Troubleshoot this - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2019, 03:37 PM   #21
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,319
Rewards Points: 3,869
Default

Sounds like grease and gunk are on the heat elements, It doesn't trip on start up, right?

I'd guess the elements are covered, and when it heats up and melts it off, it shorts out. Cools down, you reset it, heats up more gunk gets on them, and short.


Or maybe not.....
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2019, 06:25 PM   #22
Semper Fi
 
Southeast Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,353
Rewards Points: 7,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I have two 208V appliances in a restaurant (recent build) on 30 amp breakers. Both breakers tripped a couple of times over the last couple of weeks. Yesterday they tripped five times.

I am getting 22.5 amps on each with a clamp meter. I have been here for an hour and nothing has changed. What now, gurus?
Something changed.
Did they just clean them?
Is there a weight issue, Is the motor binging up?
I believe the breakers tripping 5x times in one day is a short and not an overload.
Southeast Power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:37 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 634
Default

I had a machine recently that was tripping the breaker after being on for a while. It was confounding. I finally watched the heater with the cover off. Turns out one of the ceramic supports for an element was missing and the element would get hot and sag, touching the machine frame.
readydave8 and MikeFL like this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2019, 06:51 PM   #24
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 7,681
Rewards Points: 2,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I have two 208V appliances in a restaurant (recent build) on 30 amp breakers. Both breakers tripped a couple of times over the last couple of weeks. Yesterday they tripped five times.

I am getting 22.5 amps on each with a clamp meter. I have been here for an hour and nothing has changed. What now, gurus?
If the breakers tripped a couple times in a couple weeks, you're wasting your time sitting there watching your meter, you'd expect to sit there a week to catch it in the act.

If you don't have a clamp meter with min-max-average, go buy one today, IMO it's a must for troubleshooting. You have to rig something up that's safe to leave it there but you can check it periodically and see what's going on. You might find that it's getting overloaded regularly just doesn't quite trip. Could be that something binds up and the motor draw spikes, depending on how bad it's bound, the bound part might give first or the breaker might give first.
99cents, glen1971, telsa and 3 others like this.
__________________
Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might;
for there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom,
in the grave, whither thou goest.
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 07:50 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: KS
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 696
Default

I'm with the suggestions on grease / moisture / gunk in the electrical connections. More times than not, I've found this to be the culprit in these environments. I'm not sure how the load can be resistive if it is turning a motor. You also specified that they aren't starting/stopping. Either a) you have having issues with ambient heat or b) you need to pop open the equipment cord / plug and figure out what is going on / check for signs of arcing.
sparkiez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 08:05 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
stiffneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Custer's Last Stand, Missouri, USA
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Could be a breaker issue. There was a dummy (me) who shorted them out during finishing. Maybe weakened the breakers?

Yes you did sparky nothing more fun than letting the factory smoke and sparks out and I've done it too. Most recently for me was a 480V 100A HVAC unit that Climate control boys said they fixed. The heating elements where still completely shorted together, when I reset that breaker which was the second time it cleared that fault. My fault for not doing my job and checking the branch circuit myself 1rst. I would have found that their equipment was still faulted. Blew one of the covers off the unit and half way across the street. Inside, wicked black smoke and sparks came out at me from the panel. The next breaker upstream on the switch board tripped and the closed transition switch gear briefly had a hissy fit. Really let my guard down on this one. Now TWO BREAKERS needed to be replaced instead of ONE.

Whether you shorted it to ground or phase, the breakers need to be replaced. Overloads can be reset again and again, but not fault clearing.
99cents likes this.
__________________
Liberalism is a Mental Disorder; quote Dr. Michael Savage of the Savage Nation
stiffneck is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stiffneck For This Useful Post:
Wiresmith (04-27-2019)
Old 04-25-2019, 10:12 PM   #27
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 19,882
Rewards Points: 10,125
Default

I replaced the breakers. So far so good.

I like threads like this. Always a learning experience. Thanks, dudes.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 99cents For This Useful Post:
Superman (04-26-2019)
Old 04-26-2019, 02:11 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,831
Rewards Points: 2,296
Default

are you using time lag breakers ?
inductive loads like electric motors
are better off running on time lag breakers.
this allows for start up surges
normal breakers do not !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 09:25 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 4,931
Rewards Points: 1,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
I replaced the breakers. So far so good.

I like threads like this. Always a learning experience. Thanks, dudes.
In a restaurant it's always (often) the grease!

In the mechanical and life safety codes we call it "grease laden vapors" which means it gets everywhere air gets. It accumulates and hinders heat dissipation causing everything to run hotter and fail sooner than it otherwise would.

As others have said, that grease also warms up and does funny things.
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 09:18 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,747
Rewards Points: 1,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
are you using time lag breakers ?
inductive loads like electric motors
are better off running on time lag breakers.
this allows for start up surges
normal breakers do not !

Normal circuit breakers in the USA are Thermal, Magnetic, the magnetic allows for inrush and typically is 6-10 times the rating of the CB.
stiffneck likes this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 10:35 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 90
Default

If the breaker panel is in the kitchen is it warm in there? Is there any name plate on the equipment?
Eddie702 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 11:32 AM   #32
Dissenting Member
 
Wiresmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,425
Rewards Points: 2,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
If the breakers tripped a couple times in a couple weeks, you're wasting your time sitting there watching your meter, you'd expect to sit there a week to catch it in the act.

If you don't have a clamp meter with min-max-average, go buy one today, IMO it's a must for troubleshooting. You have to rig something up that's safe to leave it there but you can check it periodically and see what's going on. You might find that it's getting overloaded regularly just doesn't quite trip. Could be that something binds up and the motor draw spikes, depending on how bad it's bound, the bound part might give first or the breaker might give first.



https://www.testequipmentdepot.com/p...atinum%20Tools

or try this out and let me know what you think of it.
splatz likes this.
__________________
Think like a man of action, act like a man of thought. ~Henri Louis Bergson

Last edited by Wiresmith; 04-27-2019 at 11:37 AM.
Wiresmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird troubleshoot black-neutral 120v n black-black 0v [email protected] Residential Electrical Forum 13 09-25-2018 12:24 PM
Troubleshoot question (Ohm's law?) JasonCo General Electrical Discussion 17 09-20-2018 09:00 AM
Troubleshoot question (Odd problem...) JasonCo General Electrical Discussion 17 09-14-2018 04:43 PM
Troubleshoot this 220/221 General Electrical Discussion 14 06-01-2018 02:20 PM
Troubleshoot WronGun Residential Electrical Forum 25 05-09-2017 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com