Transfer Switch - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 07:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: sacramento
Posts: 467
Rewards Points: 304
Default Transfer Switch

How does transferswitch work? I know like if there are two sources of power and if they are interlock. When one power goes out it switches it to another but in between time doesn't the power goes out for like a short period of time?
Ninjazx916r is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

How does what kind of Tswitch work Ninja...? a 3w switch could be a Tswitch....~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
8V71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 2,661
Rewards Points: 2,900
Default

Yes, you loose power for a short time. Do you have a different application in mind where you need to switch something without loosing power?
8V71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2013, 12:21 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 14
Default

You can't predict for outages, if you could than a transfer switch would be completely different. If you lose utility, there is usually time delays for starting the engine, transferring to the alternate source etc. there is time the load will not be served, but is mostly dependent on how long it takes your alternate source to be accepted.
Boostinsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,219
Rewards Points: 2,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjazx916r View Post
How does transferswitch work? I know like if there are two sources of power and if they are interlock. When one power goes out it switches it to another but in between time doesn't the power goes out for like a short period of time?
Thus the need for a good UPS to allow for the lag between utility power and generator power, both when utility power fails and again when it is restored.
btharmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 03:30 PM   #6
zap
 
tates1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: northwest
Posts: 1,299
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjazx916r
How does transferswitch work? I know like if there are two sources of power and if they are interlock. When one power goes out it switches it to another but in between time doesn't the power goes out for like a short period of time?
That would depend on the transfer switch. Some are break the make, some make then break. The later requires a sink control and is rarely seen unless its a self contained site. Most common switches you will see will be break then make, the utility's really don't like the second type.
tates1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 03:44 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Need to know what the real question is. Are you talking about the short time during the transition of an open transition switch? Or are you talking about when the power goes out and you are waiting for the generator to start. I am a service rep for ASCO, and can tell you more if you want to know. I can go pretty in depth talking about different types of switches.
Boostinsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer Switch Badabing Commercial Electrical Forum 8 03-07-2013 08:34 AM
Transfer Switch acebradley NEC Code Forum 3 02-28-2013 12:49 AM
Generac EZ switch (transfer switch) Gamit General Electrical Discussion 33 02-27-2012 09:26 PM
transfer switch ratrod56 General Electrical Discussion 21 10-31-2011 05:08 PM
Transfer Switch 2towbot General Electrical Discussion 5 01-23-2009 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com