Single pole to switch a 3 way - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2017, 10:24 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Nabs View Post
The relay solution is the only one that truly fulfils the OP's desires. What is the ceiling type? Switch box type? Type of building construction? Type of occupancy? The answers to some of these questions would help figure out where you can hide things like relays.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
Residential master closet. Single gang switch box.
Light box not an ideal option but it's a 3-0 nail on.
Splatz supplied a great solution.
I plan on dropping a box, blanked off, below the switch in which to house the realy

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2017, 05:21 AM   #22
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,322
Rewards Points: 4,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaneyj View Post
I filled in the truth table... But depending on the definition of a "true", I ended up with an OR and an XOR.
A 3 way switch configuration cannot be powered from both "inputs" at the same time... I think.
But if power applied both switches are in a 1/high/true, then it's an OR.
But if the true is defined as switch being up (initial condition both switches down with zero output), then my truth table came out as an XOR.
So, is it an XOR because mechanically both switches can not be applying power to load simultaneously?


Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
I think you have it -

If you wired the switches in parallel it's an OR - power's on if either one is on, or both. Power's on when both are on means it's not an XOR.

If you wired the switches in series it's an AND - power's on only if both are on.

If you wired the switches in the three way configuration, power's on if one's on and one's off, but not if both are on - that's XOR.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 06:35 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Barjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 280
Default

I take it the client wants to be able to leave the closet doors open AND be able to turn the light off right?

Well why not just disable the door switch and install a new single pole switch on the wall.

You would be running a new wire in any case. I just think the 3 way solution will give the unintended effect of turning the closet light back on if the doors are shut.
Barjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2017, 06:49 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barjack View Post
I take it the client wants to be able to leave the closet doors open AND be able to turn the light off right?

Well why not just disable the door switch and install a new single pole switch on the wall.

You would be running a new wire in any case. I just think the 3 way solution will give the unintended effect of turning the closet light back on if the doors are shut.
You make a good point... I think their intention is to be inside the closet with door shut and light on. But you bring up a very plausible scenario where if door is open and light is off and someone exits and shuts door without thinking about it light will go on.
I've pitched the idea of motion sensor but they like the idea of the closet switch.
Maybe bringing this potential scenario to light -pun intended- will change their minds.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 07:00 AM   #25
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,322
Rewards Points: 4,034
Default

I figured this was so one person could go in the closet with the door shut and the light on to pick out their clothes for the day while the other's asleep in bed.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 07:27 PM   #26
Member
 
Dpm1132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Delta BC, Canada
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 52
Default

why don't you use an occupancy sensor and have a switch to override it
Dpm1132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 07:43 PM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Just put the junction/relay box on the inside of the closet.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 07:47 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Barjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 280
Default

The point Iím trying to make is that automation can be an annoyance. Too much automation is definitely so.

The simple automation of the door switch controlling the closet light has caused the client to contact the OP about a solution. Giving the client even more automation by turning it into a 3 way switch may look good and even work, it could cause even more annoyance due to its unintended effects.

The real problem is that the door switch controls the light. Change it to a wall switch and be done with it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Barjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:08 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,048
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

I am completely at a loss as to why someone would want to over-ride a jamb switch. If the closet door is open, the light is on. If it is closed (i.e. not getting anything out of the closet), the light is off. Who wouldn't want that be the case, and then if someone does, how much of your time is it worth to figure out how to make that happen? Who just wants to randomly leave the closet door open, but have the light off? By the same token, who the hell hides in the closet and needs to be able to turn a light on without opening the door?
__________________
"I bet you smell like cigarettes and felonies." -HackWork
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:30 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Barjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Going_Commando View Post
By the same token, who the hell hides in the closet and needs to be able to turn a light on without opening the door?


I dunno. Iíve done some renovations with some rather large master closets. All with custom cabinetry and decorative lighting including pendants and chandeliers.

Not really though because that would be illegal in a clothes closet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Barjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:34 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dpm1132 View Post
why don't you use an occupancy sensor and have a switch to override it
I pitched that as an option... They like the door switch

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:35 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Just put the junction/relay box on the inside of the closet.
Plan A

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QO Single Pole GFCI Issue Takideezy Residential Electrical Forum 2 08-29-2017 08:28 PM
Single Pole Thermostat 240V Azachi Canadian Electrical Forum 29 06-18-2017 11:53 AM
2 Pole or 2 Single Pole Breakers Azachi Canadian Electrical Forum 13 12-19-2016 07:20 AM
To get feedback on my prices? Angel Advanced Tech Business, Marketing, and Sales 50 09-02-2016 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com