Safely remove existing underground conduit/wire - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree52Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2017, 05:01 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,003
Rewards Points: 416
Default

like P&L said, tug out the wire, dig up and replace PVC, its too cheap to bother saving. Quote H.O the price of a hydrovac to save both wire and conduit.
mitch65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2017, 06:25 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Removing the wire could be a nightmare. I have seen even glued conduit fill up with water and mud making wire almost impossible to remove. Somehow a joint was not water tight and filled up with sediment.

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk
MechanicalDVR and telsa like this.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 10:47 PM   #23
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Removing the wire could be a nightmare. I have seen even glued conduit fill up with water and mud making wire almost impossible to remove. Somehow a joint was not water tight and filled up with sediment.

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk
That sounds much closer to the rule than the exception!
telsa likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2017, 12:30 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,831
Rewards Points: 25,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmane View Post
The old materials are no more than 2 years old under low stress so might work.


Don't bet on it.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:01 AM   #25
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post


Don't bet on it.
Well, he did say might!
telsa likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:37 AM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Well, he did say might!
might is the operative word for sure. anyone have techniques on methods to remove it?
MechanicalDVR likes this.
bobmane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:00 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
five.five-six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6,256
Rewards Points: 8,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Removing the wire could be a nightmare. I have seen even glued conduit fill up with water and mud making wire almost impossible to remove. Somehow a joint was not water tight and filled up with sediment.

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk
I don't think I have ever seen underground that wasn't wet inside within 6 months.

If the feeders are only 2 years old, they may very well be salvageable if you pull them first but this sounds like the kind of thing where you spend a ****load of money trying to save a few bucks.

What size are the feeders? AL or CU? What insulation?
__________________
Liberal Paradise would be a place where everybody has guaranteed employment, free comprehensive healthcare, free education, free food, free housing, free clothing, free utilities, and only authorities have guns. We have such a place. It's called prison.
five.five-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:44 AM   #28
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
I don't think I have ever seen underground that wasn't wet inside within 6 months.

If the feeders are only 2 years old, they may very well be salvageable if you pull them first but this sounds like the kind of thing where you spend a ****load of money trying to save a few bucks.

What size are the feeders? AL or CU? What insulation?
Yeah man, I believe the proper term is "fool's errand".
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 09:59 AM   #29
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,663
Rewards Points: 11,691
Default

I had a customer once who looked at my box of scrap wire ends during finishing work. He thought I should splice them together and re-use them. I wonder if this is the same guy .
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:34 AM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by five.five-six View Post
What size are the feeders? AL or CU? What insulation?
AL on a 90 AMP Circuit from Old Meter to Old Panel
bobmane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:41 AM   #31
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I had a customer once who looked at my box of scrap wire ends during finishing work. He thought I should splice them together and re-use them. I wonder if this is the same guy .
One never knows, do one?

Maybe he moved!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:42 AM   #32
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmane View Post
AL on a 90 AMP Circuit from Old Meter to Old Panel
Not worth the effort!
dawgs likes this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:42 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,445
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

I haven't seen where he said it was in conduit. Someone ran a conduit 300 feet and didn't use 2 inch for that?
If they did I would just pull the wires out and install some 4/0 alum.
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:45 AM   #34
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
I haven't seen where he said it was in conduit. Someone ran a conduit 300 feet and didn't use 2 inch for that?
If they did I would just pull the wires out and install some 4/0 alum.
From post #1:

" Homeowner wants to keep the old wire and conduit."
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:54 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,445
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
From post #1:

" Homeowner wants to keep the old wire and conduit."
Yep sure does. Wonder what size it is?
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 12:22 PM   #36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Idaho
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

old conduit is 1 1/2
bobmane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 02:43 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Less than 500 of material. Scrap it not worth trying to save.

Sent from my SM-S975L using Tapatalk
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 04:10 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,831
Rewards Points: 25,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmane View Post
AL on a 90 AMP Circuit from Old Meter to Old Panel
I fell out of my chair laughing.

This is the very definition of worthless.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 04:13 PM   #39
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,303
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
I fell out of my chair laughing.

This is the very definition of worthless.
Worth a mint to the home owner apparently.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 09:10 PM   #40
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmane View Post
AL on a 90 AMP Circuit from Old Meter to Old Panel
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobmane View Post
old conduit is 1 1/2
For that size I will not really bother to pull the old conductors.,,

those size of al conductors may not get very high on scrap value.

I am not sure what they are running in USA on pricewise.,, but I kinda not expecting to be very high price at all.,, probly about 25 to 50 cent per pounds.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com