Roughing in New Home - Page 4 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree76Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2016, 07:30 PM   #61
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

I'm not going to take down a light fixture to troubleshoot a finicky arc fault circuit.

I see wiring like that in houses built in the 60's. They used to feed the lights and then spider down to the receptacles. It made for a mess of splices in the ceiling. Makes no sense now (if it ever did) with arc faults and recessed lighting.
Majewski likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2016, 07:31 PM   #62
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

I keep as much separate as possible when given the opportunity!
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 07:48 PM   #63
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

The only code requirement we have here for a receptacle and lighting to be on the same circuit is for the smoke detector. I feed the smoky off the bathroom (no AFCI requirement for the bathroom receptacle).
Majewski likes this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2016, 08:10 PM   #64
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
As an example, when I wired houses I'd run the feed to a light, then a 3-wire to it's switch, then a 2-wire to the next light, etc... because when I did wire houses the contractor would supply only regular depth boxes and NO deep ones except for an electric stove or clothes dryer. Of course, back then a blue Carlon still cost about a quarter, but a roll of 14/2 was about 20-25 bucks.
Thanks Lawn Guy.
I started commercial and always worked with drawings so I usually try to lay out my circuitry and as built as I go.

Also switches now require a neutral NEC 404.2 (C) at the box so I can't have a California 3 way. This adds to the wire fill in a box that's going to get a dimmer.

I've only done a few custome homes and usually use shallow boxes but decided this time just to go big on all of them. After seeing the back of the switch (posted) I'm having second thoughts!

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:17 PM   #65
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

I carry a few of these around for deep boxes (or just end up using a 4X4 and a plaster ring, whatever's handy).
Attached Images
 
zac and Majewski like this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:24 PM   #66
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Zac if fill becomes a huge issue, you could try the wifi 3ways couldn't you? Not in the sp spots I suppose...
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:30 PM   #67
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I carry a few of these around for deep boxes (or just end up using a 4X4 and a plaster ring, whatever's handy).
I use something like this for my switches in 2 and 3 gang as well. I ran out and used the carlon box to finish out. I like the screw type for counter flush applications in remodel cut ins.

The carlon cut ins with the dimmer attached usually have a gap even with an oversized cover.


Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:32 PM   #68
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majewski View Post
Zac if fill becomes a huge issue, you could try the wifi 3ways couldn't you? Not in the sp spots I suppose...
I'm confused

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:33 PM   #69
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

I wish I could buy a box like that up here. Our plastic boxes have a metallic strap going from a device hole to a ground screw.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:37 PM   #70
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
I'm confused

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Don't worry, I'm drinking and will fade away soon enough.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:38 PM   #71
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majewski View Post
Don't worry, I'm drinking and will fade away soon enough.
It's only 7:37 over there! What the heck is going on?

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:38 PM   #72
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
I use something like this for my switches in 2 and 3 gang as well. I ran out and used the carlon box to finish out. I like the screw type for counter flush applications in remodel cut ins.

The carlon cut ins with the dimmer attached usually have a gap even with an oversized cover.


Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
I try to use these and the dg ones a lot. They even have gangable ones.
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:39 PM   #73
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
It's only 7:37 over there! What the heck is going on?

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Oh huge party, you didn't get the invite?
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:41 PM   #74
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majewski View Post
Oh huge party, you didn't get the invite?
I'm just getting off of work probably wouldn't make it in time.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Majewski likes this.
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:42 PM   #75
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
I'm just getting off of work probably wouldn't make it in time.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Ok I'll order you like 5....and um drink em before they get warm and order you 5 more...
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:47 PM   #76
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,232
Rewards Points: 4,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Arc faults mean almost a complete separation of lighting and receptacle circuits.
From what I've read about them and nuisance tripping, good on you. If I were to build new today, I'd yank them all out right after the inspection.
Majewski likes this.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 08:50 PM   #77
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,232
Rewards Points: 4,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zac View Post
Thanks Lawn Guy.
I started commercial and always worked with drawings so I usually try to lay out my circuitry and as built as I go.

Also switches now require a neutral NEC 404.2 (C) at the box so I can't have a California 3 way. This adds to the wire fill in a box that's going to get a dimmer.

I've only done a few custome homes and usually use shallow boxes but decided this time just to go big on all of them. After seeing the back of the switch (posted) I'm having second thoughts!

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
Zac there are deeper boxes that aren't as deep as the one you posted!
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 09:00 PM   #78
zac
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
Zac there are deeper boxes that aren't as deep as the one you posted!
I know. I usually buy 18 for the receptacles and 20 cubits for the switches. I didn't really even think about until I saw the back of the box flush with the stud. Won't do that again unless the back is a concrete is cmu wall.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk
zac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home inspections bhaughery New Member Introductions 76 11-29-2016 09:44 PM
New home today's price Northern Girl Business, Marketing, and Sales 45 06-30-2016 09:34 PM
Manufactured Home Codes smorkle General Electrical Discussion 20 06-26-2016 09:48 AM
Mobile Home SparkyJ Residential Electrical Forum 10 04-08-2016 07:21 AM
Electric heat for log home Grogan14 Residential Electrical Forum 7 03-13-2016 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com