Trip breaker on switchgear - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2015, 05:14 PM   #1
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default Trip breaker on switchgear

The other day we lost power in one of the building we work the main breaker trip in switchgear we have a specialist. The guy came open the rest of breakers crank a handle in the switchgear push a button the switchgear came back on and close all breaker again. My question is is there a specific training about switchgear out there?
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2015, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
butcher733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: southern illinois
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 798
Default

That hurts to read.
__________________
I'll take therapists for $400.
butcher733 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to butcher733 For This Useful Post:
amigi968 (01-17-2015), BuzzKill (01-15-2015), glen1971 (01-15-2015), meadow (01-15-2015), Moonshot180 (02-03-2015), Sparky J (01-17-2015)
Old 01-15-2015, 05:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

First,did he suit up with the correct level of P.P.E.?
Next, did he determine why the main tripped?
And why were you there watching?
To me, some specialist...
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
Bad Electrician (01-15-2015), dronai (01-15-2015), glen1971 (01-15-2015), guest (01-18-2015), meadow (01-15-2015), Sparky J (01-17-2015), The_Modifier (01-16-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-15-2015, 06:17 PM   #4
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

We both suit up arc flash suit 40 cal/cm2 we deal with panel and transformers and for switchgear they call other company
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 06:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Anytime that goes down, 1 dude is the hero, the other waits outside the zone , Justin Case. You need more 70 E training.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 06:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,402
Rewards Points: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morales95 View Post
... My question is is there a specific training about switchgear out there?
Yes there is, it's called "becoming a licensed electrician" available in all states through a process of apprenticeship and extensive experience working with a qualified Journeyman electrician.

Seriously, walking in and re-closing a tripped main breaker is not a special skill, and in fact is really dangerous and exhibits poor judgement on the part of your technician. Breakers never trip without reason. When the MAIN breaker in a large piece of switchgear trips (I know it is large, because you said it has a crank handle), there was/is some kind of very serious situation somewhere down stream, and the main breaker breaker tripped as a latch ditch effort to prevent it from becoming a fire. Re-closing it without finding the cause is not the first course of action, that is just inviting more trouble, SERIOUS trouble.

IBTL
__________________
Is it weird how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how weird it is?
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to JRaef For This Useful Post:
51360 (01-16-2015), BuzzKill (01-15-2015), glen1971 (01-15-2015), guest (01-18-2015), Moonshot180 (02-03-2015), Rollie73 (01-17-2015), The_Modifier (01-16-2015)
Old 01-15-2015, 06:58 PM   #7
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
Yes there is, it's called "becoming a licensed electrician" available in all states through a process of apprenticeship and extensive experience working with a qualified Journeyman electrician.


Jajaja I have 10 years in the field 4 of those apprenticeship I never had to deal with a trip breaker in a switchgear. I install them and we have a guy do the splicing but I would like to get that knowledge

Last edited by guest; 01-18-2015 at 09:47 PM. Reason: Fixed quote html
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 07:39 PM   #8
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,420
Rewards Points: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morales95 View Post
The other day we lost power in one of the building we work the main breaker trip in switchgear we have a specialist. The guy came open the rest of breakers crank a handle in the switchgear push a button the switchgear came back on and close all breaker again. My question is is there a specific training about switchgear out there?
I had to hold my breath through that whole paragraph
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 07:41 PM   #9
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
I had to hold my breath through that whole paragraph, because there are no commas, and only one period.
Actually two periods
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Morales95 For This Useful Post:
dronai (01-15-2015)
Old 01-15-2015, 07:44 PM   #10
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,420
Rewards Points: 441
Default

Are you in maintenance, or construction ?
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 07:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

A crank handle tells me it's 480 switchgear and why would you rack it out and in again to reset it?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 07:50 PM   #12
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
Are you in maintenance, or construction ?
I'm a maintenance electrician now my first 6 construction
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:06 PM   #13
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
A crank handle tells me it's 480 switchgear and why would you rack it out and in again to reset it?
I didn't do anything; my instructions were wait for the guy who deals with switchgear, and make sure the power is back
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,893
Rewards Points: 4,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
A crank handle tells me it's 480 switchgear and why would you rack it out and in again to reset it?
It may not have had to be racked out and back in.. I work on a couple of older FPE 800 amp breakers that need the handle to recharge the spring, if the charging motor quits working... Then the other end of the ratchet handle has a pin that is inserted to close the breaker. If memory serves there is also a pushbutton, but if the charging motor isn't working, OR if there is another reason electrically it won't operate...

