 220
Rewards Points: 398
Default

ibtl
electricguy and Max C. like this.
Nutmegger777 is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 10:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,764
Rewards Points: 7,473
Default

Is it a 3 phase generator? How many phases is your panel? Does that 10/3, 240 volt extension cord have a ground? Where are you located? Is this Canadian wiring?
Max C. likes this.
joebanana is online now  
Old 10-27-2018, 10:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: British Columbia, Canada.
Posts: 314
Rewards Points: 636
Default

YouTube always has all the answers...

Nutmegger777 likes this.
Max C. is offline  
Old 10-27-2018, 11:10 PM   #10
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,672
Rewards Points: 21,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmh1111 View Post
I installed an interlock switch on my panel for my generator and when I went to try turning on some breakers using only generator power, only a couple breakers worked.

The generator is 7200 running watts and I was only turning on one breaker at a time to test each one.

I have a 10/3 240v extension cord running from generator to house inlet (L1430) and 10/4 from inlet to 40a breaker in panel.

Any help as to why I'm getting no power to some breakers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Just STOP right there and just get a electrician to come out and they can fix the system before you destory something along the way.

I can see few things are allready wrong so I just refered to let the electrician see it themself and they can fix this mess.,,


I am closing this thread and ., no I am not going to pôst the DIY link at all .,
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Max C. (10-29-2018)
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low voltage security panel mounting gpop Other Codes and Standards 5 10-17-2018 04:23 PM
New Main Panel in Residence dalizardking427 Residential Electrical Forum 6 09-15-2018 09:51 AM
Need advice for mouting a pony panel NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 10 04-05-2018 03:52 PM
Double panel design question. JohnJ65 Services and Service Equipment 23 07-07-2017 09:19 PM
Main panel, subpanel, detatched structure, objectionable current and 3-phase cdw904 Residential Electrical Forum 4 05-10-2017 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com