Siemens resi panel - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2015, 06:41 PM   #1
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default Siemens resi panel

Anyone else find the newer main breaker Siemens panels have the neutral/ground bar only on one side? Or is it just a bunch of HD returns?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 06:44 PM   #2
Yeah Toast!!
 
Roger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Rewards Points: 1,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
Anyone else find the newer main breaker Siemens panels have the neutral/ground bar only on one side? Or is it just a bunch of HD returns?
Did you pick up one of the contractor specials with an aluminum bus and free breakers?
Roger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 06:48 PM   #3
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

there is only one N/G? GD.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 06:57 PM   #4
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger123 View Post
Did you pick up one of the contractor specials with an aluminum bus and free breakers?
If you mean the value packs then yes.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 07:05 PM   #5
Yeah Toast!!
 
Roger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Rewards Points: 1,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
If you mean the value packs then yes.
Yes, that is how the "value packs" are made.

Last edited by Roger123; 02-17-2015 at 07:10 PM.
Roger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 07:15 PM   #6
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger123 View Post
Yes, that is how the "value packs" are made.
Even taking out parts? These panels can allow up to 40 circuits using tandems, I don't see enough holes with just one bar.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 08:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,810
Rewards Points: 1,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
Anyone else find the newer main breaker Siemens panels have the neutral/ground bar only on one side? Or is it just a bunch of HD returns?
This is the reason I stopped buying panels at Home Depot, a 200 Amp Siemens panel from supplier comes with 2 ground/neutral bars and two ground bars
__________________
'I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies"
Thomas Jefferson
electricalwiz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:36 PM   #8
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricalwiz View Post
This is the reason I stopped buying panels at Home Depot, a 200 Amp Siemens panel from supplier comes with 2 ground/neutral bars and two ground bars
Guess I got a home chepo exclusive
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Big Pickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by electricalwiz View Post
This is the reason I stopped buying panels at Home Depot, a 200 Amp Siemens panel from supplier comes with 2 ground/neutral bars and two ground bars
A 100 amp 30/30 from hd comes with 2 of each.
Big Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 09:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

All of the ones from my supplier are copper bus, 2 ground bars, 2 neutral bars.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

200 amp 40 circuit used to come with neutral/grd bars that went the full length of the bus, no matter if it was al bus or copper and supply house or HD, now they only go halfway down. 100a/24 circuit MB panels now only have a bar on one side, if your using it as a subpanel you need to purchase and additional bar kit. Total BS to me as this used to be my preffered brand for installs. Not sure of 30/30's as i never install them.
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:06 PM   #12
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Thanks for reminding me once again why I prefer Square D.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTW For This Useful Post:
meadow (02-18-2015)
Old 02-17-2015, 10:09 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

I just did a new house and used a homeline with the lock-on neutrals for AFCI's. not a bad panel and kept the pigtails out, only thing i didn't like was that there isn't alot of 1/2" KO's in the top as they put a big concentric on the left side that took up alot of space.
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:12 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Look at the ground bars on the PL series
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...pl-series.aspx
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:19 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

I've never seen that panel before, they must not stock them around here. My only gripe with that is those ground bars at the top are right where the conductors are supposed to be routed IMO. they are in the way and once the hots are laid in there you can't get to them to add circuits without moving everything. why not just run the middle ones all the way down and call it a day?
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:21 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Here's what I'm used to seeing around here
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...es-series.aspx
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:24 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJSparky View Post
Here's what I'm used to seeing around here
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...es-series.aspx
Ya, Aluminum bus. My supplier only supplies copper bus.
I agree about the position of the ground bars, dumb location.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:25 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

that panel comes in copper bus also but it's set up exactly the same.
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:26 PM   #19
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Take 5 grounds and put them in a greenie, and only land the sixth one.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:31 PM   #20
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

most of the panels i see have pretapped evenly spaced holes in the back where you can add a bar or MOVE the one thats in it
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to papaotis For This Useful Post:
derekwalls (02-18-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
siemens breaker in a sq d QO panel ampman General Electrical Discussion 12 05-05-2011 10:58 AM
need an interior for an older Siemens panel ChristopherL General Electrical Discussion 3 12-01-2010 09:06 AM
what else fits in a siemens panel jjdrees General Electrical Discussion 26 06-03-2009 01:06 PM
Can I use a Murray in this Siemens panel? Solar Z General Electrical Discussion 28 05-29-2009 12:01 AM
Siemens panel problem jack davis General Electrical Discussion 2 02-24-2009 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com