Siemens resi panel - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2015, 12:01 AM   #41
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Do they sell them at Menards?
And Ho Depot.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2015, 12:07 AM   #42
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaotis View Post
are seimens that chaep out east? around here theyve almost doubled in the last few years.
They come cheap around here, especially the new contractor packs... but now I know why.




Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
Or you can just stop buying that garbage and use Square D instead.

Best advice of the year on ET



PL is here to stay, correct?
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 08:36 AM   #43
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
PL is here to stay, correct?
m-m-m-m-m-mmmmaybe.....


~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2015, 11:00 AM   #44
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
m-m-m-m-m-mmmmaybe.....


~CS~
Trying to decode the meaning... need a hint
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 12:35 PM   #45
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pgh
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJSparky View Post
Because the code says it's a sin. double tapping neutrals is a no-no. also look at this panel, it's a 30/30, which means it has a potential of 60 120volt circuits. there aren't nearly enough screws!
http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...es-series.aspx
edit: thats a 40 circuit, but the 30/30 is the same
I may be wrong but I don't think so.

My understanding is that "30/30" indicates that the panel is listed as 30 spaces/30 circuits with no tandems or twins allowed, that panel is only listed for 30 circuits total and any tandems installed would be a violation. For it to be listed for more it would read "30/40", "30/60" or whatever combination of full and tandems. Remember that all panels today must use CTL type tandem breakers that will only fit in certain spaces as tested and approved by the manufacturer.

FRANK
FWW56 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FWW56 For This Useful Post:
Big Pickles (02-20-2015)
Old 02-19-2015, 07:12 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,089
Rewards Points: 1,542
Default

Square-D uber alles.
__________________
"I bet you smell like cigarettes and felonies." -HackWork
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 01:15 AM   #47
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FWW56 View Post
I may be wrong but I don't think so.

My understanding is that "30/30" indicates that the panel is listed as 30 spaces/30 circuits with no tandems or twins allowed, that panel is only listed for 30 circuits total and any tandems installed would be a violation. For it to be listed for more it would read "30/40", "30/60" or whatever combination of full and tandems. Remember that all panels today must use CTL type tandem breakers that will only fit in certain spaces as tested and approved by the manufacturer.

FRANK

Your right, 30/30 means 30 full size breakers, while 30/60 means 30 full size breakers or 30 tandems.


The 2011 NEC (or 2008, don't remember which one atm) got rid of the 42 space rule.


Im probably going to get tar and feathered for saying this but I no longer follow the 42 space rule even in older panels. I will use a none CTL tandem in any panel as long as it is the same make. Yes I have existing 20/20 panels with 32 circuits

I have never seen a panel burn up from being listed for 40 circuits but ending up with 60.

The same panels sold here are sold in Canada which has allowed over 42 circuits for decades. The only reason the whole listing with rejection features is because the NEC imposed one of the dumbest rules of all time limiting panel boards and load centers to 42 spaces. Only to have people end up sawing down buss bars... Kind of shows you the power of code.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
flyboy (02-20-2015)
Old 02-20-2015, 07:49 AM   #48
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East and Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 5,114
Rewards Points: 3,967
Default

I love ET! I learned a lot just now reading this thread and can't wait to get in to see what's on the warehouse shelves. I'm really not sure what model Siemans we're installing. Shame on me.

You guys rock!
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:29 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
Siemens P4040B1200CU -- ES panel, 200 amp with main breaker, 40 circuit, copper bus = $112
My mistake, that $112 was for the PL panel
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:41 AM   #50
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy View Post
I love ET! I learned a lot just now reading this thread and can't wait to get in to see what's on the warehouse shelves. I'm really not sure what model Siemans we're installing. Shame on me.

You guys rock!
You learn more here than you do during an apprenticeship
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:45 AM   #51
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
Trying to decode the meaning... need a hint
The Chinese uniform Meadow.....~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chicken steve For This Useful Post:
meadow (02-20-2015)
Old 02-20-2015, 08:46 AM   #52
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
You learn more here than you do during an apprenticeship
curmudgeonship might gain legs....~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
siemens breaker in a sq d QO panel ampman General Electrical Discussion 12 05-05-2011 10:58 AM
need an interior for an older Siemens panel ChristopherL General Electrical Discussion 3 12-01-2010 09:06 AM
what else fits in a siemens panel jjdrees General Electrical Discussion 26 06-03-2009 01:06 PM
Can I use a Murray in this Siemens panel? Solar Z General Electrical Discussion 28 05-29-2009 12:01 AM
Siemens panel problem jack davis General Electrical Discussion 2 02-24-2009 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com