sub panel feeds no neutral - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2012, 07:18 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 57
Default sub panel feeds no neutral

I have a 12-2 with ground romex feed that i want to have a small 240 /120 sub panel at. or a 240 v load and a 120v load is this possible. by pounding another ground. or adding a transformer
myenergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2012, 07:26 AM   #2
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,165
Rewards Points: 1,334
Default

You can add a transformer but pounding a ground rod will not give you as neutral or a ground.
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:30 AM   #3
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

wow. a whole #12-2 feeder ? with the entire circuit ampacity available ? what are you going to do with all that power ?
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2012, 07:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 57
Default

I know it's funny. the home owner paid the electrician to get power out to that side of the house before the basement was finished. so she could have it there when she installed her in ground pool. Just trying to get 7 amps at 240v for pump and a convienence outlet thats what I need the neutral for.
myenergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I'm thinking its a really small 120v load right? Is it a power adapter for something? I remember a while ago somebody asked a question a bit like this and then they found a 240v power adapter for whatever they were using and used an inline fuse. It was something to do with a water heater.

Just saw update nvm

Last edited by jakeparr; 06-11-2012 at 07:38 AM. Reason: nvm
jakeparr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 07:41 AM   #6
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Just tag a convenience receptacle back to back of an existing inside receptacle and use the 12 feed for your pump. Doesn't the pool ( a body of water that doesn't discharge after use) require a insulated ground?
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:49 AM   #7
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

1) wire the pump 120 and use the existing ckt.

2) pull a feed
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:05 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 2,325
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc View Post
Doesn't the pool ( a body of water that doesn't discharge after use) require a insulated ground?
If 680.21(A)(4) applies in his jurisdiction, he's okay with the portion of the wiring that's inside the house being in NM without an insulated grounding conductor. Where he goes outdoors, conduit is required, and a green insulated grounding conductor, never smaller than 12AWG.

(4)
One-Family Dwellings. In the interior of one-family dwellings, or in the interior of accessory buildings associated with a one-family dwelling, any of the wiring methods recognized in Chapter 3 of this Code that comply with the provisions of this paragraph shall be permitted. Where run in a cable assembly, the equipment grounding conductor shall be permitted to be uninsulated, but it shall be enclosed within the outer sheath of the cable assembly.

__________________
__________


Was born in HACKensack, NJ
CraigV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical panel ground vs. neutral bobster NEC Code Forum 96 11-08-2013 01:32 PM
How many Neutral and Gnd in off a 3-phase panel swimmer NEC Code Forum 8 08-10-2011 11:08 AM
Fused neutral panel! zoopenny Vintage Electrical 18 05-29-2011 08:08 PM
CH Plug-on neutral panel Magnettica Services and Service Equipment 24 02-08-2011 10:03 PM
Neutral in Sub-panel BrianJayT General Electrical Discussion 4 03-13-2009 06:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com