shunt trip breaker - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 09:29 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default shunt trip breaker

I am having a brain cramp, do you connect one lead to the nutrual bar.
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2011, 10:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Salvatoreg02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY/CT
Posts: 1,576
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider
I am having a brain cramp, do you connect one lead to the nutrual bar.
Does it have a neutral?

Sent from my iPhone using ET Forum
__________________
Sal
P.E.S
Salvatoreg02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:44 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No just the two black leads
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2011, 10:48 AM   #4
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

If you are sure the trip unit is 120 volts then yes one black lead needs to go to the neutral bar.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:50 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Yes it 120 or 240
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:58 AM   #6
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider View Post
Yes it 120 or 240
Well now I am lost because I have never seen a shunt with just two leads rated 120 or 240.
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:16 AM   #7
Ax grinder
 
raider1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Logan, Utah
Posts: 2,053
Rewards Points: 1,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
Well now I am lost because I have never seen a shunt with just two leads rated 120 or 240.
Agreed, all the shunt trip devices that I have seen are typically 1 voltage.

Chris
raider1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raider1 For This Useful Post:
ce2two (04-06-2011)
Old 04-04-2011, 11:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Salvatoreg02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY/CT
Posts: 1,576
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider
I am having a brain cramp, do you connect one lead to the nutrual bar.
Did you Install a push button switch also?

Sent from my iPhone using ET Forum
__________________
Sal
P.E.S
Salvatoreg02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 02:48 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Sorry for the delay but this shut has dual voltage 120 to 240 first time I have come across this but I will treat it like a 120 application.
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:13 PM   #10
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 6,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider View Post
Sorry for the delay but this shut has dual voltage 120 to 240 first time I have come across this but I will treat it like a 120 application.
I'm not so sure I'd hook it to the neutral bar if this was a 277/480 panel. I'd probably also not hook it to the neutral bar if your control power comes from someplace else. Use that "someplace else" neutral.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MDShunk For This Useful Post:
Smoke (04-04-2011)
Old 04-04-2011, 04:20 PM   #11
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 6,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider View Post
Sorry for the delay but this shut has dual voltage 120 to 240 first time I have come across this but I will treat it like a 120 application.
Is there a terminal you need to move around on the accessory, inside the breaker? Got a manufacturer and part number for this rascal? I'm curious. I've never seen a dual voltage unit with only two leads either.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:30 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

The shut trip breaker is a GE 3 pole thbq
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 872
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
Well now I am lost because I have never seen a shunt with just two leads rated 120 or 240.
Funny, my experience has been the exact opposite

Almost all the shunt trips I've seen can handle more than one voltage and need a separate circuit to feed the shunt coil and make the breaker trip.

(I'm using SquareD numbers here because that's what I have been mainly using and have the numbers handy on my phone)

The coil ratings on the ones I've seen are 12 to 24 volts. Those I see in a lot of car washes inside control cabinets. They can handle AC or DC voltages.
12V - 60VA
24V - 168VA

and the coils on the others I more commonly run into are 120 to 240 volt. I see them all the time in gas stations and started running into them a lot more the last few years. AC voltage only on the coils.
120V - 72VA
208V - 228VA
240V - 288VA


Normally the shunt coils are fed with a separate circuit and wired at 120V around here. One side of the coil goes to neutral and the other needs a hot to complete the circuit. Liven up the shunt coil and it trips the breaker.

I've been using big red mushroom switches that need to be manually pulled up, but breakers are rated to accept momentary contacts. Once tripped the breakers have to be manually reset, and if the contact to feed the shunt is a maintaining contact, it has to be opened. That confused the hell out of me the first time I ever saw one, not realizing I had to go across the building and pull up a mushroom switch.

The ones I've used take an extra breaker space, so a single pole 15A breaker shunt trip breaker takes the same space as a 2 pole breaker, a 2 pole takes the space of a 3 pole and so on.

Also, in the applications I use them for, the breaker with the circuit that feeds the shunt coils are normally locked on so they can't be turned off accidentally as their operation serves important safety/security measures.
Mike_586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:38 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: orlando
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thanks it work on a 120 input off fire alarm system, works great passed inspection
spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:24 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bmore
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
If you are sure the trip unit is 120 volts then yes one black lead needs to go to the neutral bar.
thats not entirely correct, he is likely working on an elevator shunt (doesnt matter though). the neutral comes from the source, rarely the panel the shunt is located, but possible.

unrelated to quote, hot on one wire neutral on the other, color doesnt matter.
i put 2 red wires off the shunt here this weekend, i like it to be obvious the shunt circuit is there and not fed from the panel (277/480 in my case).
its a coil, polarity is irrelevant.
__________________
there's some technical crap to mull over
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:27 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bmore
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider View Post
The shut trip breaker is a GE 3 pole thbq
doesnt matter, its 2 wires to a shunt coil, only the voltage you need to trip it is relevant.
__________________
there's some technical crap to mull over
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:56 PM   #17
vos
Senior Member
 
vos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oswego N.Y.
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

what's a shunt trip breaker?
vos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:54 PM   #18
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,711
Rewards Points: 3,030
Default

I've seen lots of shunt trip coils that were rated for more than one voltage. I'd say most of them I've seen recently.

Two black wires, but the inrush is way more for the higher voltages.

Remember, a shunt trip coil is energized only for a very short time; not long enough to cause the coil to heat up.

The only ones I've seen that are single voltage are either 125 or 250 DC. Just about everything else has a range of voltages.

One wire goes to the switch leg of whatever will cause the breaker to trip, the other wire goes to the return; often the neutral bus. Sometimes the grounded side of the control transformer.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:02 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
Well now I am lost because I have never seen a shunt with just two leads rated 120 or 240.

Never mind. I was gonna be a wise ass. But never mind.
leland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 12:19 AM   #20
Golden Controls
 
dowmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 616
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vos View Post
what's a shunt trip breaker?

A breaker than can be remotely tripped by an outside voltage source. Thats the easiest description I can come up with.
dowmace is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dowmace For This Useful Post:
vos (04-05-2011)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shunt trip breakers jack756 NEC Code Forum 14 10-07-2010 01:30 AM
10 A Shunt Trip RePhase277 General Electrical Discussion 3 07-13-2009 10:42 AM
Shunt Trip shunt trip New Member Introductions 4 01-27-2009 09:08 PM
? about shunt trip requirement Greg General Electrical Discussion 11 07-17-2008 06:03 AM
Shunt Trip Breaker???? lorddrago General Electrical Discussion 4 12-30-2007 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com