Proper AMPs? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2015, 07:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default Proper AMPs?

Looking to acquire a building that has 3 phase 400amp service running to it, I am looking to run wood milling equipment, big motors, 220kw per hour of use.

I am NOT an electrician, but will the current service be able to handle the kw i need?

stallafloat
stillafloat is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2015, 07:55 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
amishman Elec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Your local Electrician will happy to help you out with that.
amishman Elec is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 08:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,939
Rewards Points: 1,512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stillafloat View Post
Looking to acquire a building that has 3 phase 400amp service running to it, I am looking to run wood milling equipment, big motors, 220kw per hour of use.

I am NOT an electrician, but will the current service be able to handle the kw i need?

stallafloat
Just how are we to know this ?
You have not told us anything !


P.S.
Three phase at 400A is very dangerous !
Leave it to the electricians please ?
We can help you to understand more
But
You need to tell us more, much more !
dmxtothemax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2015, 08:07 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Just how are we to know this ?
You have not told us anything !


P.S.
Three phase at 400A is very dangerous !
Leave it to the electricians please ?
We can help you to understand more
But
You need to tell us more, much more !
I wont touch it trust me!! not worth dying for..

There are several pieces of equipment that would be running that would total the 220kw

will motor sizes help? again i am NOT trying to do this myself just trying to get an idea of my power requirements.. I will post whatever info about the motors you need.. again sorry if i sound stupid
stillafloat is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 08:09 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/



We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best and proper way to... Aegis General Electrical Discussion 11 12-16-2014 11:37 PM
Proper Pricing Jumbo23 General Electrical Discussion 6 02-10-2014 06:38 PM
Proper application Gamit General Electrical Discussion 16 09-21-2013 09:12 PM
Calculations from 240 3P/26 amps to 120 volts/ amps? [email protected] General Electrical Discussion 5 03-08-2011 02:03 AM
Proper Breakers wilston Services and Service Equipment 4 05-08-2008 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com