Sub Metering - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 08:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 625
Rewards Points: 500
Default Sub Metering

Does anyone have any experience sub-metering a commercial building? The owner wants to be able to sub-meter the tenant spaces.

My PM was asking if I had ever done any of this kind of stuff, an I've seen meter stacks used in apartments, and a group of meters even used in other commercial buildings. Got the impression from the PM that the owner wanted something that measured power that they could go an bill their tenants for. I said just put a regular meter and CT cabinet/etc.

I know in most applications, the POCO (or a sub-metering company) takes care of reading the meters and the billing. I've only seen this on hot meters however, and have never seen an application where the owner of the building would be billing tenants for energy (which the owner if this building wants to do).

Anyone have any experience doing this?
Cujo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2013, 08:17 PM   #2
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

I assume these are available in Canada.

http://www.emon.com/index.html
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
EBFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

These are pretty popular in this area. I've used other types also. They are all pretty easy to install generally.

E-mon D-mon
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2013, 08:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
EBFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
I assume these are available in Canada.

http://www.emon.com/index.html

Man, I'm a slow typer!
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: saluda,s.c.
Posts: 1,024
Rewards Points: 660
Default

hialeah meter in florida has a lot of submeters.they ship all of the world i think. just do a search for them,very good people to deal with & guaranteed!
circuitman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 08:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 159
Default

http://www.powermeterstore.com/
I have installed 4 of the Acuvim KL200 meters in the last year, meter, box and CT's were less than $300, and that was on 3 ph panels, they have lot of other options.
sparkywannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: 11742
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cujo View Post
Does anyone have any experience sub-metering a commercial building? The owner wants to be able to sub-meter the tenant spaces.

My PM was asking if I had ever done any of this kind of stuff, an I've seen meter stacks used in apartments, and a group of meters even used in other commercial buildings. Got the impression from the PM that the owner wanted something that measured power that they could go an bill their tenants for. I said just put a regular meter and CT cabinet/etc.

I know in most applications, the POCO (or a sub-metering company) takes care of reading the meters and the billing. I've only seen this on hot meters however, and have never seen an application where the owner of the building would be billing tenants for energy (which the owner if this building wants to do).

Anyone have any experience doing this?
Hi! The submetering is one of the way for energy monitoring/ awareness.
We can definitely do this with the each meter with C.T. ( Current Transformer) having the required Burden in KV. You can go for 3phase -3 wire/ 3 phase-4 wire energy meters. Just make sure about the class of accuracy also.
regards ,
Sanjiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
joe cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Yolo County, California
Posts: 339
Rewards Points: 408
Default

Emon dmon is easy but close to $500 a pop. Uses ct's.
joe cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 07:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Many utilities are switching over to digital meters. I wonder what they're doing with all the old ones?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 07:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Hmacanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy
Many utilities are switching over to digital meters. I wonder what they're doing with all the old ones?
Using them on their own houses, so they can read their own meter.
We all got digital here and they work real friggin well!!
Most look like this, tough to argue if you can't read them.
Attached Thumbnails
Sub Metering-image-2137578675.jpg   Sub Metering-image-3850676182.jpg  
Hmacanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub metering?? 24 big guy General Electrical Discussion 4 04-17-2013 09:03 PM
Sub Metering for RV al_smelter General Electrical Discussion 25 03-01-2012 08:32 AM
sub metering GREGNC Services and Service Equipment 7 09-28-2010 12:23 AM
Metering Electric Al General Electrical Discussion 15 03-21-2010 11:13 PM
Metering opes Code Violation Discussion 10 04-06-2009 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com