Services/Branch Circuits - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2015, 10:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default Services/Branch Circuits

I have a customer that wants to protect the conductors supplying power to chillers. The feeders now are being fed directly from a transformer to starter. The starters are inside the chiller plant and the customer would like to add a disconnect outside adjacent to the transformers. Is it possible to use disconnects that size for the feeders? The transformers are 500 KVA 480/277 volts (2 chillers) and 1000KVA 480/277 volt (2 chillers). The starters are the only disconnecting means that is currently supplying the load. Thanks
eagle2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2015, 10:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CADPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temp in SC
Posts: 2,164
Rewards Points: 1,838
Default

Quote:
...The feeders now are being fed directly from a transformer to starter
.

Wouldn't the Starter be rated as the disconnect in this case? I'm missing what else they need...

Is it in fact a tap, that they need to change?

Address the circuits needs by using a breaker or in you case (a fused) disconnect.
Adding a breaker to the bus would be cheaper with a sitting disconnect.
__________________
If you are even thirsty, you are two quarts low.
CADPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 10:41 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

The customer want to disconnect the feeders from the transformer. Plus the taps from the transformer is more that 25 ft., but it does have a fused starter. The seem to think a disconnect adjacent to the transformer is code and safer.
eagle2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2015, 10:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,816
Rewards Points: 25,878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle2014 View Post
I have a customer that wants to protect the conductors supplying power to chillers. The feeders now are being fed directly from a transformer to starter. The starters are inside the chiller plant and the customer would like to add a disconnect outside adjacent to the transformers. Is it possible to use disconnects that size for the feeders? The transformers are 500 KVA 480/277 volts (2 chillers) and 1000KVA 480/277 volt (2 chillers). The starters are the only disconnecting means that is currently supplying the load. Thanks
Your need // logic is a tad off.

Disconnect at these dedicated (oil cooled, Poco style, pad mounted) transformers.

Your job is done.

Your proposal is going to cost big $$$$$ to not achieve much.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 10:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle2014 View Post
I have a customer that wants to protect the conductors supplying power to chillers. The feeders now are being fed directly from a transformer to starter. The starters are inside the chiller plant and the customer would like to add a disconnect outside adjacent to the transformers. Is it possible to use disconnects that size for the feeders? The transformers are 500 KVA 480/277 volts (2 chillers) and 1000KVA 480/277 volt (2 chillers). The starters are the only disconnecting means that is currently supplying the load. Thanks
Are you saying that there is no fusing?
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 11:14 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default

There are fuses in the starter.
eagle2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 11:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,816
Rewards Points: 25,878
Default

A WAG: There should be fuses in the big transformers, too.

They are normally manipulated by a hot stick.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2015, 11:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle2014 View Post
There are fuses in the starter.
It's protected.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Al. Branch circuits Clarky Residential Electrical Forum 6 04-12-2014 10:26 AM
Branch Cir. Split/2 Services Mr. Rodgers General Electrical Discussion 3 12-24-2013 02:23 PM
Sub or Branch Circuits? k_buz General Electrical Discussion 7 10-21-2012 06:45 AM
More Range Branch Circuits? appropriate tech Residential Electrical Forum 10 09-14-2012 05:22 PM
Range Branch Circuits appropriate tech Residential Electrical Forum 4 09-03-2012 03:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com