Stray voltage - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By joebanana
  • 1 Post By dmxtothemax
  • 3 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By splatz

Old 05-13-2019, 09:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 16
Default Stray voltage

Here we go. Been a while. I have a full Marina to attend to. Problem is 46 volt ac variance from neutral to ground. Granted this is a 100' plus and smaller marina that houses close to 100 yachts and smaller boats, all with shore power 30amp up to dual 3phase 100 amp services. I am leaning toward a complete marina survey. Check every shore power tower,distribution load center(1200+/- amp), and transformer connection. Using thermal and other equipment as required. Keep in mind I am not a marine electrician. We have had divers getting shocked from the boats while trying to clean them. All because of 1 boats electrical earth/cathode system. Is there anything specific I should be looking for? I have found 1 issue 1 boat's power cord was missing its neutral post, using ground instead. Still didn't drop neutral to ground voltage maybe 2-3vac. Help. Thank you all.
Taz069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE