Transformer loading - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 2 Post By eddy current
  • 3 Post By brian john
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2019, 05:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default Transformer loading

How much overloading we can do 167KVA,4.8KV/240V 1-phase transformer.
I seen that in town homes utilities feds twelve 100A services from only 50kVA transformer. Which is way bigger than it's capacity. Do anyone have idea how much capacity or services we can fed from 167kVA transformer.
hiren.munjani1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2019, 06:40 PM   #2
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 21,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiren.munjani1994 View Post
How much overloading we can do 167KVA,4.8KV/240V 1-phase transformer.
I seen that in town homes utilities feds twelve 100A services from only 50kVA transformer. Which is way bigger than it's capacity. Do anyone have idea how much capacity or services we can fed from 167kVA transformer.
It depending on if customer own that or POCO own that if the POCO own that and they are typically oil cooled unit and they can handle a bit of overloading before it get overheat on tempture rise.

but to know the actual number that you need to look at the nameplate on the transformer and concant the manufacter they will have the info what you are looking for.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 11:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: saluda,s.c.
Posts: 1,014
Rewards Points: 640
Default

well if i calculated it right its rated for 695 amps @240 volts.how much overload is a good question. but 695 amps is an awful lot!
circuitman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2019, 02:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 3,665
Rewards Points: 7,269
Default

When it starts smoking, you've hit the limit. Why would you want to overload a transformer? That isn't a safe practice, and wastes energy.
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 09:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,192
Rewards Points: 7,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiren.munjani1994 View Post
How much overloading we can do 167KVA,4.8KV/240V 1-phase transformer.
I seen that in town homes utilities feds twelve 100A services from only 50kVA transformer. Which is way bigger than it's capacity. Do anyone have idea how much capacity or services we can fed from 167kVA transformer.
50 kVA seems small but 167kVA is pretty normal.

What are the chances that all twelve of those services use more than 60 amps all at the same time?
brian john and glen1971 like this.

Last edited by eddy current; 03-27-2019 at 09:40 AM.
eddy current is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 10:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
just the cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,653
Rewards Points: 4
Default

POCO do what they want to their own codes, so you can't compare what they do.
Are you talking short term overload like starting a motor?
__________________
A cowboy may get thrown down, but he always gets up and walks forward and don't look back at what thru him.
just the cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 10:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,978
Rewards Points: 1,728
Default

Utilities look at the chances (as noted above) that all these services are running at capacity. Fact is none of them will ever run at full capacity. Even in an all-electric house, it is rare to never that the water heater, furnace, stove with all the burners and all the lighting load will be at full load and that the number of houses served are in the same operational mode of 100% loaded.

This is not the utility's first job, this is based on years and years of data and if anything is happening it is loads in a typical residence are lower than in years past.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,203
Rewards Points: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
Utilities look at the chances (as noted above) that all these services are running at capacity. Fact is none of them will ever run at full capacity. Even in an all-electric house, it is rare to never that the water heater, furnace, stove with all the burners and all the lighting load will be at full load and that the number of houses served are in the same operational mode of 100% loaded.

This is not the utility's first job, this is based on years and years of data and if anything is happening it is loads in a typical residence are lower than in years past.
Years ago an engineer told me they'd rather send out a truck to change a fuse than change a xfmr.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu

Last edited by Bird dog; 03-27-2019 at 05:17 PM.
Bird dog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transformer Issue brian john General Electrical Discussion 33 12-14-2018 07:20 AM
Generac transformer control transformer troubleshoot MTW Industrial Electrical Forum 2 03-05-2018 09:16 PM
Transformer neutral bond sizing (paralleled secondary) haltonelectrician Canadian Electrical Forum 27 06-19-2016 07:21 PM
Transformer Bonding CES Services and Service Equipment 25 04-23-2016 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com