Is putting a 20A receptacle on a 15A circuit a violation? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree55Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2017, 07:09 PM   #21
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,734
Rewards Points: 846
Default

I'm curious if I can put 12 50A receptacles on one 40A circuit... or would I have to bump it up to a 50A breaker ?

I don't really see a problem with it, but wanted to put it out there
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2017, 07:10 PM   #22
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,282
Rewards Points: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
I'm curious if I can put 12 50A receptacles on one 40A circuit... or would I have to bump it up to a 50A breaker ?

I don't really see a problem with it, but wanted to put it out there
Cletis you hacked an account?
emtnut likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 07:11 PM   #23
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,282
Rewards Points: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Come on now, would I do anything that isn't code compliant???
Sure you would!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2017, 09:08 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: BC , Canada
Posts: 389
Rewards Points: 780
Default

"They"...the powers in charge of electrical smoke ; keep saying how the "code " is a minimum standard ...so does that mean whatever "flights of fancy " take your mind ; I read that at school !...you can convince yourself to feel confident that it's way above that minimum standard ?
Some days when I look at troubleshooting how someone wired a Marina ....I'm convinced they do !
scotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 09:49 PM   #25
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,517
Rewards Points: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Is it within code to do so?
Table 210.21(B)(3) specifically allows either a 40 or a 50 amp circuit to supply a 50 amp receptacle.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 09:52 PM   #26
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,282
Rewards Points: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Table 210.21(B)(3) specifically allows either a 40 or a 50 amp circuit to supply a 50 amp receptacle.
Just for stoves?
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:09 AM   #27
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,517
Rewards Points: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Just for stoves?
It doesn't specify the type of load so it's apply to any load.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:11 AM   #28
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,179
Rewards Points: 1,527
Default

I told you I would never, ever break the code.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:22 AM   #29
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,570
Rewards Points: 8,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I told you I would never, ever break the code.
I go above and beyond the code because it's better and safer.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:29 AM   #30
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,179
Rewards Points: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
I go above and beyond the code because it's better and safer.
Yeah, that's why I put outside disconnects on all services, because it's 100% safer.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 01:33 AM   #31
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,282
Rewards Points: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Yeah, that's why I put outside disconnects on all services, because it's 100% safer.
Haven't seen that guy in a while.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 02:24 AM   #32
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,947
Rewards Points: 16,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Yeah, that's why I put outside disconnects on all services, because it's 100% easier.


Fify. Not kidding.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 09:12 AM   #33
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,179
Rewards Points: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Fify. Not kidding.
Silly boy. Installing another large piece of equipment that needs large cable termination, having to bring the GEC outside, having to run 4 wire SER inside, having to separate the grounds and neutrals, etc. is far from easier.
MechanicalDVR likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 09:19 AM   #34
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,282
Rewards Points: 980
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Silly boy. Installing another large piece of equipment that needs large cable termination, having to bring the GEC outside, having to run 4 wire SER inside, having to separate the grounds and neutrals, etc. is far from easier.
Practical thinking.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:03 AM   #35
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,642
Rewards Points: 11,649
Default

I had an unpackaged 20A GFCI in the van and wanted to get rid of it. I was just thinking bigger is better; never thought past it. Now I know .
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:11 AM   #36
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,734
Rewards Points: 846
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I had an unpackaged 20A GFCI in the van and wanted to get rid of it. I was just thinking bigger is better; never thought past it. Now I know .
Good to hear you put it back to a 15A

Someone could have plugged in a 2200VA UPS on their kitchen counter
Handy to make coffee and toast in a power outage
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:18 AM   #37
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,642
Rewards Points: 11,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtnut View Post
Good to hear you put it back to a 15A
Tomorrow morning it gets changed out. It stands between me and my money .
emtnut likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 10:28 AM   #38
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,179
Rewards Points: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Tomorrow morning it gets changed out. It stands between me and my money .
If your inspector even notices he is gayer than normal inspectors.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 11:13 AM   #39
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
If your inspector even notices he is gayer than normal inspectors.
He already noticed. That's what this thread is about. He happened to see it when he and 99 were cuddling about to watch The Notebook.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 11:20 AM   #40
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,642
Rewards Points: 11,649
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
He already noticed. That's what this thread is about. He happened to see it when he and 99 were cuddling about to watch The Notebook.
I wasn't even there. It was a note on the GREEN sticker.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vehicle charger receptacle circuit Paul S. General Electrical Discussion 14 05-25-2017 09:04 AM
CEC regulation on light and receptacle on same circuit katwalatapan Canadian Electrical Forum 13 10-19-2016 02:39 PM
New sump pump receptacle on an old circuit. Mugs Canadian Electrical Forum 14 07-30-2016 10:30 PM
Arc fault option Anathera General Electrical Discussion 175 07-08-2016 06:35 PM
Is this overkill? MTW NEC Code Forum 81 03-20-2016 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com