Terminal Torque - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree50Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2019, 12:58 PM   #41
Vacated
 
Wiresmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,454
Rewards Points: 2,844
Default

I tighten everything without a torque wrench first to what I think is just shy of the required value enough to make a small arc with the torque wrench, then finish with torque wrench in a smooth arc(that's also part of torqueing correctly). If my pre torque wrench torque was over the apparent required value I question the value, the only times this has happened is when I was going off a bad value. This of course is only when I use torque wrenches which I prefer to do but don't always, and only for large connections, with small connections like with screwdrivers I don't use 2 tools I think you can get a good sense with torque screwdrivers like you would a normal screwdriver. I think this method kind of calibrates my arm too for when I don't use a torque wrench and gives you a good sense for how much hand placement and wrench length plays into how much you are torqueing something. And yeah if the connection is not assembled well, you're p***ing into the breeze.
__________________
Think like a man of action, act like a man of thought. ~Henri Louis Bergson

Last edited by Wiresmith; 02-10-2019 at 01:03 PM.
Wiresmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2019, 01:42 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 2,224
Rewards Points: 2,734
Default

Or you find a calibration certificate online and learn how to change the date.
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 10:44 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jelhill View Post
Man! I'm getting too old for all of this... these new torque requirements remind me of the AFCI nonsense... just a big pain in the butt! How many thousands of lugs have all of us torqued down perfectly down through the years?
I've been in plenty of even industrial equipment where the failure was obviously an incorrectly torqued fastener. Heck last week I had to re-install one half of a parallel 250 neutral feed at a splitter because the wire had pulled free from the pad.
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2019, 07:54 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,970
Rewards Points: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnome View Post
I've been in plenty of even industrial equipment where the failure was obviously an incorrectly torqued fastener. Heck, last week I had to re-install one half of a parallel 250 neutral feed at a splitter because the wire had pulled free from the pad.
A connection that is loose is loose because it was overlooked or stripped out during installation, and this will continue to happen torque wrenches or not. 99.9% of all electrical connections will be over torqued and with torque wrenches, the average electrician will continue to over torque connections.

I have used a torque wrench since 1974 on all bus and power conductors and will continue. Additionally, we have all torque wrenches calibrated yearly. I just think torquing switches and receptacles is stupid as long as quick stab switches and receptacles exist.
QMED, Kevin_Essiambre and gpop like this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 08:17 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 649
Rewards Points: 48
Default

I think wago should start making levernut devices.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 12:24 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
QMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 140
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Agreed. I had to take a torquing class at a job and the instructor gave us a calibrated torque wrench and asked us if we thought thought we could hit the designated torque without going over spec. Most thought it would be easy. They had some special nut and bolt arrangement with a load cell attached so it gave some friction as I recall. Nobody hit the torque the first time they all overshot, some overshot by a huge margin. The key to not overdoing it was going extremely slow and smooth. So yeah basically every time I see people torquing connections like it's a lug nut on a semi I just laugh to myself.
QMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 09:28 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Chops146's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Midwest
Posts: 516
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

I do the wiggle and tighten, tighten a little more, wiggle hard, and tighten more if it gives it. If QC checks it, they just put the wrench on and call it good if it clicks without moving. May be at specs, may be over, but none of my terms have ever had a problem in 17 years.
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
__________________
None of us is as important as all of us.
Same plight, same fight.
An injury to one is an injury to all.
Chops146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque speicfications needed for lockrings on PVC T/A? Rodger Code Violation Discussion 26 03-31-2017 08:02 AM
2017 Torque Requirements Semi-Ret Electrician General Electrical Discussion 28 02-28-2017 11:17 AM
2017 changes-- Torque Tools Majewski Tools, Equipment and New Products 43 02-21-2017 08:20 AM
Torque driver Anathera Tools, Equipment and New Products 34 06-04-2016 11:00 AM
GE THQL Breaker Lugs Splitting at Specified Torque Mr. Skookum General Electrical Discussion 16 03-11-2016 01:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com