Replacing Old main service Disconnect - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2015, 02:08 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, Brooklyn
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Replacing Old main service Disconnect

HI Guys

I come from a Electrician trade school in NY with 1 year experience, right now looking for a job as a electrician helper.
I want to replace this old panel (It is right after the meter) but i am not sure the amperage of it , ..there is 100 amp Sub panel feedind from it, and to this 100 amp sub panel there is another 60 amp sub, none are grounded, no ground wire coming from main service disconnect.
I can provide some pics.
MY question is how many amps would be the new replacement ?
In the pic shows 3 X 100 amps and the wires are #2 copper.
Magic One is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2015, 02:46 AM   #2
Member
 
1.21gigawatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 62
Default

If you do not know how to size a residential load center on a replacement, you have no right to be doing the work imho.
1.21gigawatts is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 1.21gigawatts For This Useful Post:
Big Pickles (02-09-2015), mcclary's electrical (02-09-2015)
Old 02-09-2015, 07:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

With only one year of experience, you have no business trying to do what you propose without the direct supervision of a journeyman. You don't even know what you are doing. Wise up kid!
btharmy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2015, 08:40 AM   #4
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

You're gonna need a ct cabinet and huge service for that many panels.
mcclary's electrical is offline  
Old 02-09-2015, 08:57 AM   #5
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 27,954
Rewards Points: 18,271
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
You're gonna need a ct cabinet and huge service for that many panels.
I'm thinking more like one of the big green MDP's like you see outside of the Mcdonalds drive thru..... Or something like Piperunner posted pictures of. This panel replacement could keep the kid busy for years and years to come.
__________________
JOBS GROWTH SOARS
RECORD WORKING
UNEMPLOYMENT 50-YEAR LOW
Drudge Report
macmikeman is online now  
Old 02-09-2015, 09:01 AM   #6
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,439
Rewards Points: 604
Default

I'm all for helping guys get going in their careers, but I agree. At 1yr you have absolutely no place doing work like this alone.
For some reason, I know down there (LI/NYC) the second you begin in the electrical trade everyone you know thinks you are an electrician that can do work for them and save them tons of $$$.

Sorry but I am closing this. If this is for yourself in your own home that you own, go to www.diychatroom.com.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.”
Speedy Petey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Zinsco 30A QC Breaker, Main onilozay General Electrical Discussion 9 01-08-2015 10:20 PM
Main Disconnect EdTma NEC Code Forum 5 09-22-2012 12:08 PM
Main disconnect on roof Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 5 04-05-2012 05:07 PM
Main lug panel as multiple service disconnect khfiei General Electrical Discussion 7 03-28-2012 07:35 PM
Locks on Main Service Disconnect. pudge565 NEC Code Forum 2 07-30-2008 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com