Time for a good rant....be prepared - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Old 02-08-2010, 09:19 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 446
Default Time for a good rant

So I graduated from college in November to start my apprenticeship. I'm in Canada and the government is throwing this talk of a skilled trades shortage in my face. I can't see the shortage. If someone else in this country wants to enlighten me on this a bit, please do.

So I've been handing out resumes left, right, and center since graduation. Some guys I knew from glass got jobs right away. My guess is they knew someone and got a leg in. It's not what you know, it's who you know.

Anyway, 70 resumes later and I'm still where I started. I have a company that keeps telling me they're going to want me on a project, but they keep pushing this a month ahead, then I wait for that month to come, and they push it ahead another month. The buildings are built, two schools and one hospital addition. Who's going to wire these? God? The little electrical man that comes out of the woods every now and then?

As a first year apprentice I'm faced with discrimination because I'm assumed to not know a damn thing about anything electrical. That might be true with some things, but I'm a self learner. I've helped to put wires and lighting through two houses. I volunteered for that. I've helped out family members, installed heaters, three way lighting, even took a panel apart to install breakers. You call these side jobs, and apparently I'm not supposed to do these. What is expected of me, that I sit on my ass and wait for a miracle to happen? Side jobs are money, money that I'm not getting from any contractors right now. Bills don't wait for miracles to happen. They wait until you can't pay anymore, then you go to jail.