two main panels - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2010, 09:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default two main panels

1954 House has overhead service, appears to be a 3/0, a main panel / meter combo with a buss bar conductor, a 200 amp breaker, a breaker for the A/C, one for heat and one for the WH. There was another panel in the kitchen with 3/0 Al cable and a 150 amp main. Many other breakers that panel just like any other main panel.

So, how does the cable to the interior panel attach inside of the meter/exterior main and how is that related to the buss bar to service wires?

And, I have always wondered, how this would not be a potential overload for the overhead wires? I know the utility rates their capacity different and they assume that a full load will never be drawn from all devices on the panels at the same time. Just seems odd.
68 Malibu 383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2010, 09:30 PM   #2
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

potential overload for POCO's conductors - no such thing - cant happen
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:30 PM   #3
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

welcome to the forum
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2010, 09:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,966
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Sounds like there is too much service cable in the house. The loaded panel should be a sub-panel if the service is more than five feet in the house.
waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 09:52 PM   #5
Licensed Journeyman
 
nolabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greater New Orleans area
Posts: 5,880
Rewards Points: 2,028
Default

^^^wtf?^^^
__________________
“Dammit, Smithers, this isn’t rocket science, it’s brain surgery!”
nolabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 07:49 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waco View Post
Sounds like there is too much service cable in the house. The loaded panel should be a sub-panel if the service is more than five feet in the house.
I would think a sub panel would be the way to go here. How would you determine if the system were overloaded?
68 Malibu 383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:29 AM   #7
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,174
Rewards Points: 1,348
Default

Maybe I am not following this post well but do you have a 200 amp or 400 amp meter/ combo unit? If it is a 200 amp service then I don't think that you legally insert a 150 amp breaker to the buss of the meter combo panel. Most 200 amp units won't allow more than 125 amps to a breaker on the buss.
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 09:54 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NASA
Posts: 7,525
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 68 Malibu 383 View Post
1954 House has overhead service, appears to be a 3/0, a main panel / meter combo with a buss bar conductor, a 200 amp breaker, a breaker for the A/C, one for heat and one for the WH.
Is the 200 amp breaker the main for all or not?
Bob Badger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 02:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,966
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

My bad. What I envisioned was one, 200 amp panel within a few feet of the meter and another 150 panel deeper into the house, both being fed by the same meter socket. I have no clue if that is accurate, but another 150 amp main at the meter feeding the 150 amp panel would solve the problem of having too much service cable in the house. I'd probably look hard to see if I could upgrade the 150 amp to a 200 amp fed by a 200 amp main out by the meter socket.

Get the local PUCO to do a "meter survey" before messing with any of it.

Last edited by waco; 04-03-2010 at 02:12 PM. Reason: technical correction
waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Meter Main John Valdes General Electrical Discussion 18 01-20-2010 12:28 AM
With a 125 amp main do I have 125 on each leg??? frank_cali General Electrical Discussion 1 05-16-2009 09:07 PM
UK: Gas main bond Trimix-leccy UK Electrical Forum 6 03-02-2009 08:30 PM
gri main breaker wire monk General Electrical Discussion 0 02-19-2009 07:32 PM
sub main in flats uk largelunchbox UK Electrical Forum 2 07-28-2008 12:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com