Siemens resi panel - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2015, 10:34 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Yes, but why should I have to add/move bars in a brand new panel. why can't they get it right? 2 screw terminals for every breaker space should be code!
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 10:46 PM   #22
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 21,950
Rewards Points: 14,275
Default

But HD is always cheaper and you can buy 99% of your stuff there.

Cough, gag, hack, puke...

99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 10:57 PM   #23
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

but why supply so many terminals when each terminal will hold ' up to 3 #10 wires' . from the specs of a panel i was looking at the other day. dont remember which one. if the mfg. suggests that then why does everyone think its a sin?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2015, 11:06 PM   #24
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
But HD is always cheaper and you can buy 99% of your stuff there.

Cough, gag, hack, puke...

The value packs are definitely cheaper than the supply house.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 11:07 PM   #25
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
Anyone else find the newer main breaker Siemens panels have the neutral/ground bar only on one side? Or is it just a bunch of HD returns?
Where in CT are you buying Siemens panels at HD?
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 11:07 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
The value packs are definitely cheaper than the supply house.
My supply house sells both
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 11:12 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: youfigureitout
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
but why supply so many terminals when each terminal will hold ' up to 3 #10 wires' . from the specs of a panel i was looking at the other day. dont remember which one. if the mfg. suggests that then why does everyone think its a sin?
Because the code says it's a sin. double tapping neutrals is a no-no. also look at this panel, it's a 30/30, which means it has a potential of 60 120volt circuits. there aren't nearly enough screws!
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...es-series.aspx
edit: thats a 40 circuit, but the 30/30 is the same

Last edited by NJSparky; 02-17-2015 at 11:27 PM.
NJSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 11:13 PM   #28
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJSparky View Post
My supply house sells both
Mine does too, but they sell Eaton/CH and I don't use that stuff.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 01:46 AM   #29
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJSparky View Post
200 amp 40 circuit used to come with neutral/grd bars that went the full length of the bus, no matter if it was al bus or copper and supply house or HD, now they only go halfway down. 100a/24 circuit MB panels now only have a bar on one side, if your using it as a subpanel you need to purchase and additional bar kit. Total BS to me as this used to be my preffered brand for installs. Not sure of 30/30's as i never install them.

It looks like they've got different styles now based on what and where you buy them. Total BS considering this got me by surprise.






Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Where in CT are you buying Siemens panels at HD?

NY and Mass HDs have them. But I just looked at their site, apparently half of them have the bar on one side or shortened. No way can I get AFCIs to work in these panels without it looking like arse:


http://www.homedepot.com/b/Electrica...vZbm2wZ1z0x9jn


And for that price lowes still has the full version in stock:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Siemens-E...vZbm2wZ1z0x9jn

Last edited by meadow; 02-18-2015 at 01:50 AM.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
MTW (02-18-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 08:30 AM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South of Bawstin
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 48
Default Wider Loadcenters

Siemens ES series loadcenters with the shortened neutral bars are a PIA.

The TL series is a better product.

I was working in a Square D Homeline panel and the Neutral bus was hidden behind the extra long frame AFCI breakers...so you have to pull a breaker to land additional wires.

I would like for a manufacturer to redesign the residential loadcenters to be wider. Widen them to 20 inches to give us more room for wiring. I very rarely mount a panel in a 14 1/2 inch stud bay.
shortcircuit2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 07:53 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 218
Default

I hate the new arrangement Siemens has done on the 30/40 &40/40 load centers.
The older style that had the neutral/ ground buss all the way down were much better.
Teaspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:14 PM   #32
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teaspoon View Post
I hate the new arrangement Siemens has done on the 30/40 &40/40 load centers.
The older style that had the neutral/ ground buss all the way down were much better.
Are all of them this way or just the ones at HD? I think I will stop using Siemens no matter the price if that is.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:24 PM   #33
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

are seimens that chaep out east? around here theyve almost doubled in the last few years.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:30 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
are seimens that chaep out east? around here theyve almost doubled in the last few years.
Siemens P4040B1200CU -- ES panel, 200 amp with main breaker, 40 circuit, copper bus = $112
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:51 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
butcher733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
Siemens P4040B1200CU -- ES panel, 200 amp with main breaker, 40 circuit, copper bus = $112
are pl and es panels the same?
__________________
I'll take therapists for $400.
butcher733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:04 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 1,026
Rewards Points: 1,991
Default

Insist on PL. ES panels have short and sometimes only 1 neutral bar, no ground bars and aluminum buss bars

JoeSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JoeSparky For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (02-19-2015), flyboy (02-20-2015), meadow (02-19-2015), papaotis (02-18-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 11:24 PM   #37
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Or you can just stop buying that garbage and use Square D instead.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTW For This Useful Post:
meadow (02-19-2015)
Old 02-18-2015, 11:29 PM   #38
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Or you can just stop buying that garbage and use Square D instead.
Square D is the best panel money can buy.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:31 PM   #39
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
Square D is the best panel money can buy.
Do they sell them at Menards?
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:37 PM   #40
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Do they sell them at Menards?
yep!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to papaotis For This Useful Post:
Chris1971 (02-19-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
siemens breaker in a sq d QO panel ampman General Electrical Discussion 12 05-05-2011 10:58 AM
need an interior for an older Siemens panel ChristopherL General Electrical Discussion 3 12-01-2010 09:06 AM
what else fits in a siemens panel jjdrees General Electrical Discussion 26 06-03-2009 01:06 PM
Can I use a Murray in this Siemens panel? Solar Z General Electrical Discussion 28 05-29-2009 12:01 AM
Siemens panel problem jack davis General Electrical Discussion 2 02-24-2009 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com