As stated above it is VERY foolish to close a tripped MAIN breaker without first finding out why it tripped...
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to glen1971 For This Useful Post:
guest (01-18-2015)
Old 01-15-2015, 08:16 PM   #15
Experience Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Maryland
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
It may not have had to be racked out and back in.. I work on a couple of older FPE 800 amp breakers that need the handle to recharge the spring, if the charging motor quits working... Then the other end of the ratchet handle has a pin that is inserted to close the breaker. If memory serves there is also a pushbutton, but if the charging motor isn't working, OR if there is another reason electrically it won't operate...

As stated above it is VERY foolish to close a tripped MAIN breaker without first finding out why it tripped...
I agree with you with the foolish part. The next day I did my report but the boss didn't explain why we have to turned back on.
Morales95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 08:21 PM   #16
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

If this tripped because of GFP not set correctly when a fault occurred on a 20amp branch circuit I guess its none to bad. But if that breaker is closing into a bolted fault within the gear itself or anywhere else for that matter be prepared to have regrets.

Even at the 120/240 branch circuit level a megger is a good idea before reengaging something.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to meadow For This Useful Post:
guest (01-18-2015)
Old 01-15-2015, 11:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
EB Electric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada- ON
Posts: 287
Rewards Points: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
A crank handle tells me it's 480 switchgear and why would you rack it out and in again to reset it?
I don't mean to bust your balls, but how do you gather the system voltage is 480 from the description of a crank handle? Maybe in one plant that is the setup, but that is no way to identify system voltage. Nothing saying the breaker was racked in or out, the original poster doesn't make it very clear, but I would bet more likely the guy charged the closing spring on the breaker.
__________________
"If a man made it, a man can fix it"
EB Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EB Electric For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (01-17-2015)
Old 01-16-2015, 12:37 AM   #18
More than lead and elbows
 
JW Splicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 579
Rewards Points: 1,130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morales95 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
Yes there is, it's called "becoming a licensed electrician" available in all states through a process of apprenticeship and extensive experience working with a qualified Journeyman electrician.



Jajaja I have 10 years in the field 4 of those apprenticeship I never had to deal with a trip breaker in a switchgear. I install them and we have a guy do the splicing but I would like to get that knowledge



Sounds like it might be at least 4160V considering someone has to "splice" cable? Anyway, AVO, and a few others offer some good courses on medium voltage distribution which includes switchgear work, also Zog can probably get you what you want. Contact the manufacturer as well and ask for a rep to give you a maintenance course...

Last edited by guest; 01-18-2015 at 09:49 PM.
JW Splicer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 04:24 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Dig it, EB. All the switchgear I dealt with to recharge for a reset, you pumped the handle to recharge the springs if necessary. The crank was for removing the breaker. Maybe that's older than me. Plus, a lot of places I went to, the breaker had a rachet cable on a trolley support to the breaker when you racked it open. Most of these went home to someones garage.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 11:31 AM   #20
Zog
Senior Member
 
Zog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 5,446
Rewards Points: 1,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glen1971 View Post
It may not have had to be racked out and back in.. I work on a couple of older FPE 800 amp breakers that need the handle to recharge the spring, if the charging motor quits working... Then the other end of the ratchet handle has a pin that is inserted to close the breaker. If memory serves there is also a pushbutton, but if the charging motor isn't working, OR if there is another reason electrically it won't operate...

As stated above it is VERY foolish to close a tripped MAIN breaker without first finding out why it tripped...
And a direct violation of OSHA

1910.334 (b)(2) "Reclosing circuits after protective device operation." After a circuit is deenergized by a circuit protective device, the circuit protective device, the circuit may not be manually reenergized until it has been determined that the equipment and circuit can be safely energized. The repetitive manual reclosing of circuit breakers or reenergizing circuits through replaced fuses is prohibited.

Note: When it can be determined from the design of the circuit and the overcurrent devices involved that the automatic operation of a device was caused by an overload rather than a fault condition, no examination of the circuit or connected equipment is needed before the circuit is reenergized.
__________________
No trees were killed in the sending of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Zog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Zog For This Useful Post:
guest (01-18-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnetic trip breaker martindag General Electrical Discussion 7 06-20-2014 06:41 PM
What happens when a breaker goes trip free Lone Crapshooter Commercial Electrical Forum 14 12-17-2013 09:24 AM
Circuit breaker will not trip harlymang General Electrical Discussion 22 04-11-2013 10:56 PM
Why didn't breaker trip? knothole General Electrical Discussion 63 12-13-2011 10:58 PM
shunt trip breaker spider General Electrical Discussion 26 04-06-2011 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com