Question about Solenoids (Relay/Starter/Contactor) - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By Jhellwig
  • 1 Post By TRurak
  • 2 Post By B-Nabs
  • 3 Post By just the cowboy

Old 10-02-2016, 07:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 1,130
Default Question about Solenoids (Relay/Starter/Contactor)

The current required to cause a solenoid (or relay or starter or contactor) to close is ___ the current required to keep it closed.

Less, more, or the same?

I'm just starting to learn about relays and contactors. I understand the practicality and uses of them but don't really understand enough I guess to answer this question..

So a relay gets power and the NORMALLY OPEN contacts now close and the NORMALLY CLOSED contacts now open. So... I just don't understand the question.. Is this some sort of trick question or something, I just don't understand it haha.
JasonCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE