Separated Garage sub panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Helmut
Closed Thread

Old 12-15-2016, 05:36 AM   #1

Default Separated Garage sub panel

Hey guys,

So here's what's going on... I've been a contractor for around 15 years, I barely ever play with electric aside from the basics. Until recently anyway. I just moved into a new place and long story short, the garage for my house needs electric. Here's the deal..
Right now, my garage has a small fuse box with 1 light and 1 outlet off it. Then running out the wall, underground through conduit and into the basement is the connection to the main breaker.
The run from the Main to the Garage is roughly (just under) 200ft. I just upgraded the house main with a 200amp box. Now I want to install the old 100amp box into the garage.

Any recommendations on first, what size wire I should use for the run from the main to the sub panel? [Again, 200ft distance, with below ground conduit, to a 100amp subpanel] and also, any other recommendations or input anyone would like to put in, by all means I'm open to it! I'm trying to get this done asap. Like I said, I know most of what I'm doing, im just getting drained trying to figure out the best way to supply power to the panel.

Thanks ! -- Reaper.
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!