Shop bathroom receptacle? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By flyboy
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2019, 11:54 AM   #1
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,410
Rewards Points: 3,701
Default Shop bathroom receptacle?

Say a auto mechanics shop bathroom, not open to the public.

Landscaper shop bathroom, for employees...ect


Are you required to put a receptacle in there?
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2019, 01:07 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,536
Rewards Points: 15,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
Say a auto mechanics shop bathroom, not open to the public.

Landscaper shop bathroom, for employees...ect


Are you required to put a receptacle in there?
Depends on your code cycle. If up to date then yes, bathroom receptacles are now required 2017 NEC to be gfi protected, dwellings and non dwellings.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 01:29 PM   #3
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,410
Rewards Points: 3,701
Default

oh, so in the 2017 cycle, they now require receptacles in non dwelling bathrooms?
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2019, 01:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,225
Rewards Points: 1,601
Default

The only rule is that if you do install an outlet it must be GFCI protected. It doesn't have to be 20A or dedicated, or exist in the first place.

I don't know of any change for the 2017.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
Helmut (05-06-2019)
Old 05-06-2019, 03:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,399
Rewards Points: 3,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
The only rule is that if you do install an outlet it must be GFCI protected. It doesn't have to be 20A or dedicated, or exist in the first place.

I don't know of any change for the 2017.
Hax is right, no need to put one in there and if you do just throw in a GFCI rec on any circuit you want.
Is hax smarter than Mikey?
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 03:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 32,225
Rewards Points: 1,601
Default

Let me clarify. I am not saying that there is definitely no change for 2017. Just that I haven't seen one.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 09:35 PM   #7
Member
 
DashDingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 93
Rewards Points: 14
Default

No


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DashDingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 11:54 PM   #8
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,536
Rewards Points: 15,423
Default

Are we sure? I thought it was one of the bullet points in the update code class I just sat thru for the 17 cycle. I admit I COULD be wrong, We are still on the 2008 code. Still. I don't even know why they make us go to code update classes. We are still on the 2008 code.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 12:33 PM   #9
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,792
Rewards Points: 3,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Are we sure? I thought it was one of the bullet points in the update code class I just sat thru for the 17 cycle. I admit I COULD be wrong, We are still on the 2008 code. Still. I don't even know why they make us go to code update classes. We are still on the 2008 code.
YES

So if you're on the 2008 code why are you concerned about it? As of 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2017 there is no requirement for a receptacle in a commercial bathroom.

See 210.52 Dwelling Unit Receptacle Outlets.

See 210.52 (A) General Provisions. Again, the code speaks to and uses the term "dwelling units"

Dwelling Unit. A single unit, providing complete and independent living facilities for one or more persons, including permanent provisions for sleeping, cooking, and sanitation.

Guest Room and Guest Suites fall under the definition of Dwelling Unit and by definition a receptacle would be required in the bathroom of those occupancies.

No where in the 2017 NEC Handbook (Article 210 or anywhere else) can I find an exception or note that requires a receptacle be installed in a non dwelling unit bathroom.
sbrn33 likes this.

Last edited by flyboy; 05-15-2019 at 12:35 PM.
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 12:40 PM   #10
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,536
Rewards Points: 15,423
Default

[QUOTE=flyboy;5196484]So if you're on the 2008 code why are you concerned about it? As of 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2017 there is no requirement for a receptacle in a commercial bathroom.

See 210.52 Dwelling Unit Receptacle Outlets.

See 210.52 (A) General Provisions. Again, the code speaks to and uses the term "dwelling units"

Dwelling Unit. A single unit, providing complete and independent living facilities for one or more persons, including permanent provisions for sleeping, cooking, and sanitation.

Guest Room and Guest Suites fall under the definition of Dwelling Unit and by definition a receptacle would be required in the bathroom of those occupancies.

No where in the 2017 NEC Handbook (Article 210) can I find an exception or note that requires a receptacle be installed in a non dwelling unit bathroom.[/QUOTE

Zip your flyboy up. I admitted I might be wrong. I sat thru a four hour code upgrade class. I yawned a whole lot. Guess I screwed up. I sat thru a timeshare seminar once too. Didn't buy a timeshare. Got a free dinner at a hotel and a round of golf though.......
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:10 PM   #11
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,792
Rewards Points: 3,318
Default

[quote=macmikeman;5196490]
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy View Post
So if you're on the 2008 code why are you concerned about it? As of 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2017 there is no requirement for a receptacle in a commercial bathroom.

See 210.52 Dwelling Unit Receptacle Outlets.

See 210.52 (A) General Provisions. Again, the code speaks to and uses the term "dwelling units"

Dwelling Unit. A single unit, providing complete and independent living facilities for one or more persons, including permanent provisions for sleeping, cooking, and sanitation.

Guest Room and Guest Suites fall under the definition of Dwelling Unit and by definition a receptacle would be required in the bathroom of those occupancies.

No where in the 2017 NEC Handbook (Article 210) can I find an exception or note that requires a receptacle be installed in a non dwelling unit bathroom.[/QUOTE

Zip your flyboy up. I admitted I might be wrong. I sat thru a four hour code upgrade class. I yawned a whole lot. Guess I screwed up. I sat thru a timeshare seminar once too. Didn't buy a timeshare. Got a free dinner at a hotel and a round of golf though.......
Zip my flyboy up?
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no receptacle in bathroom chuckd83 Residential Electrical Forum 75 02-20-2019 02:10 PM
240 volt receptacle in coffee shop big vic General Electrical Discussion 20 06-24-2018 10:27 PM
Does this bathroom receptacle need afci? NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 9 06-12-2018 04:58 PM
Receptacle required in a commercial Handicap Bathroom sparky1plug NEC Code Forum 3 11-28-2017 09:55 PM
adding a ground papaotis Residential Electrical Forum 71 05-22-2017 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com